My TWO Year Anniversary on Steemit!

in #steemit5 years ago

20190602_205800.jpg
Greetings my Steemit friends! June is my two year anniversary of being on Steemit. This is both a reflective and celebratory post. I was introduced to Steemit by @lauralemons, a remarkable human being I will never forget, may she RIP. I pondered for a few months before getting on here wondering if it really was "all that." Well, it is! Steemit has its' ups and downs, highs and lows just like everything in life.

Steemit has helped me psychologically, financially, emotionally, intellectually, etc., in no particular order. I have learned a lot on here. I'm a big proponent of manual curation on here and for those who don't know that's going through each of those you follow and actually reading or, in some cases, viewing their content.

I don't have a personal problem with auto curation; however, it does lack some personality. Clearly, it's much more efficient. If you're like me though you want to make sure a person's posts are always meeting the mark for an upvote. Might sound arbitrary, and in someways it is I suppose, and it's part of the reason I don't have thousands of people that I personally follow. The brain can only cipher through so much information at one time. One method I used to use was going through alphabetically. Now I go through a predetermined amount as time allows and try to cover everyone in a week's time.

I've not been as good with that lately due to lost access to account for a short period and scheduling conflicts. I've lost access to my account twice in the time I've been here once from a hack in March of 2018, and in late April-late May of this year from losing my primary posting device and key storage.

I've spoken on this before but, for the love of God or whoever, please keep a written backup of your steemit passwords in a SAFE place. In general if you can remember your pw or any pw, they aren't secure. Can't be too safe with your password.

I'm a proud member of @steemusa. Great bunch of Steemians there that I regularly curate. I created Steemit Dreamit which essentially flies under the radar but the idea of it is, if you can dream it you can steem it because dreams are #originalcontent and that's what you need to be posting. So don't steal or use pictures that aren't open source like pixabay.
20190602_212455.jpg
Proudly, I got to share this concept with many steemians such as @edouard, @zanoni, @prettynicevideo, @stortebeker to name only a few. We have a discord if you're interested in joining our little, but growing group.
https://discord.gg/cm2sAY

I've made many cool people here and made some friends. It's been a ride! In the past when bitcoin peaked in December 2017 and a few other times, I was able to sustain myself off Steemit income alone.

Somethings I've noticed are getting a lot better are less spam & more genuine engagement. Being genuine will get you farther on here and "IRL" than anything.

I appreciate all the helpful posts, advice, support, and encouragement over the years. There's always gonna be a bad apple or three but, don't let it skew your judgement of this place there's also alot of greatness here as well. I'm proud of my success here thus far and look forward to more! Thanks for reading.

As always I enjoy hearing from you all.

  • How long have you been on Steemit?
  • Do you think Steemit has a future and that pre-existing problems are being corrected?
  • What are the good and bad parts of Steemit in your opinion?
    20190602_215052.jpg
    all imagery and photographic content my own
Sort:  

That impressive, make sure to stay around dear

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks and i plan to stick around :)

Congratulations!!!🎊🎈🍾

Posted using Partiko iOS

Good to have you back. I hear with HF21 the reward split will change from 75% author to 50% author 50% curator which is a shame because it encourages curation bots as opposed to real engagement on the platform in my opinion.

Thanks for the mention, I really appreciate it!

Your welcome dear. Yeah, i heard about that bs too & share similar thoughts on it. Can't leave well enough alone I suppose.

🎁 Hi @chelsea88! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: There Is Beauty In Everything Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Congrats on the two year Milestone I think in July i hit two years t answer your first Question

I to prefer to manually curate where possible but i do have some set to auto vote just because there are ot enough hours in the day, but where i can I try o visit read and comment on as many posts as I can

Yes I think Steemit has a future. And is still far from its full potential

I am not sure about the rumored changes in HF20 with the change in curation percentages, I think that only fosters auto voting and bots which is somehting i am not to keen on

Thanks for this great post and being an active member of @steemusa !tip

Thanks for the comment. Yes the next HF I'm not too keen on either because it could encourage more bot voters versus real engagement. I agree there's not enough time in the day. I don't like that on the next HF authors will only get 50% payout. :/

I think thats a cray change as he ones who create content are the backbone of the community, sure integration is key, but only if it is real interaction and not through the use of Bots

Congratulations @chelsea88! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94