Blaming Bid Bots Buyers Much?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Greed.jpg

I know we still love Steemit until now despite all the shit that is going on out there. Despite the user-unfriendliness. I don't know if it's me or it's just really taking a while to post a comment or even upvote. It's annoying the hell out of me, adding up to my stress mind you. In my humble opinion, the least Steemit could do is to make things easier for us who don't care so much about the come-for-the-rewards anymore, and so far, just the logos and colors have changed, turning it into this hypnotizing emerald rewards color. Or is there anything that I don't know about? Kindly update me because I am not feeling any change. All I can see is the forever beta at the upper left corner.

Honestly, I rarely even notice as I have enough real-life problems of my own these days. It is mental-taxing to even care about Steemit issues. However sometimes, the Steemit world just tries so hard to make me notice, it's like my attention-seeking cat turned punk. Well anyway, thanks for making me notice because it's the topic of my post for today. It has been a while since I ranted about Steemit, I kind of missing it now. I used to be good at it. Last night, as I was trying to browse through my feed, I saw this intriguing post about some mysterious guy who suddenly owns the trending page and in no time turned into 70+ rep. Then I remember how it was taking forever for me to turn into rep 65 and when I finally did, oh boy, it was rather a cause for celebration. Not that the rep is so important for most of you, there's just this dopamine hit or big achievement happy feel every time I level up my rep naturally. I write every day that's why and it takes hours for me to write. I don't get upvoted by high reps Steemians so I don't really expect a quick level up. I admire those who've never changed their writing style, and sticking to quality content no matter what. I've seen a lot of authors who just lost it. If I manage to pump up my account someday, I will definitely reward consistency. I understand consistency is the hardest thing but I think it's just a matter of turning it into a habit. It is hard at the beginning but after a while, writing some proper content becomes automatic.

I rarely visit the trending page because we all know that it's full of shit, then I checked out this guy's posts for fun. Sure enough, everything was mediocre and nothing special. That is nothing to be surprised about anymore, the rewards were just outrageous especially that the Steem value is so low. It's not every day you see $1000+ on a post these days, not even the popular authors get that amount. I stopped comparing myself with others a long time ago but I was just curious to check the upvoters of this guy. Lo and behold, our good bid bot friends are really taking over. It amazes me, $1000+ worth of upvotes all bought.

What surprises me the most is how all these passive-aggressive Steemians attack the vote buyers all the time instead of the Bidbots corp. There won't be any vote buyers if there are no sources in the first place. The demand is created and maintained. It makes me remember in real world how people always attack the consumers and little guys instead of the corporations.

For example, there's a campaign in this town against banning the use of plastic bottles, small plastic packaging, and plastic straws. Finally, people are seeing that these products are damaging. They really need to wait for floating plastics, the sea turning brown, dying fish, and all the flood for them to think something like this. Fine, good job for doing our part now. What about their part? People don't even dare to see the big guys' fault. The corporations who are actually doing the massive shit in this world and not just the locals who are only contributing 1/10 percent to the massive plastic waste in the ocean. Then these "holier than thou" righteous travelers come into this part of the world and start waving their noses up in the air. They will try their best to point out the shit of the locals while not doing a privilege and fault check themselves. For some reason, they always have this need to validate their entitlement and importance by making other people feel worse. They usually flip my diabolic switch straight away for how unaware and uninformed they are of their own shit, though I understand that it must be their cultural conditioning and upbringing. Like, come on, who are usually the owners of these corporations? Who introduced the system? Who allow their governments to shit on other countries? Who are being the obedient sheep? Who shove these products down to the throats of ordinary people so the others can get richer?

It's actually the same here. It seems that we are made to see the bitter reality here on Steemit deliberately just so that we have no choice but to use bid bots to alleviate our Steemit lives. If you really want some massive change, why not, through collective power, kill the source first? Sure, we can always preach to stop consuming and using bidbots and the usual blah. However, the products are being shoved down our throats just the same. Do we really have a choice these days? Free will seems like a BS idea right from the beginning. Everything was made for us. Our cultures taught us how to think, act, and behave around others. Then you see these funny guys attacking the vote buyers on comments sounding bitter and all then they will even make a post mentioning the author's name in the title. It kind of makes someone worse than the perpetrator. Civilized moves hey! They remind me of those self-righteous travelers who will say that they are vegan, permaculturist or doing yoga even if not being asked, just to prove they are better. If most people justify free market here on Steemit, then we should not be so surprised of everything we see, bidbots, gaming the system, and vote buyers. We are aware yet we have accepted it.

It's just the same in the real world. The problem is that we are all divided mentally so we cannot just kill the root. Honestly, there's the need to buy bid votes. Can you solve the need first? Yeah sure, it pains me to see a follower who used to massively upvote me and now prefers to support bid vote buyers first. Can you solve this thing that people like to have more? If you cannot give them more, they will go to others. It seems that it's not about the moral question anymore, like supporting the community and not raping the rewards pool blah. These days, people even hate the words 'community and collective', because it sounds like communism. See how culturally conditioned people are now. Some people just don't give a shit because they want to have more. Now how can you make them not to want more?

Some people care, some people don't. Some people just accept things as they are. The more people favor vote buying the more they dominate unless they see the real damaging effects to the whole Steemit community, which in the end, will also damage them. Like why would they care if they are greatly benefitting right now, people are selfish that's the thing. Like vote-buying shaming them and putting yourself on a higher ground on the comments will simply not do it. Doing your part for attacking the other person's ego will not do it either, it will only make you look bitter. You think people will admit their mistakes right there and then? It will only cause hidden resentment and the perpetrator will just buy more and more upvotes just to prove someone wrong. Like what I always say where I am, you need to change the whole centuries-old mentality of people first if you desire to make some massive change in this society.

Image Source

Sort:  

We see the same thing on steemit as we see it in real world. Always the little guy has to face the problems. Big guys are always safe. And we dare not to talk about them.

I just loved your analogy to plastic bottles!

Nice and honest post. I see more and more people buying votes all around, but then again I also see some of them dropping bots and continuing to write with rewards about 0 rewards but they have high reps.

Yes, steemit is a bit faulty in the last few days but I like this oldish minimalist design, and regarding beta version I think they are finding things to improve in all the new updates and upgrades but currently all attention is focused on SMT.

In my opinion the best and faultiest part of the steemit is that there is no control, but we will see what happens at the next crossroad.
Cheers.

I also see some of them dropping bots and continuing to write with rewards about 0 rewards but they have high reps.

Some people realize that bid bots are destroying the community.

"It will only cause hidden resentment"

Yeah that kind of drama only causes more problems.

Haha I that same "dopamine rush" when I go up a level too.

Try out steempeak.com, @diabolika. It shits all over steemit. It won't run any faster than steemit, though, as it relies on the same nodes to access the blockchain. But it's full of really handy features. Definitely check it out.

I will definitely check it out!

The idea of accepting bid bots from the beginning is awkward. If that number that we wear and call it reputation number can be bought then why do we need it anyway. In my opinion reputation can't be bought. At least in the real world. As I said many times before Steemit has a lot to work to become that big as ones dream about. It's too decentralized and some of us looks like don't know what to do with that much freedom. For now though it's the best option of its kind.

It's too decentralized and some of us looks like don't know what to do with that much freedom. For now though it's the best option of its kind.

Yeah the burden of freedom. Now some people are also taking advantage of those who don't know what to do with it

True words. For real change it is not only required to change your self but also required to change your society mindset, which can be done by creating awareness.

@diabolika Thank you for not using bidbots on this post and also using the #nobidbot tag!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30