Ned Scott Promoting STEEM at the Consensus Event

in #steemit6 years ago

ned-scott-consensus.jpeg


photo credit Lance Koonce Twitter feed.

Yesterday @ned, Steemit CEO, was part of a live panel at the Consensus event, debating various aspects of social media and monetization. By watching the live blog feed of some of the participants, I isolated a few key points, which I'll try to summarize below:

  • @ned thinks distribution of crypto assets by using social media channel is an accelerator for the value carried by these assets
  • cryptocurrencies are a new type of commodities, something that "was never offered to people before"
  • Steemit was the first platform to distribute cryptocurrency "just like points on Digg"
  • the most important thing is the platform, not the app (obvious hint to Smart Media Tokens)

Here are a few excerpts from this Twitter feed:


Screen Shot 2018-05-15 at 10.26.47 AM.png
Screen Shot 2018-05-15 at 10.26.34 AM.png
Screen Shot 2018-05-15 at 10.26.20 AM.png


If you want to follow @ned on Twitter, here's his handle: @certainassets. The presence of @ned at Consensus is the second biggest marketing activation during the last ten days (if we don't count the Korean tour) after the recent Bloomberg feature.

The markets didn't seem to price this in yet, but it's still way too early to evaluate the impact. Big players usually calculate their entry for many weeks / months and when they do it, they want to maximize the benefits (i.e. we shouldn't expect a sudden spike after Consensus, but rather a slow buildup for a few months).


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

Sudden spike after the consensus will not be good because it will be followed by a large correction very soon. Slowly slowly moving towords the uptrend will be sustainable.

After this Ned promotion, i hope Steem also gain just like how zcash has grown today....almost 50% up!

Thanks for the summary @dragosroua. It's a good illustration of Ned's focus on the bigger picture and why he doesn't seem that interested in Steemit.

On a completely different note . . . do you know if there is any way to find out how much Steem I bought a couple of months ago. I didn't sign up for a Blocktrades account as the video I watched said not to bother. I just went ahead and traded some btc for Steem through them.

I didn't keep a note of how much I bought and I'd really like to know. Do you have any suggestions as to how I could find out? Thanks!

I think you can use @jesta's excellent https://steemdb.com/@gillianpearce/transfers. It may be a little tedious to surf through all transactions, but eventually you'll make it.

Thank you @dragosroua. I'll give it a go. 😊

I say its still way earlier to make any further impressions on the cryptospehere for now. Yes a slow but gradual build up rather than a sporadic fluctuations which are bullish and bearish combined

Social platforms are the call of the day and it involves billions of people. So distribution on crypto currencies on the platform will make sure it gets to lots of people. Its an amazing idea

Oh I watched this video when @surfyogi posted it.
I especially loved the part where they where discussing the problem of removal of content (that has been contested and lost in a copyright claim) from the blockchain.
There comes a point where Ned just shyly says "I don't know.............." totally loved it. LOL!
Respect this guy like crazy.

@ned has many idea for go forwarding steemit... Consensus is another well idea for steemit... It must need for a community... Go steemit go ...!!

This is really a good move that @ned is taking steem to places giving reasons why the internet is the right place to earn.

In recent days Scott has started to take place in the media that will be very important Steemit's promotion

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.40
ETH 3576.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75