HOW I FEED MY FAMILY WITH STEEM

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180513_100747.jpg

The Art of surviving with Art

Yes, you've heard me right.

I know I should be ashamed of it because i am not making tons of money, but everything that I earn is being spent daily to feed our two children, my wife , and her mother that lives with us at the moment.
Why should I be ashamed?

Well it's not a very substantial amount it's barely 800 - 1000 dollars per month.We would need 3 times this amount to pay for all the expenditures, so for my wife to quit her job right now is out of the question.

She is actually the one making sure we survive, making sure I can "tryout Steemit for 6 months", the entirety of her salary goes for the rent, the children's school , the insurance, the electricity and water, and what I earn is used for the day to day maintenance , it's used to survive until the next paycheck.

With @lionmom In our new office/studio

IMG_20180428_131631.jpg

I know I should be ashamed, but I think it's freaking amazing, and I am so very thankful.

People might point fingers thinking that it was an irresponsible decision to dedicate all my time to work on Steemit, but it already paid off in ways i cannot comprehend yet.
From a pragmatic perspective, I envision us being able to live off Steemit in within 6 to 12 months.That's not unreasonable...

5 months ago , I had nothing, I was nothing.Just a musician with an album recorded in 2013, that no one wanted to listen to , with no gigs in sight. no mission.

I was waking up in the morning with no clear idea of how my day would go. I was most of the time waiting for my wife to come from work that's the only thing I was really looking forward to.I was looking for a job that didn't exist....Yet

Then Steemit found me

My first few posts on the platform were really a miss, and I was getting really frustrated seeing other musicians and singers getting their content upvoted while mine was getting completely ignored.

Looking back on this, I was already sabotaging myself, making sure that noone will watch it
The thumbnail was not appealing, no light, the video content not very polished, but still I was expecting an upvote.

It took another 15 days to get my first upvote, and it was from my buddy @prc , the creator of @dsound. He actually changed my life on that day, in a lot of ways.As the first rewards were coming in, the price of the SBD was rising to an almost 10 dollars record, providing us with a substantial amount a money and a good head start.Almost providential...

My recording capacities were very limited at the time, an old laptop and a broken microphone, so we decided that everything that was earned should be invested in a computer, and furniture.
Because good things happen all at once, my wife's company decided to give away (for a fair price) some of their old furniture, while changing office's location.

WhatsApp Image 2018-05-15 at 10.02.42 PM.jpeg
We took some couches, an office, a white board, smaller couch, 2 tables, we took everything that we could.
Our house was pretty much empty at the time, so we had no issue finding some space for these newly acquired pieces of furniture.

The computer finally arrived from China, and in less than a month I had built myself a home studio and I was ready to go full time on Steemit.

It was 5 months ago , my salary has had its ups and downs, but what I didn't expect, is how much how would evolve in that limited amount of time.

I took my job so seriously , that nothing could stop me from reaching my goals , I needed to post daily on@dsound, so I started the "Song Requests" that now had a good success and allow me to release fresh content every day , while rewarding my audience with a little incentive.

I eventually started posting on @dlive and it took few videos for their excellent music curation team to notice me. Yes, you can earn good money on dlive!

IMG_20180515_213517_395.jpg

What is even more amazing to me, is that I am now the shareholder of a very successful brand , with 1.262M VESTS invested in it.
It will keep on growing, and by the end of the year, I will probably have reach the 2Mil mark.

it took very little time for me to understand that I needed to surround myself with the best producers the block chain has to offer, and now I am working with so many amazing human being that I feel so privileged, this cannot be even quantified !

I am now a brand, and I get paid daily for representing @edprivat

I have to be honest too, this steemit life comes with its own downside. My life is pretty much centered on the platform, from the moment I wake up until late at night I breath , live , eat steem daily.
Things takes time, I still have my old broken microphone, every day I perform little miracles to resuscitate it , we don't have a car yet, which is suicidal in Johannesburg as married with children, we are actually the only couple we know in this situation.
But we don't complain ,we saw what we managed to accomplish in 5 months, and now I can feel that the possibilities are exponentials!

