A Few Thoughts About Block.One's "Voice" Social Network

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

As you already know, Block.One, the company behind the EOS blockchain software, announced yesterday the launch of a new social network, called "Voice". I'm not going to talk about the glitz of the event, nor about the recent EOS listing on Coinbase (apparently part of the whole thing), but I'll try to understand how the rewards mechanism works in Voice.

So, here what we know so far: there will be a new token, called Voice, on top of EOS. So far, nothing unusual. There will be a rewards pool and there will be some coupling between this rewards pool and user actions, like when someone votes your content, you get some tokens. This too, is not unusual, that's how STEEM works.

But then there's something new: according to voice.com website:

So you’ve earned some Voice tokens, what can you do with them? After making a comment — Voice it! Use your tokens to put your opinion on top and ensure your voice is heard. If someone else raises their Voice above yours, you get your tokens back plus some extra Voice.

This is how I see it: your post can gain some organic visibility, by getting votes. But, if you want to capture the attention by "bumping" your post to the top of the list (who's making this list, anyway? it is based on the number of Voice token received? Visits? Number of comments?) you can do that by paying for a higher position.

Here's the interesting part:

if someone else raises their Voice above yours, you get your tokens back plus some extra Voice.

What tokens do I get back? The ones that I made organically? Or the ones that I pay to bump my post?

If it's about the tokens I made organically, then it looks like you can "sell" your position. If you know how to create popular content, then you get the tokens from votes, AND some extra when someone else wants to take the position of your post, ousting you.

If organic tokens have nothing to do with this, then it's just buying advertising all over again: I'll pay for exposure. Even in this case, if I was the first to pay, or if my current position is a paid one, I get all the tokens I spent back, plus some extra.

In the first case, content creators are incentivized. They will fight to get to the top, knowing that, once they get there, they may make significantly more if someone else wants to buy their position.

In the second case, there will be more like a brokerage operation, in which you get to bump content that you know will be popular, waiting to get your money back from someone else looking to get your spot.

It will all depend on how the "list" is made and how the decay algorithm looks like.

In any case, the interesting part is that tokens are moving inside the ecosystem, from one player to another. Of course, one of these players can be a big brand trying to promote their products, but at least they will do this by transparently paying for visibility, rather than for carefully engineered personal data.

I signed up for the beta, and, when the first version will be out, I'll let you know if I got this right or no.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

@dragosroua,
Sometimes we STEEMIT can adopt few of those concepts! But not all, and personally I believe EOS is not decentralized!

Cheers~

I’m going to sign at the beta version, however I think it doesn’t look a revolutionary DApp as some were expecting.
Steem on mate

Posted using Partiko iOS

It seems really interesting. I'll join the beta program too.

Cheers 🥂

Posted using Partiko Android

So, the whales will be on the top all the time and every time they top their previous post, they get the tokens they used to put it on top back in order to push the next post to the top.

yup something like that

Thank you for the information.

Voice tokens have only the rights, uses and attributes set forth in the >Voice terms and conditions, and are not designed as a security, derivative, swap, option or other financial instrument, or any type of investment of speculative instrument. They have been specially designed for the Voice platform and not for any other purpose at this time.

whats your take on this? can u elaborate

They are starting with a very thin value around the tokens, waiting to see where the business will go. If it's going nowhere, then no value is to be lost: "it was just an experiment, no actual losses written". If the business is growing, they will probably make it a security, allowing users to have a real stake in the system.

It's just speculation, obviously, I have no idea what they'll do.

makes sense...thank you

I think the future of steem is in short form content so I think dan validated my point. whether or not it will work for voice I'm not sure but I think we should embrace that type of simple content here

That sounds like the auctioning for better visibility, @dragosroua. But the first thing I didn’t like was giving up your data for the “authentication” ie. preventing bot accounts. For a God sake, one captcha is enough to stop making auto accounts and keep privacy of the real users. Not keen to it…

Congratulations @dragosroua! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78