Shoutout!!! Be Careful How You Edit Your Posts!

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

There's been a case recently that made me realize this needs a shoutout!

24g0dd0iut.png

source

Many of you are using more than one app to post on Steemit, which is fine.

The problem starts when you want to edit your post! Many people post from one app and edit that post using another app.

In this case, the second app overwrites the data and saves the latest version.

This is relevant in case you are hoping for an upvote from an app.

Example: if you post an app from esteem and edit it in Steemit, Steemit is going to overwrite the date and your post will appear as written in Steemit, no matter if the first version of the post was published using esteem. This goes pretty much for any app.

So if you need to edit your post, make sure you use the same app.

I would really appreciate if you could spread the word so this mistake can be avoided.

steemit-border

Check out my #SevenDaysOutside Challenge!

1nap82ea0l.jpg

These are the days and the categories:
#WindowMonday – Windows
#DoorTuesday – Doors
#RustArtWednesday – Rust
#GateThursday – Gates
#StatueFriday – Statues
#BrickSaturday – Bricks (bricks only, no pavement elements or cobblestones please)
#StreetlampSunday – Street Lamps

Make sure you write a description of the photo you are posting. Share as much details as you can, like where that statue is placed (in a park, at a museum), what it represents etc. Make it enjoyable.

Use the #sevendaysoutside tag along with the daily tag and tag me, @erikah!

Goes without saying that you can only use your own photos. No paintings, no drawings, no digital art please! There is no prize here, this is just for fun.

steemit-border

Posted using eSteem Surfer

Do you use eSteem?
eSteem is a Mobile📱& PC💻 app. for Steem with great features. Also, you get Incentives posting through eSteem apps.

eSteem Spotlight; eSteem provides rewards for it top users in Leader Board with most Posts, Comments and Highest Earners.

Download eSteem for your Mobile📱
Android devices Google Play Store
IOS devices Apple Store

Download eSteem Surfer for your PC💻
Available for all OS Github


Join eSteem Discord https://discord.gg/UrTnddT

Join eSteem Telegram http://t.me/esteemapp

steemit-border

Proud to be a member of The Steemians Directory

Vote for @good-karma witness

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Hm, ez egy hasznos infó. Én nem használok appokat, de az tény, hogy kisebbségben vagyok a régimódi dolgaimmal :D

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you very much this was helpful. I use a few steem apps so this is nice to know.

This is very useful. Thank you for sharing. Resteemed for more visibility. 🙂

it is lots of fun @erikah, let me resteem it and would love if more friend will joint this

That is something I wouldn't have thought of! Thanks for making us aware of that.

I know many people don't know this and can cause problems. You're welcome.

It is a good thing to know. Have a great day.... I'm off to bed!

Thank you and good night! See you tomorrow!

Thank you for sharing with us, this has made us aware of that. Have a nice day :)

Wow, that's kind of a big deal, and I didn't know about it. I do this often, in fact with almost every single post. I did it again this morning. Here's why...

Basically, I can't spell, and Esteem has no spell checker! I make my post in esteem, then reopen it immediately on Steemit, click edit, and have a spelling and grammar checker go over what I've written. Often, the spelling check finds a problem so I correct it and update the post.

I've resteemed this so other people will learn out the issue. I wondered why I sometimes miss the esteem vote - as appears may have happened this morning. I hope esteem comes out with a spell checker or a browser-based interface.

Does @esteem vote everytime? My husband has been posting from esteem for over 3 weeks now and have been upvoted 3 times only. 😔

REGARDING PEOPLE ASKING ABOUT NOT BEING UPVOTED

Here are factors to be considered;

  • More than 8000 users post through eSteem app, and around 1800-2000 posts get Upvotes daily and we plan to double that number soon, from this I believe you can see Upvotes are not guaranteed for anyone.
    ======>

  • You are likely being ignored by our filters... try to gain some reputation 30+ and followers, we will lower filters more once we have better voting mechanism to handle 8000-10000 user posts.
    ======>

  • Some abusers or multi account users if reported by steemcleaners are added to ignore list
    ======>

  • We change filters from time to time to ensure everyone gets Upvotes.

  • We also try our every best to reward everyone.

Thanks for using eSteem! Steem on!

@livinguktaiwan, this is a pinned message from esteem Discord channel. I hope it helps you understand.

Thanks @erikah. That's roughly 1 in 4 chance, and for my husband's account it currently works out 1 in 7. His rep is nearly 60, and has won quite a few photo contest, so his definitely isn't a spam account. Sadly it seems like his account doesn't fall in the norm ....

There's an esteem channel on Discord called curator-call. If your husband feels he's being neglected, he can state his case there before reading the pinned message.

Thank you Keith for the reblog!
If you're using the desktop version, which I suppose you do, you can check your text by simply pasting the text in a Yahoo mail body. Then paste is back into esteem and post it.

Editing in another app can cause you using the upvote.

Thanks, now that I know about this, it's no problem to find a workaround. Hey look, my vote just came through! I reopened my post with esteem and made another edit. I can always find stuff to change! I would be doing everything in esteem except for this spell check issue.

I don't think I've edited in a different app from the one I posted through ..... yet, but I'm glad you gave a heads up to make sure I don't.

Reblogging

Thank you very much, I really appreciate it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62661.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76