My spirit rise and fall with the markets, and that's all I have in mind 24/7. There is no other goal for me than to post, so it's a bit of a sad life too, in the sense that I don't have a day off, I work Saturday and Sunday as well.
I don't visit friends anymore because I need to record every day and post, i don't go out in the evenings, my day is carefully planned from 8am to 8pm to reach maximum efficiency, like a professional athlete , I have never worked that hard in my entire life hahaha...It's a good feeling though :)

So this sweet revenue I created for myself is my golden cage, at the same time I am aware that my situation will be completely different in another 5 months , I just enjoy the ride , from nothing, to something to everything...

Sort:  

@edprivat, please don't feel "ashamed" but rather proud and invigorated by your decision to "go for it". I know I am not alone in feeling grateful you are part of this brilliant platform. Perhaps it sounds silly but know that on behalf of your little ones I am proud of you (and your lady) for taking this leap of faith for their future. One day in the near future you will look back and simply smile at these humble beginnings, knowing that you have chosen to not only cease opportunities, but rather create them! You are in the midst of creating your legacy my friend, and I am delighted to witness your metamorphosis. Keep up the beautiful work and remember to take time to appreciate life altogether, because that is the real triumph we all seek. With that in mind I think it may be time for an overdue date night with the Mrs. It doesn't even have to involve spending, though you both more than deserve a little treat;0)

Man , that's really heartwarming, and what you are saying is such a great reward, I have no idea why I wrote this article, maybe because I am enjoying the process , the metamorphosis as you say...
"appreciate life altogether" you are so right, especially when focused (and a bit OCD) we tend to focus on the wrong things :)
I think you are absolutely right about the date night , especially if granny is here at the moment !

NO shame man! I totally get ya and I respect your hard work very much! Personally though, in addition to Steemit, I started to focus on other sources of income, that are also passive, so I don’t lock myself into the golden cage of active income, unstable crypto and eventually a burnout.
Have you heard of Fiverr? You can offer your musical services there, too. I was also thinking of contacting Steemit to see if they have a program through which I could promote them and get paid ;) I bet ya, other people in SA would love to know about Steemit’s possibilities, too, and maybe you could organize a presentation and teach people a thing or two. Songwriting workshops is another thing I do. And the passive income from streaming platforms such as Musicoin can become interesting, too - although it’s not much yet but still, it can add up..

Hope you don’t mind me sharing unsolicited advice. I just feel your journey so much as I’m in a similar situation, without a wife and kids that is ;) (I’d vote for a husband though;) ).

Blockchain has a lot to offer, many new opportunities and you can work from anywhere!

Good luck with everything! You can make it with your attitude! In fact you already are doing it! Big hugs 🤗

Thanks for your kind words and advice Petra, Yes I tried Fiver a while back , but I couldn't find any jobs>
However I used to make some money on UPwork, for freelance production jobs, but the offers are really rare.
I joined Tutoroo as a french teacher too , but no students for now so finger crossed!
My first album on muscicoin never really paid off for me, but I know it did for others so I don't despair.
I joined Choon now and Bittunes and start sharing track there too!

For now, I really feel that the only one that pays me every week is Steemit,
The rest is very sporadic !

" I bet ya, other people in SA would love to know about Steemit’s possibilities" , yes maybe organizing a steemit meeting in Johannebsurg , it's a good idea !

"Hope you don’t mind me sharing unsolicited advice" are you kidding me hahaa that's quite the opposite :) thanks for taking the time !

I agree that at the moment, most of my income also comes from Steemit, specifically @dsound and @dlive, for which I’m super grateful! And my workshops - although I need to start putting more effort into organizing them!

I’ll be exploring more of Choon and Bittunes, too. Let’s see how it all goes!

Yea I just started Choon! Man seeing you perform Jamie Cullum made me miss jamming, so I might go out one night and shred a solo somewhere :)

We are building something that hasn't be done before, who knows what we might be able to accomplish by next year, gathering all of us in steem fest and jamming, organizing concerts for steemians, I think this might be something big !
Right now that sounds crazy coz no budget to travel , but that 0.10 c upvote might soon become 1.00 , then 10 then 100 ....

