Rethinking my posts and reaching a new milestone

in #steemit6 years ago

Last week, I organised the You sponsor my, I sponsor you contest for the third time. While the previous contest always only got a little bit of attention and not so many participants, this time is was a huge success with all SBI-shares given away within 36 hours and lots of interaction in the comment section.

Rethinking my posts

This got me thinking, why do some of my posts attract more attention than others? Is it because some subjects are more interesting than others, is there any coincidence included or is the bigger interest just because I grew my network?

Thinking about this, I was wondering why you follow me and what kind of content do you like. You are welcome to let me know that in the comment section below!

What should I write about?

I do have some specific interests and knowledge I would be willing to write about. These include:

  • Cryptocurrency
  • Data analysis
  • EVs/The electric car revolution
  • Traffic and transport in general
  • Speed skating (and other sports)
  • My personal life
  • Any other suggestions...

I'm curious to know which kind of content you would like to read.

New milestone

In the meantime I also reached the milestone of 400 followers. As mentioned earlier, these are not all very active (nor human) followers, but it's always nice to reach (and celebrate) a milestone.

Sort:  

20.000+Followers can see you.(@tenorbalonzo,@hakanlama,@cemalbaba,@asagikulak) Send 0.200 Sbd or Steem. Post link as memo for

Congrats for the 400 followers!

Well about the topics I think you are right most of my fitness posts dont get alot of attention and that pretty sad and I just upload a picture in steepshoot sometimes I get more upvotes

Yes, sometimes a very simple comment gets more upvotes than a blog that you worked on a lot. Very strange & sad...

I was about to write a post about that, but I will leave it for later. Which is exactly my point. Good stuff should not be published until you have many many followers. So it seems. They probably won't read it all, but there is a good chance they will upvote it all.

Did a piece on how I think images are a threat to the blockchain, that one didn't get picked up at all. Posting my take on the soccer worldcup did. So weird. Not that it generates a fortune, but I am still in the place where every dime counts. :)

What works and what doesn't will always be a mystery, to my humble opinion. It seems other aspects than just your post are in control of that.

Posting to discord helps to get more specific exposure. People will upvote not just because the subject of your post is interesting, but because it is written well and they like you. Slowly people get to know eachother when hanging out on a discord server.

Another aspect affecting exposure, is publish time. Do you post at the same time, or just when you feel like posting.

Another aspect is the time someone else has to read anything.

Eventually when your rep is high enough, you will see that people start to upvote just because you posted. That is what happens on many posts of high rep accounts. The content isn't world changing in fact sometimes it is just repeating what others have said in multiple posts already and still people will upvote like it is an insight they never were aware of.

On these posts votes will come in at a speed you could not even have read the whole post before upvoting.

Your steembasicincome post is interesting because it offers others to benefit. Steembasicincome is a great project and your deal makes it possible for people to get the most out of it. It is a wonderful gesture of you.

Write whatever you feel passionate about at that moment, people will catch up on that vibe. And if they don't then at least you had a good time expressing yourself.

You are doing great, keep going :)

Thanks for the nice words!

Also very true what you say about a lot of high rep people/posts. A good reason to keep on going and become one of them ;)

Forgot to mention I think you are a good example of the steembasicincome system. It works :)

Data analysis and car statistics is what I like

Okay, me too. I'll surely cover those two in my future blogs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16