Are You Staying On Steemit?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I knew something was wrong when I refreshed my browser and nothing changed. You see, one of the first things I do is to check my Steemit feed to curate new posts. Fresh articles would show up every few minutes, and now, none... That's when I knew the low STEEM price was affecting how often bloggers were uploading new content. This "thinning of the herd" may be a good thing in the long run by giving those not serious about Steemit a reason to leave the platform, while raising the visibility of the rest.

Deja vu

This reminds me of all the people who jumped ship when AAPL was below $20 a share before the introduction of the iPod. If these investors had held on like the true believers did, they'd be sitting on huge gains right now. I also think of Gary Wayne who sold his investment in Apple for peanuts just prior to the company becoming wildly successful. It kind of makes me wonder why folks are so eager to jump ship at the tiniest bit of turbulence.

Some of you joined Steemit and built your accounts up without having to spend a dime. So my question is, how many of you are thinking of leaving Steemit and why? Is there a STEEM price number that would cause you to bail? With HF20 coming up, I couldn't imagine a worse time to cut and run than now. For those like me that plan on sticking around, I think the best is yet to come! What do you think?

Follow me @evernoticethat and UPVOTE

Thank you so much!

Image credit: 1

If you liked this post, please upvote it, resteem to your friends and follow me for more. You can also check out my most recent articles:

Sort:  

I might pick up some steem today! Buy low sell high :) I don’t know why anyone would use anything else besides steemit, but I’m staying. I was shocked how little response my silver giveaway received but then again I’m still pretty low rep so maybe that’s why. Oh well I will keep on going!

Buy low sell high :)

Also - BLOG LOW! Trust me!

I don’t know why anyone would use anything else besides steemit, but I’m staying.

I hear that!

Don’t plan on stopping!

I think it has to do with the price of STEEM. Traffic and upvotes are down even for some Whales. I saw your giveaway post but wanted to leave it for someone "over there" as I can only imagine the shipping costs! Great idea to interact with the community. :)

Yeah o have really had a lot of fun with it I am already planning my next one! Like you said it’s so great interacting with all the fellow steemians

They are gonna regret it when Steem goes back up to $9 the end of this year of start of next.

It went up after the last hard fork, good to see you're hanging in there. :)

Yup, THIS is the time for us to grow and prosper before the rush of people back when the value goes up

Posted using Partiko iOS

Love to hear that positive attitude. Keep Going!

Well, for me I'm not posting much recently because I need a break from writing. Lol. And it looks like SBD isn't available anymore... I only see redeem Steem & SP in my wallet.

Correct, that's the system working as planned. With the price being under a buck, this is a good time to accumulate! :)

I've had that same experience of refreshing to see if something is wrong, only to discover it's just that no one is posting. Seems so bizarre to me. For me how much I post is solely a factor of how much time I have and what I have to say. I never even think about the price of steem when deciding whether to post. I only think about it when deciding whether to invest.

You're just like me. As a student, my time is limited. I would love to post daily or multiple times per day but can't always do it.

I have a blast thinking up new post ideas. With Steemit, blogging is fun again! :)

I agree, I think now is the time to buy, not bail. I'm in it for the long haul, and money was never my primary motivator anyway, just a bonus.

That said, I think those that bail now will be very, very sorry down the road. I'm inclined to stick it out and add more STEEM and SP when I'm able. I'm not going anywhere.

I hear you. I just have this feeling that people on the fence right now might just need some positive encouragement to stay the course on Steemit. My attitude is: see what HF20 brings us and then give it at least a year after that. This feels like the early days of Bitcoin, doesn't it?

Yeah, it really does, and people need to realize we're still in beta.

To have made the kind of progress they've/we've made, in such a short time in beta testing mode, is huge.

@evernoticethat, Indeed, it is those who persist and keep on keeping on who always will succeed.

That's the spirit! What's that old saying? "slow and steady wins the race."

I am not very technical so I don't really understand what the next HF will mean to us, can anyone explain to me in laymans terms please? lol With regards to Steemit, I have been here over a year now and have seen the price of steem where it is right now only once before. Did I run before? NO! What did I do? Invested more time and more funds into steemit. What happened as a result? My account has grown and I am in a much stronger position than I was a year ago... about $3500 worth of steem stronger! and No, I didn't buy all of that, I did invest a little along the way, but most of that has been earned though posting and building relationships with awesome steemians. Most of whom I found when the platform was quieter because you don't get half as much spam to distract you from the good articles! So I will stay come what may and I will enjoy meeting new people! Steem on! :D

I see the utility in the blockchain and the promise of the Steemit community, glad to see you feel the same. I too "primed the pump" by investing in the platform late last year when conditions were ideal and have never regretted it. On HF20 @therealwolf wrote a useful guide to the exciting changes coming in Sept in an easy to understand way. I can't wait! :)

Yeah if this is all ends up having the effect of reducing spammers / bots that's fine by me!

I never thought of it that way, may end up being an added benefit of "shaking the tree."

DOGE LOTO play lottery and investment dogecoin and withdraw proof DOGE LOTO investment site join link http://dogeloto.com/i/3622Untitled-1 copy.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07