What Happened to Images on Steemit!?

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

Suddenly every image uploaded to the Steem blockchain has been compressed into a really fucking shitty quality!



I noticed this today as I was uploading images and it took me a while to figure out that the problem is not with my images, but with Steemit. Now every post I have ever made, look all mushy and they are really really tiny. And isn't it so much fun that a post can't be edited after seven days, so all the old posts are now really ugly. Photography is my main thing here and I feel like all I have ever done in here is wasted.

Screenshot 2018-12-04 at 23.14.59.png
Here is what the image should look like https://ibb.co/DrjzRnZ , doom in and compare the text on the boat to this on Steemit.

Maybe I should have known that something like this might happen, as servers are expensive and I have no idea about backend stuff....

I'm pretty pissed about this right now.

EDIT: I just tried editing my newest post by uploading the images first to an external image hosting site and linking from that, but it made absolutely no difference. Wtf.

Smart people, tell me what the fuck is wrong with this and if there is anything to be done to fix it!

Sort:  

The trick is to have uploaded sh1tty quality photos in the first place, like mine :)

Don’t you dare, you got good photos!

I was thinking I'm going mad and not seeing what other people see! Well this just sucks and adds so much more work to trying to make sure the posts look good.

Yeah, but at least it still works on other dApps for now. Thanks for the resteem!

No problem, it was a great post regarding the issue so I hope more people see it.

I’ll be spending some time later today to try and pick a platform I wanna use instead of Steemit.com.

Steemit. inc is broke.
You should expect something like that coming up.

hmmm
nothing wrong with my posts
can edit any, including some two months
Are you still in Mexico?

Lol, I didn't know that you can now edit old posts! But yeah, doesn't take the problem away, the images are now reallyreally small. I don't know the normal quality and size of your images, but check by opening the image on another tab and you'll probably see that it's a really small image compared to the original.

Yes, still in Mexico for two weeks.

I'm thinking it has to do something with the budget cuts Ned has been working on. After cutting the Steemit inc staff by 70% he put forth a spread sheet of some new changes...

https://steemit.com/steemit/@ned/steemit-inc-blockchain-roadmap-and-cost-reductions

NedSpreadsheet.png

At the bottom of the spreadsheet you can see he wrote "store smaller versions of images" - perhaps this could account for the pixilation when recalled?

I could understand that they don't have space to store high quality pictures, but what I do not understand is why the images don't work if they are sources from outside of the blockchain.

Use some other front end. There are plenty of them: busy.org, steempeak.com etc.

If you link it from a different source, it should not get compressed. Another workaround: use another frontend like steempeak.com or busy.org.

Yeah so I thought, it shouldn’t, but it did. Yes I’m done with Steemit, this was the last straw. I just need to find which of those sites works for me the best.

Also, I jut checked, your This Way to Xpu Ha Beach psot images look fine
perfect quality
maybe you are getting an odd compressed version because of local bandwidth?

I don't believe you, sorry😅 I uploaded the images on different site and the quality is as it should be, no issue with bandwidth.

Check this and compare it to the one on that post: https://ibb.co/DrjzRnZ

Here's more info: https://steemit.com/photofeed/@intrepidphotos/sydney-glow

I was looking via Steempeak
so didnt see the issue

Obviously tension is high, and emotions are raw - so, please be gentle (I don't work for Steemit Inc, I just know a little about web servers & running websites).

I'm relatively new to posting images on Steem, but it looks like Steemit previously allowed you to upload hi-res (like you get out of your camera) images, which were included in your posts.

This was great for you as a photographer, but probably not as big a deal as you think. When people view your posts, even though your image might be huge (in megapixels), it's actually displayed quite small. I'd imagine very few people open up the image to it's full size to inspect it closely (which is why I say it's not as big a deal as some might think).

The problem in this approach is that Steemit has to store than [huge filesize] image on their servers. And that opens up three problems#;

  1. The storage space needed to save the file (which while relatively cheap, still adds-up quickly)

  2. The strain on the servers' resources when somebody tries to view it (a file with a big file size takes a lot of bandwidth & processing power to deliver). This is probably the biggest factor, and adds a huge strain on Steemit Inc's overall "running costs".

  3. The time it takes to download your photograph when somebody is viewing your post - slower connections take longer to see photographs with bigger file sizes). This frustrates visitors and makes their user experience on the platform suffer.

So, for [in relative terms] very little benefit, there are huge network and 'running the website/service' costs.

I know that as photographers, we want as our images to be their best quality, but in reality, a tiny percentage of people will actually see that "high quality" version of the photo uploaded.

It looks like Steemit Inc have retrospectively crushed their file sizes of all images they store. They probably did some kind of batch treatment, compressing file sizes. So, what was once a 20Mb file (which would put a massive strain on server resources) is reduced to a 100k file (for example).

This would have huge savings on their system resources, and the costs of running their systems. It might also be connected to them moving to RocksDB, but I don't know anything about that database.

In my view, they've taken too heavy-handed an approach to this, and without warning.

If they'd have pre-warned the community about what they were doing, and perhaps not compressed quite to much, all parties might've been a little happier.


We have to stand up to this price drop...what come from this big coin market ... problem is not steemit... but problem is this market what makes as have problems.
And if anyone start now think it's time to leave, then where are you going?? All Coins are down ... even out there It is definitely not good to be right now. But still I can see that Steemit it works like a strong rock... it fights back.
And when I post here in Steemit I earn ... but when I own some another coin... I not earn nothing ...so steemit works just now more then other coins.


You got a 70.54% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @eveuncovered!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78