Another Hacked Account: Fundraiser For Irvine's Images!!

in #steemit6 years ago

A Call To Give To Irvine's Images


image
Photo by @irivinesimages


It all started about three months ago when I became acquainted with @irvinesimages through his son @apolymask who hosts the @ifc contests. There was a call out to assist in promoting imagery captured with Irvine's professional photography.

The contest post was entitled IFC S1 R36 - Assist IrvinesImages and if it's one thing I have loved about being a part of the @ifc group is that everyone pitches in to help and typically supports one another. More than any other group I've participated in, not everyone always comes through but this one seems to jump right on board and gives 100%.


image
Photo by @irivinesimages


It was through this amazing contest that I have been able to see and experience my Hopi homeland, so this photography in particular has become very special to me on Steemit. I may not get to experience every single snapshot, but the photos I do see just take my breath away.

I can go on and on about Irvine's Images, but the reason for this blog is the Irvine's account was hacked about 27 days ago according to my quick search. Time has flown by and since I was on the move traveling and moving I could not get to this soon enough.

I felt so horrible for him, since he clicked one of those links that are left in our comments and probably because he's simply a nice person and more than likely never thought a person could be so conniving. Well, Eagle Spirit did not forget one of her favorite photographers and will help as best as I can.


image
Photo by @irivinesimages


You can read his post I was Hacked and what happened in full detail. One of the reasons this story touches my heart is that Irvine, Sr. is surviving MS and his son helps take care of him. They both work extraordinarily hard and produce some of the best raw talent that I've seen on Steemit.

From my understanding there was no way to recoup all the funds that were automatically taken out of his Steemit account by this programmer/hacker and his account was wiped out. What he has in his account is what he had to personally put back in himself.


image
Photo by @apolymask (he's an Irvine too!)


Even with the fast response by @clayboyn and @apolymask reading the Got Hacked? Here's How To Get Your Account And Reputation Score Back! written by @simplymike, there wasn't much anyone could do but wait a few days for Steemit to put a block on the account and a recovery of an account that had to be started up again.

If this happens to you just remember there are those who can help, and while this may be a tough thing to go through there are people here to help. Also, please remember to always keep your account safe by storing your key in a few safe places that no one else has access and never ever ever click links.


image
Photo by @irvinesimages


My Offering & Request From You


I will kick off this fundraiser by giving 3 Steem Basic Income shares to the @irvinesimages account so my gift will keep on giving for the life of the account. Additionally, whatever payout I get from this post will go directly to his account too!

I ask that all of the people who know @apolymask and @irvinesimages send SBI shares and/or STEEM to the account @irvinesimages. If you do not have STEEM to give then please leave a comment on one of @irvinesimages posts so his reputation goes up quicker.

For all of you who participate in this initiative we all thank you from the bottom of our hearts.

Yours,

Eagle Spirit

ES logo.png

Greetings,
Thank you for stopping by to read my blog. I’m a First Nation member of the Hopi & Apache Native American tribes, Medicine woman in-training, first time blogger since November 2017, (right here on Steemit), paralegal, researcher, and writer based in the Mountains of Colorado, USA. I work closely with fellow planktons and minnows in a few groups by helping them adjust to Steemit and curate quality content. I’m especially interested in finding others who love natural medicine originating from ancient practices, gold and silver, energy work, and the spirit world. Additionally, I'm the creator of #MedicineCardMonday, so if you are interested in receiving a Native American blessing stop by my blog every Monday, or just say hello!
See you soon, @eaglespirit

Sort:  

Thank you for being.

I want to thank you eaglespirit for spending your precious time and energy to help me out. You did a wonderful presentation and it is very complimentary. The world needs more people like you as your actions are admirable and worthy of praise. I believe what you put out comes back to you. So many blessings and thanks to the wonderful eaglespirit!

Thank you for the gifts! It's much appreciated. I see your spirit flying high!

I also want to thank everyone else who has helped in any way. It's heartwarming to see the generosity and caring gestures by all you good folks on steemit. Thanks Again!

These hacking-events really piss me off (and these things happen all the time in the steemit community, and then people wonder why, I am a bit private and don't want to click their random links or download their files etc)...? People need to wise up!

I hope this talanted photographer @irvinesimages gets his account back in order, he did have his images backed up, right? Well anyway nice work standing up for @irvinesimages, @eaglespirit. I can only donate my tiny-minnow upvote right now. But best of luck with this project!

Here I added some useful links:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@flamingirl/en-flamingirl-tips-anti-hacking-on-steemit-1
https://steemit.com/internet/@outwalking/fb-messenger-warning
https://steemit.com/technology/@kevinsarpei/the-truth-about-discord

Be safe!

/FF

Nice one @eaglespirit! I love Michael's work and felt so bad for him when this happened. @irvinesimages and @apolymask are both such great guys ... this is such a nice thing you're doing. I'm going to send a little something Michael's way.

I am pretty new to steemit and the thought of being hacked scares me. I am so impressed with the photography skill @irvineimages has displayed. I will be following you and both of them. Thank you for introducing me to this amazing work.
)

I havent come across him, but I hate when people get hacked so will give a litlle to help with this tip!

Hi @eaglespirit! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

@tipU voting service | For investors.

This is both the best and the worst of steemit. Great post and I know this doesn't count for much, but it is only money and that can be regenerated. The world will always have the kind of folk, who feel they can just steal things from others, we just have to try manage it the best we can. Peace to you and yours.

I thank you for bringing this to our attention and I had never seen his work, his photos are amazing. I am in and I have sent a few SBI his way as well, I will also be re-steeming this post and commend you for stepping up and helping him and sharing the opportunity for us as a community to help also. Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63746.34
ETH 3048.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97