I was a "willing guinea pig", but it's all worth it!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

criticism-3083101_960_720.jpg
Image Source

I always look forward to reading @ntowl's writing class notes or attending the live class. Unfortunately, her class falls on a Monday (Australian time). It was just that something came up and she had to change it just for this week's session to Monday night. Luckily for me this week, it fell on Tuesday morning. I don't normally work on Tuesdays, unless I am called in to cover someone else's roster.

So, yes, I'm glad I was able to attend @ntowl's writing class on the #DynamicSteemians Discord. The lesson was about her giving critiques to:

"3 Brave souls that agreed to expose themselves in Monday's writing class".

The entries were:

  1. A Thin Line Between Adventure and Disaster, Or: Help, I Need an Adult by @tessaragabrielle
  2. Steemit Meetup Planning in Philippines & Thailand by @dynamicrypto
  3. Mine

Yes, I am one of the willing guinea pigs volunteers.

The areas that were pointed out regarding my post were:

1. "The attention grabbing headline."

The title of my submitted entry was "The Main Models in Raising Bilingual (or Multilingual) Children and How to Support Them", but after the class, I edited the title and changed it to "How to Raise and Support your Child to be Multilingual". I believe it is a much better title compared to what it was originally.

2. "The engaging opening."

once-upon-a-time-719174_960_720.jpg
Image Source

My first three paragraphs could have been improved if I had added an introduction why I wrote the post in the first place. The post was my response to @dmilliz's comment in "How do you Help your Children Build a Rich Vocabulary Day by Day?". I just placed a shoutout to @dmilliz at the end, instead of including his suggestion in my beginning paragraph.

3. "Who is Dr. Eisenchlas? Why should I care or believe what she has to say about raising multilingual children?"

GIF Source

It was negligent and wrong for me to assume that everybody who would read my post would know who the source of my research was. I admit, when I wrote it, I was in a hurry to submit it, without thoroughly proofreading it, not that it is a valid excuse.

In my other posts, How do you Help your Children Build a Rich Vocabulary Day by Day? and How to Read Creatively and Artfully: Making the Most of your Story Reading and Sharing Experiences, I properly referenced my source and described the author who she was in the field of Early Childhood in a paragraph contained in my post.

The critique also made me review my other post, My Literacy History: How I have Developed and Continued to Grow my Love for the English Language, and I referenced an author without an explanation who I was referring to.

I clearly did not take into account the dynamics of the Steemit community. Again, I cannot assume that people will take my word just because I referenced an author, how much more when I don't even explain who they are and what they are expert in. Also, it's important that I...

"...think from the perspective of a reader on Steemit". ~ @ntowl

4. "No additional picture, other than the thumbnail, to add a little spice." (paraphrased)

I agree. So in this post, I have added a few photos that will hopefully make it interesting to read.

5."The subheading could have been a little better."

Read #3.

6."Clearly edited with minimal or no typos" and "concise"

I used "more fluent" when "fluent meant fluent". It's the extra glue word that I must also observe in writing. Other sentences could have been proofread and edited. @ntowl tackled topics on redundancy, extra glue words, and self-editing in the previous session. You may refer to her notes on "9 Tips for self editing your posts on Steemit: Writing Class Session 9 Summary".

7. "Logical flow" and "clear goal"

@ntowl said that my post follows a logical flow, however, if my introduction paragraph was engaging or "enticing", it could have been a lot better. The flow of the paragraphs from beginning to end also leads to and gives a clear goal - which is to inform and to educate readers on how to raise and support multilingual children.

8. "Powerful close"

My post lacks a powerful close. I totally agree. I must remember that Steemit is a community. As a writer on this platform, I would want people to engage with me. So a closing paragraph with prompting people to leave comments or share similar experiences or give additional ideas would be ideal.

So, that's about all of it. After the session, I wanted to edit my post right away, however, I thought of writing a summary of the critique, and this is it. I changed the title only; the rest is unedited.

You may want to check, scrutinise and give your own "constructive criticism", here's the link again: https://steemit.com/steemiteducation/@evlachsblog/the-main-models-for-raising-bilingual-or-multilingual-children-and-how-to-support-them.


Also, if you want to participate in @ntowl's writing class and learn more about writing quality content, then, join the DynamicSteemians Discord and be present on Sundays at 8-10 PM (US Eastern Time). Hang out on the "dynamic-chat" and other rooms on the Discord, and you will also meet the creative pool behind #DynamicSteemians, namely:

Again, I want to say many thanks to @ntowl. After the critique, she even rewarded/awarded me 2 SBI shares. How awesome is that!!! She is the best!!! I would not be able to pick those points myself, and no one would be as honest as she was in the way she critiqued my post. I told her I would always be open to her constructive criticism because it is the only way I will be aware of my mistakes and my motivation to improve my writing.

divider-2154993_960_720.jpg


I am also a member and an ally of #SteemBulls Discord. We are a community of people who help each other in having our posts get noticed, read and appreciated.

So, come and join, and be inspired!!!
Check out posts by:
@sarahdandridge, @dmilliz,
@ryl, @dangerousangel,
@scarletmedia, @puregrace,
@pkalra, @honeychum,
@joanna-godfrey, @udywriter,
@shanu, @lantracy,
@emilyandy, @bunnychum

Vote @steemgigs (@surpassinggoogle) as your witness to let him know you support his work. He was the person behind #teardrops, #undistalented, #steemgigs, #steemsecrets, and now the new trend, #ulogs (or #ulog).

