Steemit: Grateful, Humble, Excited and Skeptical

in #steemit6 years ago


Hi Everyone,

I've been on Steemit since January 2018 and I must say that it has been a totally awesome experience. I have a tenancy to jump the gun when I get excited about new toys and sure enough, I wrote a pretty crappy #introduceyourself post when I started because I could not wait to get at doing some of the other stuff. I instantly fell in love with the platform and the novelty of it for someone who was totally new to Blockchain and who has not been traditionally heavily involved in my social media accounts. I found myself anxious to get a few free minutes to check it whenever I had the chance. And it had nothing to do with making money.

I thought it would be great to share a few highlights and thoughts from the firs few months:

  • I recently surpassed 300 followers! I'm not even really sure how this happened but it has been so exciting to see how this whole system works
  • It is amazing when people a world away take the time to engage in a dialogue through comments and I have enjoyed the actual connections I have made along the way even more than the 330+ followers.
  • There is some great content on here. There are some really amazing and high profile individuals on here who are really promoting the rest of us to do bigger and better things.
  • There is a boatload of low quality stuff too that we need to find a way to effectively segregate or organize so that those of us who really just want to read good writing and thought-provoking content can find it readily.
  • It's fine that there are some people just trying to be in it for the money but please know that your best chance at actually making some money is to take the time to produce quality work. I have tried to crank out content at times in hopes of catching a wave of momentum but most of my modest monetary gains have come from engaging with individuals who have significant Steem Power. Even then, I on;y got there by following my interests and sharing my views, not by targeting the powerful individuals.

The bottom line is, I am incredibly grateful for Steemit and for all of you. I appreciate every comment, resteem, upvote and all of the great content you have shared with me. I am skeptical about the future though. We all need to do our part to raise the bar. For those who think that STEEM will one day be exponentially more valuable, the way that we will actually get there will be if this is the platform that everyone wants to join.

All the best,

CW

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit, cwparkes! Best wishes for a very enriching experience here on Steemit! Be happy!

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

@cwparkes ...welcome to this great community..I'm positive you'll do well , I've followed you, please do well to follow back..peace!

Welcome to the Steemit Community. Enjoy your stay :) Here is an Upvote.
follow us @wallstreethodl for great news and information on all things crypto!

Welcome to STEEM family..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84