When The Dust Settles

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Greetings Steemian's

I think we need to have a talk about dust. This is important. I hope I have your full, undivided attention.



School image created by Freepik


I'm not talking about chalkboard dust, or the dust that settles onto your furniture. I hope this doesn't come as a disappointment to anyone, but I really don't have any tips for keeping your possessions free from dust. Dust just sucks.

Today we're going to be talking about the dust vote rule on Steemit. "A penny for your thoughts" does not apply here. In fact, if your thought (comment/post) isn't voted to at least 0.03 cents, you aren't going to receive anything.

If you're new to Steemit, or you did not know this already, it may come as a bitter pill for you to swallow. You may be thinking about a few comments you posted, received a 0.01, or 0.02 cent upvote on, and felt some excitement to know you would be paid for your thought. If you weren't paying close attention to your payouts, you probably missed the fact that you were never paid for these upvotes, and your sense of excitement was an imaginary, unfulfilled farce.

Yup, this happened to me for the longest time. When I was a ultra n00b , I had no clue, and of course most don't when their new. By nature, most of us take things at face value. It's only my opinion that it's a bit misleading to show a post payout in 7 days with a 0.02 cent value. The face value here, is that you will be paid 0.02 cents in 7 days, but instead you get nothing. Perhaps a notation could be added to the payout that reads: "Threshold not met"? Or something to that effect, so that people understand.



People image created by Ijeab - Freepik.com (modified by futuremind)


You may be wondering why this is important to understand. It is important, because Steem Power (SP) is what gives your vote value, and that value is influenced by your Voting Power (VP). Simply put, the higher your VP is at any given time, the higher your vote value (based off of SP) will be.

If you are confused, it's ok. We will get through this learning curve. I promise you, once you get a fundamental understanding of SP and VP, and how they influence one another, it will come as second nature in your Steemit experience.

I recommend using https://steemworld.org/@yourusername because it has the works going on. The most important of your stats can be viewed through steemworld. Many steemians depend on this tool as a means to keep an eye on their account, on a daily basis (including myself).

A nice feature of steemworld, is that it has a sliding VP simulator, that tells you what the value of your vote is at any given time, based off your current voting power. This indeed is a valuable tool to have. For so many reasons. I am not going to break down all the reasons here, because I want to stay on track with what we are talking about. If you are ultra new, and don't have very much value in your vote, then you will be upvoting at 100 percent on Steemit, and I would not recommend using outside services to lower your vote, because at the new stage, your vote value is going to be so low, that lowering your vote below 100 percent, will not be practical in any given scenario.

So let's say you have a vote of 0.02 cents. I'm sure you are proud of this, and you should be. It takes work to gain Steem Power if you are not investing your own money. You have a nice little 0.02 cent vote, and every time you get a nice, thoughtful comment on your blog, you go ahead and upvote the comment showing your appreciation, and think to yourself "this is great, I get to pay someone 0.02 cents for their comment, and I am now, helping others on Steemit." Well the stark reality of this, is your not helping this person unless someone else upvotes the comment past the threshold, and furthermore, you are taking a hit on your VP for nothing.

I know that really sucks and all, but it's true.

So you really need to think about some different aspects here. Aspects like:

  • Should I vote to show my appreciation even though I am wasting my VP, and the receiving party gets nothing?
  • Should I vote comments on other blogs that have not received upvotes, knowing the odds are likely they will receive nothing?
  • Should I upvote my own comments, or posts if my 0.02 cents will bring the value past the threshold?

These three questions, I find to be of the highest importance when it comes to utilizing your vote.

I think they are all taxing questions, with many implications and variables to consider.

For the first question, I would say, if you don't have a 0.03 cent vote or better, then maybe you should not upvote any comments that have not received prior upvotes, if you cannot bump into, or contribute to the threshold amount. I know this thought may make you cringe a bit, but remember, you are actually doing yourself, and the receiving person a disservice by voting below threshold.

The second question is somewhat covered by what I just said. I know it sounds asinine, but if you have a 0.02 cent vote, and you read an amazing comment that has not received any votes, then maybe, you should really think about it..If the comment is that amazing, and you are absolutely sure that it will receive votes, maybe you should bookmark the page, and check back later. Now if you have a goal to rank the comment higher for visibility, and don't care that you're going to potentially waste your VP, then by all means, blast that comment up. I don't blame you!

The third question to consider, is a bit of a controversial topic. Many people frown on the self upvote. I personally am not a big fan of it myself. At the time of writing this, my stats reflect as 0.00 % self upvotes. I'm not bragging, or saying that it isn't okay to self upvote, but there are other ways to essentially self upvote, and that is also another topic of controversy, but lets stay on track here. I will share my personal thoughts on the topic of self upvotes. It has been something that I don't do very often, but I have altered my way of thinking ever so slightly, and have come to make a decision, that I will stick to. And the decision is this: If someone upvotes one of my comments to 0.01 or 0.02, and am going to self vote that comment past the threshold, because if I don't, I will likely not get paid for the persons upvote, and they, in turn, will have completely wasted their VP by giving me the vote.
(UPDATE) @wizardave was kind enough to share the link to an awesome new service, a service that makes it possible to not have to worry about your dust votes disappearing. Also utilizing the service makes it possible to save your VP for others. Awesome! Thanks for sharing @wizardave!!!


https://steemit.com/community/@dustsweeper/ann-introducing-dustsweeper-a-new-service-to-turn-dust-into-profit

Thank you for this service @dustsweeper!!!


