WHAT HAVE I LEARNED SO FAR FROM MY STRANGE EXPERIMENT?

in #steemit6 years ago

Getting established on Steemit now doesn't seem all that different to how it was two years ago.

People keep freaking out how long it takes to set up a new account. The sign up page says it will take 1-2 weeks. Did it? No, it took three days.

I was wondering how there can be so many 25er's. But as soon as I did a post I ceased to be a 25'er. So basically any account with a rep of 25 hasn't done a single post. Which means they are probably all cubicle farm monkey's with fake accounts.

From now on if I encounter a 25'er who has been on Steemit for more than a day I'm going to let rip on their pathetic arse. Unless they are a whale, in which case I will probably suck up to them, even if I secretly think they are about on a level with killary klinton.

What do you start out with in your wallet now? - two years ago you were given $5 to get started - now you are not, and you are penniless. Except that you do get loaned 15 Steem, so you could buy a small bag of drugs

What sort of response does an introduce yourself post get now? For a while in 2017 they got quite a few upvotes and you could make a few dollars. If you were a hot looking babe with a low cut top you could retire and buy a Lambo. Now nobody gives a toss about introduce yourself posts and you will only earn about 40 cents. So it's about the same as two years ago.

To get followers you still need to do posts and comments. Is it harder to get started? I think it's harder than six months ago but about the same as two years ago.

So what I think so far is that it's no harder to get started now than it was two years ago and everyone whining about how hard it is wouldn't have done much good two years ago either.

Yes I'm saying useless millenials need to stop moaning and pull their fingers out of their arses.

The next thing I've been wondering is why do people follow so many other people? Does that create return followers? I suspect not, but now I'm going to follow 1000 accounts and see if anything happens

Sort:  

So you're complaining about 25 year old's complaining?

Yeah, those whining millenials are destroying the planet and offending me...

I quit this post...too hard.

When someone follows me I check out their last post. If I like it I return the follow. I liked this post and your current experiment on how people interact on the platform. So I am returning the follow :) I also follow people from posts I've come across and enjoyed because they may write more content I may enjoy later. Not everyone posts every day, so I dont mind following many people and learning new things from the content they write. def490d5-d6c4-433d-b32b-ce8faf14eb79-5c11957b-cb69-432a-9bff-9d76967bd0b3-v1.png

Following you back - on this account I'm being different and doing a lot of following - on my usual account I keep it under 200 follows.

Let me know how long the getting 500 sp takes. :-)

Will do - I'm probably going to cheat and try using bidbots, but I won't just transfer the 500sp across.

That's a good idea, do what ever it takes, that is what I did, so I say - do as I do, not as I say. :-)

Just so I know later - I started this account 8/6/18 - I'll start taking screenshots of the rep and followers as I go

I am loving this experiment, it is nice to see someone having a go at it, at least then you can write a summary in 6 months with "facts".

I just tried to follow 1000 accounts - including all the ones you follow - but there seems to be a limit and I got stuck at 740 so will try again later

PS - did the rest the next day - made very little difference to number of followers so I don't know why people do that - takes ages to click on them all!

I have no idea why neither, it just clogs the feed up, so you can not see the posts and people you want to see, I never did it, I did make the mistake of following every single person that ever talked to me at one point, then deleted most of them.
Quality over quantity. :-)

IMG_20180522_104931.jpg

You got a 18.18% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @frot!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 12.41% upvote!
I was summoned by @frot. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87