May 30 Days Writing Challenge - Day Twelve: What Crypto Asset Will Dominate The Market In 5 Years?

in #steemit6 years ago

Welcome to the twelfth day of the May 30 days writing challenge. If you don't know what this challenge is about, please have a look at the introductory post. Also, at the end of each article I will post the links to all the posts in the challenge (if you're joining the challenge, I encourage you to do the same). Also, if you join, don't forget to tag your post with #challenge30days and also leave a comment with the link of your post, so I can evaluate if you're one of the 3 lucky Steemians that will get a full upvote from me.

What Crypto Asset Will Dominate The Market In 5 Years?

I love Bitcoin and I do think it was the pioneer of this crypto revolution we're all enjoying, but I don't think it will dominate the market in 5 years.

Please keep in mind that 5 years in "crypto time" is a huge time interval. For comparison, 5 years ago, in May 2013, Bitcoin was trading for $123. Coinmarketcap.com was just launched (as a matter of fact, they only have data since April 2013). There was no Ethereum, no smart contracts, no PoS / DPoS. All these happened in the last 2-3 years.

So I think it's safe to assume that the volume and relevance if innovation in the next 5 years will at least continue, if not accelerate. Valuation reasons like "it has a limited supply" won't hold as much relevance as they do now for a crypto asset.

So, which one will dominate?

To be honest, I think that asset is not yet created. But I think it will need to have at least these features:

  • instant and limitless transactions
  • elastic on-chain government (DPoS style)
  • the above governance will also influence the "printing" parameters, which I think it will result in elastic market cap (no hard cap, like in Bitcoin)
  • accessible via the entire hardware spectrum: from IoT to mainframes
  • it will dominate because it will be widely accessible, by market cap, not necessarily by "price per unit"

I do think such a crypto asset can be created in the next 5 years, I just don't know when and how.

What will happen with the current top crypto assets? Some of them will become obsolete, some of them will lower their value and some of them will increase their value (including Bitcoin and STEEM).

Your turn now. Which asset will dominate the market in 5 years? Bitcoin? Ethereum? Steem? If there will be a not yet invented token, describe its features. Leave a link to your post in the comments so I can check it out.

Previous Posts In The Challenge


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

Bitcoin, no question...everything else is worse.

btw: do you think we might be nearing a good time to possibly power down a little and buy SBD? That price is screaming it. Im not doing it, but at some point, it might be a good idea.

I would not recommend powering down (although I'm no expert) since it takes a combined 13 weeks, and by then you may have made a poor choice. Instead I'd just stock SBDs and wait until the market corrects and then reinvest in Steem or Steem Power.

I would only power down 1 or 2 weeks not more.

Looking at price. I think Im gonna sell 1 week worth of powered down SP for SBD.
Maybe average it out in halfs.

I agree, 5 years is a huge timeframe for crypto and also agree in all your technical arguments here, but in my post I consider the traditional economy to be key.

Love the topic. Going to work on my post now. I think this one it pretty easy and a fun topic to write about.

I love that your take is that it hasn't been created yet. Right now, these projects take years, but dev. will probably pick up and projects will grow much quicker in the near future.

I agree, I think we are still waiting for that coin to be created. Something like EOS, DRGN, Steem, ETH all have a huge market because of their usablility. But like you said, 5 years in crypto time is an eternity. No matter what, the block chain and crypto will likely change economics and commerce as we know it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27