Who knows howbit will all play out! This weekly jam session keeps me going, and also I make sure I learn new material so it’s a good thing! Plus if you record it and share it, there’s income in it, too :)

I would love the steem price go up like all of us but will it? Time will tell. It’s pretty awesome that we can generate the income we are generating already though. We’re among the first less than a million ppl on the planet that actually have and use a steemit account... But what will it mean in the future, who knows?!

well apparently we reached 1 million few days ago !
Yeah I don't want to be a part of a crazies that didn't see the end of it coming , always having a clear mind, we are here to generate profit.
The day it stops. there's no point of keeping up . For now though I in it till i can't take it no more !

Awesome story - there is a lot of negativity on here so greatg to read a real positive uplifting story :)

Keep on Steeming!

I normally just post music so I thought it would be nice, to be blunt , we all try to create online personna on other platforms, so I think I really force myself to me blunt and genuine on Steemit..!

Being genuine is the best way to survive long term on here :)

You are absolutely right, there is no reason to create a fake online personna on steemit, people want to be able to relate, and plus the best work comes from true honesty!

There's no way you should feel ashamed, you should be congratulated for taking the risk!

I believe, like you, that Steemit has to potential to generate a considerable amount of money if one dedicates ones self to it.

I am also spending 7 days a week on it as I see the huge potential and I actually love every minute of it! I also have a very supportive wife who helps me manage AtomCollectorRecords.com too.

The only risk in my eyes is if Steemit "goes under" for some reason I don't understand.

The community is amazing and the blockchain Steemit is built on seems to be one of the best so my belief is that this is a lot less risky than trying to start a traditional business.

I hope (and believe) that we will all look back on this in a year's time (maybe less) and say - wow - best decision of our lives!!

Keep up the amazing work you do and most of all - ENJOY THE JOURNEY!!

"The only risk in my eyes is if Steemit "goes under" for some reason I don't understand."

Yes at night I get nightmares hahah , but It's a risk and investment that I am ready to take because it can put us in a great spot if it works well for steemit!

"I hope (and believe) that we will all look back on this in a year's time (maybe less) and say - wow - best decision of our lives!!"

I wish us the best brother, I didn't you were in the same spot as I , congratz to your wife for the support. Thanks for the 100 upvotes that you dropped as well :P

Fair play to ya, an uplifting tale indeed. Your stuff is fantastic and you deserve all the success in the world.

Thanks :) I really appreciate your support and your opinion/ really matter. I know it sounds like a stupid generic comment, but it's really heartfelt!

Ah, you're such a sweetie.....but I'd say everyone tells you that;)

Barely :) hahah

I have been supporting your posts with my little upvotes. After reading this article about how you struggle and continue your passion in music as well as your dream in steemit, I guess every little up vote counts. Hopefully you gain more and more supporters for the next 6 months to provide a even better life for your family! All the best!

Thanks friend ! We do get attached to the people that started the steemit adventure roughly around the same time, I really believe that we joined at the right time, and will be considered as pioneers in 6 months time. We are about to reach 1 millions users very soon, the sky is the limit!

My friend your story had gave me a shoot of motivation, best luck on steem and i hope that this platform someday can change our lives.

Awesome man ! It will, it's all about dedication

Thanks for sharing that story dude. I hope you don’t mind a short one in return...
I just retired in 2016 at age 41, my buddies who are literally just starting to pay into a pension at age 40 and I just finished.. they would ask “aren’t you gonna miss making X amount of money?” My first response to that question has resonated in me ever since:
I can look back at the last 23 years and tell you which year I made the most and which year I made the least and I’d still be where I am now.
Congratulations Ed, everyone gets what they deserve sir!

It's a real pleasure, I felt that it was time to write a little piece of something. And Congratulation to you Artie, you seem to have figure it all out , you and your loved one :)
When you do something that you love too, it's not really work neither, so I won't need to retire :)
Plus you still do work every day bro. Don't tell me you didn't work at least 2 hours today on that go pro

Oh ya brother, absolutely. 2 hours... and about 2 more should do it! But like you said, “it’s not really work.”

Wow, amazing story... This place really can change lives. Best of luck with your continuing Steem journey @edprivat, I hope that your hard work pays off.

Thanks @k0wsk1 , it already pays off to be honest ! Almost reaching my goal!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66499.54
ETH 3203.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14