6 DAYS GONE NO INTERNET AND POWER OUTAGES

in #steemit6 years ago

I was thinking today how fragile the infrastructure is around me and what sort of impact it has on me growing my Steemit account.
It would be easier if I was living in Europe and not darkest Africa. After living in the UK for many years before moving back to South Africa we never experienced issues like this.

Tonight I have electricity but the internet provider did upgrades to their systems and it has still not been resolved. The house is on a very fast line 200 up and 200 down. We need it as it is a gaming house and nobody likes lag. The upgrades started on Wednesday night and it was cut at 10 pm. I have since heard it is not upgrades but a fault with the fibre. Only 50 percent are working on the service providers lines. Today is Tuesday and the only internet I have seen is at work. Basically 6 days now and god knows how much longer this will last. I am at work now so catching up as guaranteed I will have no internet again when I get home. I should bring my sleeping bag here as I love Steemit and it is not a FOMO but I just enjoy it.

If one takes into account the power outages I have experienced lately and now this it equates to about 6 days in the last month. Now this isn't my main source of income like some others on here but what if it was. In the distant future i hope it will develop into a passive income of some sort but there is no rush. I wander if there will be an insurance offered in the future for loss of earnings. I am sure it will be an offering somewhere down the line. I am probably growing at 2 SP a day so multiplied x 6 is only $12. That isn't going to break the bank but what if I was growing at a bigger rate and Steem was worth 3 x the amount like it was a few months ago.I can see in the years to come as this place grows that more and more people will turn to Steem to generate an income. Where you live and the infrastructure around you will become very important.

This has been a frustrating period for me as I see it as 6 days wasted. Time to play catch up as time doesn't stand still for no one.

Sort:  

I would need to move if that went on for too long. The connection here is pretty duff, I can't dlive :(

Good luck in reaching a stable ping soon!

I am trying but a little frustrating.

I thought South Africa had pretty good infrastructure?

Obviously not lol.

You got a 17.70% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @cryptoandcoffee!

howdy there @cryptoandcoffee! long time no see! it's good to see you again but wish the circumstances were better. perhaps some day they will get their act together?

Well living in SA myself I'm not shocked. I have a mate that I used to work with years ago who was born in the UK, but moved out here as a child when his father married a South African. His dad passed away when he was 18 and he built a career in the restaurant industry, but about 12 years ago he packed up and moved back to the UK out of sheer frustration about the poor service delivery, tax looting and racial hatred fueled by the government. I know so many citizens who have packed up and moved abroad who vow never to come back due to the extent of the regress of the country. It seems the poor service delivery part has filtered down into all sectors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66