If you want to get some more technical details from users that have a very respectable amount of knowledge on the topic, I would recommend starting with this post by @thedarkhorse

https://steemit.com/steemit/@thedarkhorse/your-2-cent-vote-is-worthless-the-real-deal-on-dust-votes


This post is quite amazing. @thedarkhorse really did a great job in explaining the dust rule, and also linked some other articles that tackle this topic.

This concludes my thoughts on dust votes. I really hope my efforts to explain things in a n00bish sense have helped. If you have any questions, drop them in the comments section, if I know the answer, I will be happy to help.

As always, Thank you for reading.

Much love,
@futuremind


futuremindbanner.jpg


Sort:  

Seriously. Heck, I just hit the amount of SP needed for 0.02 SBD votes (0.03 soon, give me two weeks or something). I can fully understand that this change is to reduce the amount that will be earned by spammers and somehow reduce server load (considering that they have to verify every single post payout there), but uh...minnows are going to have a harder time climbing up. I don't really like that.

But I will still upvote comments to push them up and leave bot comments down there. Probably with 1% power. Busy allows me to do so anyway. For exceptional comments...I'll just @tipu it :) if I ever get one.

Btw, I just found out that the $ value shown on posts are calculated in SBD. I thought that they were USD all this time :P

Right, this change won't solve the self-upvote issue. Some genius please give a brilliant idea to solve it...

P/s: Now scrolling through my replies history and making every single one of them worth more than 0.02, apparently the UI rounds up 0.017 to 0.02 so I mistook them...

You can also tipuvote comments, like tipuvote! 0.1 :)

Wow thanks :> That's a surprise bonus.

Ah, the minimum tipuvote is 0.2
Also you can use tipuvote! 0.2 hide (sorry for testing it on you:)

OK, hide works :)

Oh wow that's some real surprise now...0.09 SP in total! 😂 Thanks dude.

You just made out nice on these comments!!! @lilacse

Thanks for tipping my friend!!! @cardboard

Just need to check the minimum tipuvote amount, I think that for @cardboard it can be set low but for everyone else it's a higher value. Will check it out :)

How exactly do you utilize tipuvote? I tried tipu, but the min vote is 0.5.

Yeah, every user has to send at least 0.5 SBD for @tipuvote (1.05 SBD upvote). But you can also tell @tipu to upvote by using command:
tipuvote! 0.2
(just write it anywhere in the comments). Although I don't know at the moment if only I can send small upvotes like this or everyone. Feel free to check :)
Just remember you need a @tipU deposit first (send for example 0.1 SBD to @tipU with memo: deposit)

Amazing, thank you so much for the information, and the tip!

Sorry, the tip is higher then your deposit.
You can check your balance by sending 0.001 SBD to @tipu with memo: balance
(the minimal tip is 0.1 SBD)

Hi @futuremind! You have received 0.2 SBD @tipU upvote from @cardboard !



@tipU upvotes with 210% of the payment and shares 100% profit + 50% curation rewards with all investors, allows to automatically reinvest selected part of your payout and can do other cool stuff :) Click here for more info.

Seriously. Heck, I just hit the amount of SP needed for 0.02 SBD votes (0.03 soon, give me two weeks or something).

I'm very confident that you will exceed this in a nominal amount of time my friend.

But I will still upvote comments to push them up and leave bot comments down there. Probably with 1% power. Busy allows me to do so anyway. For exceptional comments...I'll just @tipu it :) if I ever get one.

That is not a bad practice. Minimal amount of VP to boost a comment up for visibility. I like the way you think. Also, no worries, as far as this comment goes, futuremind is going to make sure you don't need to add your own VP to get paid ;)

Btw, I just found out that the $ value shown on posts are calculated in SBD. I thought that they were USD all this time :P

It's taken me quite some time to fully grasp all of this myself. Honestly..

Right, this change won't solve the self-upvote issue. Some genius please give a brilliant idea to solve it...

I'm sure someone will solve it, conceptually. Whether or not the change will be implemented, is anyone's guess.

P/s: Now scrolling through my replies history and making every single one of them worth more than 0.02, apparently the UI rounds up 0.017 to 0.02 so I mistook them...

Good @lilacse!!! It will be worth the time spent!

Thanks for stopping by. I'll be stopping by your blog shortly. I have been having a difficult time keeping up with all my friends here. The struggle is real.

Much love,
@futuremind

Hi @lilacse! You have received 0.1 SBD @tipU upvote from @cardboard !



@tipU upvotes with 210% of the payment and shares 100% profit + 50% curation rewards with all investors, allows to automatically reinvest selected part of your payout and can do other cool stuff :) Click here for more info.

Thanks for your explanation @futuremind, You are helping me along for a while, and you are great in teaching steem users to get around the whole thing! great job :)

You're welcome! @vee2180

I'm really happy this is helpful for you!

Thank you for the compliment on this article, and thank you for stopping by!

The pleasure is all mine ;)

There's a new service bot to prevent dust called @dustsweeper.

I really appreciate the link here. This is quite a brilliant idea IMO. I just sent 1 SBD to clean up the dust!

Thank you friend.

I've already been upvoted by the bot. I agree. It is an awesome step forward.

  • I hate to think how many votes I've wasted...

For the longest time, I was not even aware of the dust vote rule, and I really thought I was receiving payout for all the 0.01 cent upvotes. Thinking about it now, I am sure its probably been hundreds of comments. Not a huge amount in the long run, but still we're talking a couple SBD's over the course of a few months. Every penny counts when it comes to Steemit!

Thanks for stopping by man. Nice talking to you.

Www.Steemworld.org was an amazing find, thanks for putting me onto that @futuremind.

You're welcome! @philippekiene

I'm really happy you are finding good use with steemworld!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63134.74
ETH 3052.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81