How Often Should You Post?

in #steemit5 years ago

Many people especially newbies are wondering how many posts should they write in Steemit per day and per week. I asked myself the same thing over and over when i first joined the platform and honestly even now i catch myself thinking it. At first i thought the more the better but because my content was original and it was basically reviews of movies/series/anime i had to write a lot.

Imagine watching an anime with 12-24 episodes or 1 season of any series and then you have to write a review about it. There is no chance your post to be just a few words, it will probably be a big ass one. That's why during my first steps i said to myself to only post once per day or per two days.

Later on i added different things in my regular posts so i tried to upload content each day. Except the fact that i enjoyed it, i think it served a second role, that of the constant visibility that made new users discover me and also the active ones still remember me! Still i believed that the more posts someone made per day the better the outcome. He would earn more upvotes and thus rewards as well as more followers something that once again leads to more money. 

That was my perspective as a Steemit Author/Content Creator/Whatever.

Let's Move On To Now 

Everything i mentioned above was just what i did and thought the first couple of months i was in Steemit. After a while i started to follow more and more people and then i quickly realized how naive i was. What i am about to say is from the perspective of the follower and reader.

As a follower if someone i follow make 2-3 posts per day, he makes harder the whole process of upvoting him cause my SP isn't that high and i don't have unlimited voting power. Especially at times of crisis like this that our upvotes are worth a lot less than before and based on the fact that most of the users don't have that much of sp, we should be careful on how and where we spent our votes.

Note that i am not a person who follows 1000 people, just 170 that are active and i handpicked them cause i like their content or i because i find them interesting and even then i will have to be very careful on how i vote. Thus i will probably vote one, maybe 2 out of their 3-4 posts (mostly 1) and i believe their other followers will do as well. 

Moreover, i try to read the posts i upvote (at least most of them), depending always on my time. Thus if a user keeps uploading posts, chances are that i won't be able to read all of them. Finally, some people use autovoting services to support us due to their limited time. Ofc most of them set some restriction in which they may only upvote 1 post from certain people but there are others who don't use that option. I don't wanna take advantage of this votes and deplete all of their voting power so i stick to maximum of 1 post per day!

What's My Posting Schedule 

Honestly, the rule i follow 100% is not to make 2 posts during the same day and that's it. Aside from that i try to post regularly but this is a bit relevant. To be more exact i think in the best case scenario 1 posts per day is the golden rule but nowadays i usually make a post per 2 days and such. I would advice everyone to try and make a post within a week except if it's the super big ass scientific posts that takes hours of research to be made. Then you are excused!

Everyone has his own agenda,goals and everyday life so there is no right or wrong answer to that. I stated what i did and what i do and also some thoughts regarding that matter. The rest is up to you and obviously the final choice is yours to make!


gifs 1 2 3 4 5
Sort:  

Once a day to gain visibility and build discipline.
More than twice is spam.

amen to that!

Depends the day but usually 2, one would be an actifit post and the second one a hunt post (if i found something interesting).
But some times (not often) i had 3 daily posts, and if i remember well, once 4.

Posted using Partiko Android

lol that's too much for me both as a content creator and as a curator. The actifit though is mostly automated right? so it makes it easier to make another one

Once (or less) per day is enough for me.
If I need to post more, I have my twitter :P
Nice article @filotasriza3!

yeah i tend to do the same in here so 100% agree!

If I need to post more, I have my twitter :P

hahaha

Hi @filotasriza3!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.433 which ranks you at #2113 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 213 contributions, your post is ranked at #109.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Man, I'm following less than 30 people and I'm already having a tough time keeping up with everything. There really are some insensitive people out there who hogs votes by posting tons of posts per day. Can't be helped. That's why I just lower voting percentages for them if I'm obligated to vote.

i have 170 and mostly all of the are active so you can imagine the struggle :P I try to be fair to everyone though regarding the number of their posts and what i deep quality ofc added the fact that i have limited sp. So if someone makes 3-4 posts per day i will probably vote on of those

Έχεις απόλυτο δίκιο.. Επίσης αν είναι να ποστάρεις πάνω από μία φορά τη μέρα, πρέπει να έχεις ΠΟΛΛΗ έμπνευση.. :P

h na postareis malakioules :P

lol σωστό κι αυτό! :P

I could probably post two quality posts a day if I really pushed myself. If I'm doing one a day, I figure I'm doing my job -- and several times a week is fine, too. I won't throw out any old crap just to put something out there ... and I don't need the stress of feeling I'm constantly under the gun to produce content I'm proud for people to read.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85