Quit Facebook for Steemit?

in #steemit6 years ago


Many independent pages are getting shut down on Facebook. If people leave Zuccbook, where will they go?

One option is Steemit, a social media platform built on a blockchain, making it resistant to censorship, helping independent media have a voice. Steemit pays content creators and curators, making it very attractive to writers, artists and vloggers.

It's uncommon to see negative comments on Steemit, as everyone knows that they have a reputation to maintain, and the possibility of earning more money by being respectful.

The user experience of Steemit isn't as seamless as Facebook or Medium, and if you lose your password, you may lose access to your account forever. However, that doesn't bother a lot of content creators as Steemit is paying them more than Facebook ever would.

Will you try Steemit? Why or why not?


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

@cryptonomics1
Yes thats great, people should not tolerate being screwed like that...
They should bring their friends and family to Steemit...

=)

/FF

The major problem I have with leaving Facebook is that I'll no longer be able to see what people I used to know in high school had for lunch, or what my distant relatives think of Trump or Hillary or Obama. Sure, there is a lot of low value content on Steem, but until I see ads for bubble popping games and geography quizzes that a five year old could pass, we're just not there yet.

But seriously, I don't think Steemit will replace Fakebook anytime soon. Eventually though, some Dapp on Steem might. Or it just might be that there are one or more Dapps that don't compete directly with FB that get a ton of users, and then, BAM, everyone you know on FB is now on Steem. And that's the only reason I keep my FB account open, because everyone I know is there. But once they're here, I won't have any reason to keep my account there. And probably neither will they.

Hmm something definitely to consider. however a large learning curve exists for a lot of people that would be transferring from facebook. but who really knows what will happen. Facebook will continue to have problems like these in the future.

Yeah. Minds.com is pretty easy for people to adapt to, very similar interface to Facebook, and for the most part just as easy to use. Generally for people to leave a platform, they have to have something huge to gain by leaving, or the first platform has to increase the pain so much that people can't stand it. I don't think we're at either of those points yet.

Yeah makes sense.

It's crazy how many people they screwed over. They are literally killing themselves.

I stopped to use that site completely!

Posted using Partiko Android

I try close my Facebook pages also ... but if I close it... are they close also Instagram page also ? I want to wait a little bit if I want close Instagram ... I have some contacts there that I'm trying to bring over here.

making it resistant to censorship

Umm... until someone with a lot of money disagrees with you, and you get flagged that is.

That's why I said "resistant to censorship", not "censorship-proof". Besides, the posts are on the blockchain, so even if they're downvoted to oblivion, they're still there. On Facebook, if they get rid of you, you are really gone to the world. Take care

Oops, responded from the wrong account

It happens mate.

Ah, very true, but if someone posts on Steemit, but there is no one there to read it... did they actually post at all?

Sorta. Here's the thing... you can't let the perfect get in the way of the good. As far as I'm aware, there's no system that's been invented that's censorship-proof. So despite Steem's flaws it's hard for me to criticise it when it's miles ahead of almost any other system on that front.

Here's something to think about though: If this new hardfork 20 fails, which I think it will, because now it's only the whales, which isn't going to be sustainable, if the Steem goes to zero, the server will have to shut down, and then all the content goes with it... so it isn't forever, and is more centralized than you think.

What do you mean "it's only the whales"?

It's extremely unlikely that Steem will go to zero. There are a bunch of witnesses for Steemit, so the data is distributed. Even if Steem did go to zero, the data wouldn't necessarily disappear.

People will maintain the system for free?

I don't know if they would, but even if it goes to zero that doesn't necessarily mean they'd be doing it for free - maybe just that they'd be deferring their gains. I do find it strange that's the part of my comment you want to focus on. Steem is top 3 in blockchains when it comes to use, and you're here talking about scenarios where it goes to zero and drilling down on it.

It really sounds like you're trolling, and I won't be responding further. Good luck on Steemit.

Congratulations @cryptonomics1! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19