Thank you for reading!

rsz_1upvote_button.png

Sort:  

@smartbot tip 1

Congratulations!!!
You will be rewarded 1 SMARTCASH for using this resteem service

ABASINKANGA RESTEEM SERVICE

  • This post just got resteemed to 6200 followers.
  • For anyone to use my resteem service, send 0.1 SBD to @abasinkanga + post link as memo.
  • Earn SmartCash rewards when you send SBD to resteem your post
  • Tip with SMARTCASH or Upvote this comment if you appreciate this service.

1 SMART = 0.04 SBD

How To Use SmartCash?

Σ$$$ Tipped @evlachsblog Σ1 SMART! Comment @smartbot help to claim. Currently the price of SmartCash in the market is $0.134 USD per SMART. Current value of the tip is $0.13 USD. To find out more about SmartCash, please visit https://smartcash.cc.

Thanks for sharing your story and your thoughts. I did learn something, thanks ones more.

You're welcome and I am glad that it has helped you.

Well, @baa.steemit is only 18 and he is more than a graphic designer, for he is an angel from up above who gives and gives until he just simply keeps on giving! Yeah, I'm sure I broke some rules of writing with that last sentence but it's true and I would be lying if I didn't say the same about you and @ntowl! I appreciate your love and sincerity towards our very skilled and talented writing professor and her classes!

I wrote "the professional instructor" initially, when in my mind I meant to say "the writing professor" about @ntowl. She is very professional and the word professor encompasses professionalism as well. And to profess is to teach or to instruct or to tell.

So thank you @dynamicgreentk for helping me out with that one. Now it is edited to, @ntowl as the writing professor.

@baa.steemit said he only just turned 19. He just had his birthday, maybe.

Hey, I am just filled with so much gratitude on all of you guys in #dynamicsteemians. More power and success to all of you!

Congratulations, your post received 3.88% up vote form @spydo courtesy of @evlachsblog! I hope, my gratitude will help you getting more visibility.
You can also earn by making delegation. Click here to delegate to @spydo and earn 95% daily reward payout! Follow this link to know more about delegation benefits.

Hey @evlachsblog, Congratulations !!! We just upvoted your post with 18.91% power. Keep up the good work. Join our discord channel https://discord.me/SteemBulls

Thank you! Much appreciated!

You got a 2.87% upvote from @t50 courtesy of @evlachsblog!
95% of all SBD bids go to the people who invest by delegating to the bot.


To use this service send a minimum of 0.010 SBD or STEEM to @t50 with the post you want upvoted as the memo.
For a limited time top bidder will get 15+ additional upvotes!
Low Minimum Bids!
Increase Your Rep!
Draw Attention To your Post.
Earn Passive Income By Delegating SP to the Bot.
Overbid Protection
Voting processed every 2.4h (2,880 blocks).
@t50 follows all followers!


If you do not want to receive upvotes from @t50 you can ask to be blacklisted by replying to this comment.

Hi @evlachsblog, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Join us on Thursdays for Pimp Your Post Thursday at 11am EDT or 7PM EDT in the Steemit Ramble Discord or:

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord. If I use the post, you earn a portion of the rewards.

Thank you @steemitramble. I will try to be there today on PYPT to pimp someone else's post.

This post has received a 0.89% upvote from thanks to: @evlachsblog.
For more information, click here!!!!

If you use our Robot before your post has 1 day and get an Upvote greater than 1%, you will automatically receive Upvotes between 1% and 10% as a bonus from our other robots.

Do you know, you can also earn passive income after every bidding round simply by delegating your Steem Power to @minnowhelper?
you can delegate by clicking following links: 10 SP, 100 SP, 500 SP, 1000 SP or Another amount

Help support @minnowhelper and the bot tracker by voting for @yabapmatt for Steem witness! To vote, click the button below or go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and find @yabapmatt in the list and click the upvote icon. Thank you.

Voting for @yabapmatt

Yes, I voted for @yabapmatt. Thanks for the upvote.

@evlaxhlog your writing is very unique. I notice it is very different from others.
Maybe its the Aussie way..
Love and upvoted

Thank you for your comment. ❤ I don't know if it's an Aussie way, haha! If there's even such a thing. 😀 but what I do consistently ever since I have learnt to use markdowns or codes is to organise my post in a certain format. If that is what you meant when you said my posts were unique. If it's the spelling of some words, yes, it's an Aussie way then (or UK English).

Thank you again.

Back at you @elvielins. I love you, too.

Wonderful summary @evlachsblog. I'm glad I was able to help and thank you for pitching my class. Everyone is welcome.

You deserved the SBI shares for being so gracious in the face of criticism - even if it was meant to be constructive. You make our community a better place. : ]

Thank you @ntowl for your words of encouragement. You make our community even more a better place. We need someone like you, and @norma-jean. I don't know if you know her, but I found her post on steemitramble's curation post. She is a writer and she gives guidelines, too, on how to write fiction. I love learning from the best!

Thank you again for all that you do!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75