The End Of An Era: Twitter Surpassed By Square's Market Cap

in #steemit5 years ago

Twitter and Square have (at least) one thing in common: Jack Dorsey, who co-founded both.

If you don't know, Twitter is one of the first major social media websites to have a global outreach. And Square is a (less known, I agree) integrated payments company, which recently made big steps into crypto, by accepting Bitcoin.

In a tweet published a day ago, by @josephyoung, we learn that Square surpassed Twitter in terms of market cap:


Screen Shot 2018-11-06 at 10.57.56 AM.png


Even if you're not that much into this money game, you can do the math: $30 billion is a lot more than $25 billion. The difference is bigger than the biggest ICO so far, which was EOS' $4 billion. So we're talking really big money here, really big boys.

I think this is the end of an era.

It seems to me that, from a technological point of view, the web reached its tipping point and it will remain flat, in terms of human progress, and the "decentralization of money" is creeping into the mainstream. And by mainstream I don't mean hype, I mean deep human society transformation, the kind that the web ignited 30 years ago.

From a technological point of view, I think we're still in the "stone age" of the blockchain revolution. It's a bit like the days in which companies were competing for the best browser out there. Microsoft was pushing Internet Explorer, then there was Netscape, Opera made its entrance and so on and so forth. The base layers of the stack were built and the browser was the most important of them.

Today, we're seeing the same thing at the blockchains level. There is Bitcoin, which amended its initial setup with Lightning Network, there are Bitcoin forks, there is Ethereum, there is EOS, there is Cosmos, Steem, and so on and so forth. These are the "base layers" of the next interconnected economy and what's happening now is a silent (yet extremely powerful) fight for the user attention. Whoever will get the biggest share of that user attention will be the "base layer" for the next 20-30 years of human evolution.

Thoughts?


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

Hey
I swear to holy god i did not understand anything except that there is a big game will be in the nearby scene of 5 billion.

Another thing... when google team registered their company first time they advised the lady whom was writing the legal documentation in the USA ministry of commerce i think to buy few stocks in google as it was one stock by USD0.01... SHE laughed and said come on....and now she is crying for her loss as she made a youtube film....can we say the same thing here will happen for many of us who do not participate in this Big Players Money Game between twitter and Square...

Come on

😂😂😂😂😂

Advise me what will be the next step

How can we share with the B.P. this money game....

OMG... I found that i am still broke and i cannot buy stocks in twitter nor square....

Resteemed on behalf of mr. Samer@red-rose.

Comics-Showing-What-Love-Looks-Like-Before-and-After-30-004.jpg

It is incredible to see the huge capital crypto is moving with such an insignificant user base and yet a big technological barrier for mass adoption. I just see an amazing potential of growth here.

Interesting that Square which started as an alternative for credit card processing is accepting Bitcoin. Moving from incremental improvement to revolutionary

it wouldn't hurt my feelings if bad things happened to twitter.

This is a big surprise to me was it because Square integrate bitcoin into ts payment systems that leads to the surge in Square capitalization and market cap. Because I do believe that square is reading into a blockchain status platform soon

Believe me, I read it twice to deeply let it sink in, you remind of Netscape, i once use the browser then, but can't find it been use by anyone today. You were right, whoever could blow the largest noise and gather enough loyalty to himself (corporation) own the next few years.
I see so many ideas shifting in years to come. But where to perfectly come in is just the issue, not forgetting that a company you think it's indispensable today might go off tomorrow. That scares me like shit.

Posted using Partiko Android

Please follow back @reverseracid for real-time info on economic and market conditions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11