How Soon Until SMTs?

in #steemit5 years ago

In the latest @ned update about the state of Steemit, which you can find here, something really made me raise my left eyebrow (I seldom raise my left eyebrow, if you really wanna know):

Once RocksDB is fully scoped and specced, which will be completed tomorrow, we will have fully scoped and specced development of either a simple Token system for Transfers and Issuances and SMT development with a reduced scope.

Apart from the intricacies of the English grammar that are quite a bit over my head in this sentence, I think I get the gist: we may have SMT soon. This hypothesis seems to be confirmed by a comment on the same post by witness @therealwolf:

Based on the last SMT dev update, so far roughly 20+% of SMTs have been finished. So I honestly believe that SMTs 0.1 aka very basic SMTs shouldn't take too long to get ready.

Here are my takeaways from this new development:

  • @ned seems to be hands on these days, which means the carrot is deep inside, if you know what I mean. And I'm happy @ned is hands on, although I would have preferred not to get to this level of entropy to move things forward. Anyway, I'll take an honest, hands on approach towards development over hype anytime, so we're good.

  • a demo version of SMT may be soon available. According to my estimations, soon may be between 3 and 6 weeks. Add the winter holidays and you'll probably target the second half of January.

  • the SMT demo version should run on a publicly available test network. Please, pretty please, with sugar on top, don't launch this on the main Steemit network without giving us, witnesses (or just regular Joes interested in the Steemit future) a chance to test the shit out of it.

  • there will be a live streaming on Thursday in which we will find out more. Really, really looking forward to that one.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

I sure the guys will do great job

Let's hope we get the announcement on thursday!!

It would be nice to see something in January. I think it would be a huge morale booster.

its only getting late and late the hype is gone

This is great news. And @ned getting back hands on can be a good thing

It's about time! Thanks for letting us know what you've heard!

Posted using Partiko Android

Smt, token and whatever you guys want to bring on board. It's fine. But I hope it will affect the price of steem positively, don't forget that was how you guys talked about HF2.0 and nothing came out of that.

don't forget that was how you guys talked about HF2.0 and nothing came out of that.

it will take a while for me to forget anything about HF20...

Thanks for this interpretation!

Couldn't agree more.

cool! definitely looking forward!!! :) that's what i took it to mean too :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62777.23
ETH 3059.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81