May 30 Days Writing Challenge - Day Thirteen: Name Top 3 Favorite Cities That You Want To Live In. Why?

in #steemit6 years ago

Welcome to the thirteenth day of the May 30 days writing challenge. If you don't know what this challenge is about, please have a look at the introductory post. Also, at the end of each article I will post the links to all the posts in the challenge (if you're joining the challenge, I encourage you to do the same). Also, if you join, don't forget to tag your post with #challenge30days and also leave a comment with the link of your post, so I can evaluate if you're one of the 3 lucky Steemians that will get a full upvote from me.

Name Top 3 Favorite Cities That You Want To Live In. Why?

Well, that's a tough one. There are so many choices out there and so many scenarios. Because it all starts from what you expect from a place you're living in. Is it business opportunities? Then London or New York are your choices. Is it nice weather? Then you may consider Rome, Athens or Ubud. Is it cost of living? Then South-East Asia, with countries like Vietnam or Cambodia are on top of your list. Connections with other places on this Earth? Political stability? Internet speed (that's a very big one for me)?

I don't think I have enough time to cover all the criteria I would be using when searching for a place to live, but I will try to give you at least a very short list.

Valencia, Spain

By far on top of the list, Valencia is scoring big time on almost all the things I want from a city. It's not very big, but big enough to get lost in it. It has an incredibly nice weather (300 sunny days per year), a vibrant entrepreneurship ecosystem, it's very runner friendly and it's close to the sea.

We spent 2 weeks trialing it this spring and decided Valencia is a keeper.

Paris, France

This choice goes way back in time, back when I was a teenager and I was soaking myself in Hemingway's novels. The Paris that he describes in "A Moveable Feast" really left a mark in my mind and, years later, when I actually visited Paris, I always tried to look at it from that perspective.

The only downside is that Paris is not close to sea, (and cost of living, obviously) but otherwise, it's my second choice, hands down.

Christchurch, New Zealand

I spent a few days in this city 7 years ago - I did paragliding there for the first time in my life - and I was impressed. It's not a big city, way smaller than Valencia, but it has an incredible landscape and outdoor opportunities. I would say that the reasons is getting only the third place are the distance (takes about 30 hours to get there by plane) and internet speed (but this may have been solved).

Your turn now. Pretend you could move anywhere in the world tomorrow. Which city would you pick? Why? Leave a link to your post in the comments so I can check it out.

Previous Posts In The Challenge


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

Athens - because it’s got loads to offer - history, culture, graffitti, nightlife, easy access to some of the nicest islands on the planet, and a very unique vibe

Buenos Aires - because it’s an amazing, vibrant city - I would totally live there

Barcelona - because, although it’s a very touristy city, it’s got a unique vibe and loads of modern art

I also like the Greek culture (mostly their mythology) (my favorite legendary creature is the Griffin), but I mentioned other cities in my entry.
Answering this question would be much more fun, if it would be top 5 instead of top 3.

This is getting hotter and hotter everyday

Paris , Miami and Abu Dhabi...

I'm sure the answer would vary for different people. For the most, they want to live in a place which is secure, convinent, comfortable and with good natural and social environment.

Medellin, Colombia is at the top of my list. It’s called the “city of eternal spring”. It’s in the mountains, there are amazing lightning storms that light up the skies.

Da Li, Yunnan Province, China.
Not like other tourist hotspots in the same province, Da Li is much cheaper with excellent environment and tranquility. It has local markets which food can be bought as cheap as 2$ per day, and good service apartments with hot water and wifi for 100$ per month.

Kashmir, India. It's the place I currently live in. It's a disputed territory of India and every day hundreds of people,children are killed and thousands are blinded with pellet guns for our demand of freedom from the cruel rule. Kashmir is my state and I'm proud to be a part of it. It is known as the heaven or paradise of earth. Thank you

Hong Kong, Paris and Norway.

  1. Singapur because it is the Cryptocity
  2. Port Louis because Mauritius is a paradise
  3. Chicago because it is the best city of that I have visited

My favorites are
1 Wellington
2 Zurich
3 Prague

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29