The numbers of my life: - 69 is more satisfying than 68

in #steemit5 years ago

69 works quite nicely for me. I enjoy it for various reasons but mainly because it's pleasing...To my OCD I mean. It has a kind of synergy, a balance, considering it looks the same from above and below.

The shape, or balance, of the number/symbol 69 also reminds me of the relationship between two things like the principle of yin and yang, that most excellent concept from around the 3rd Century BCE that all things actually exist as inseparable and contradictory opposites: Male-female, dark-light, good-evil, old-young for example. image source

How does the number 69 fit into the numbers of my life though you may be thinking, and you'd be right to do so. Read on...

Steemit has been a part of my life for a little while now. I started blogging on Steemit after I set up my account on the 13th of June 2017. I wrote an introduction post and away I went. Since then I have enjoyed writing and engaging with some of the other users on the platform. I have posted around 1.3 posts per day since first starting some 608 days ago and have watched my SP increase along with my reputation score. It is to that score I refer to in this post and why 69 qualifies as a number of my life. That's right, my reputation score hit 69 recently.

I'll be honest with you, I'm not really sure of the relevance, or importance, of the reputation score; I've seen users with high reputation scores posting very cursory and poor quality content, and users with much lower 'reps' posting some incredibly fine work. Based on that I don't think a users actual reputation score has much value, or could be a valid indication, when it comes to rating quality on the platform. Ergo, I do not know if reaching a score of 69 has any real meaning at all.

Am I suddenly going to gain higher payouts? Nope. Will larger accounts look at my reputation score and feel more inclined to read my blogs? Nope. Will my username be whispered respectfully in the hallowed 'halls' of Discord-chats due to my reputation score? Nope. So, what does it mean on the platform? Who the hell knows? Certainly not me.

Having said that, the number means something to me; Sure, just a small meaning but a satisfying one. You see, the fact that my reputation score has been working its way upwards means that I have been consistent and persistent as far as the platform goes. That's how I see it anyway. I have consistently put together blogs that have had some relevance and interest to other users seemingly and written as best I can from a punctuation and spelling perspective; Plus I have pushed through those periods where interest from other users, and votes, have been very low when others have simply chosen not to push through. Sure, I know people come and go, as does their interest, I'm not judging. I write for myself of course, for the enjoyment of it and other reasons similar to those mentioned in a recent post by a user I follow called @glenalbrethsen: Check it out here. Of course gaining a little crypto is a great little kicker too but for me the payouts are so low that I don't get much thrill from it; Not like I do with the actual writing, telling stories and engaging with others.

It's onwards and upwards from here with 70 being next on the agenda. Sure, I don't know what it means but when I level up to it, it will be after more blogging, and gaining the enjoyment of doing so, which is not a bad thing.

Remember back in the day, all those new users and their "Good post, my steemit friend, I vote you and you vote and follow me back. Keep posting my dear" comments? We don't tend to see it anymore thankfully but I wonder where all those multitudes of users I used to like following went. I followed many who posted amazing content only to disappear a few months later, again, I understand that people's priorities change and that for many it's about money and if that doesn't flow...Well, they disappear. I'm glad I'm not like that though and I find value in the writing and engagement aspect. I miss some of those users that disappeared, but life goes on...The blog goes on.

That's the number 69.

Sort:  

Good post, my steemit friend, I vote you and you vote and follow me back. Keep posting my dear

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha...That deserves a 100% vote...Not much money but still...🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes! It works! 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sorry about the double comment. Partiko was acting up. Congrats by the way!

Posted using Partiko iOS

When the prices turn around, we get to look forward to a new wave of authors complaining that established contributors get all the upvotes.

Yeah, I guess. You been keeping well?

Yeah, good mate. Very good. Last meetup we had a bit of a chat and decided to have another bbq, since it's been around 18 months since the last one, and a lot of people can't make Thursday evenings or pubs, or the city.
March 3rd in Civic Park, Mawson Lakes. I'll post more detail soon. Be great to see Faith again if you guys can make it.

Oh that's cool, yes 3rd March works well. We'll both be there. Tag me when more info is available. I'll throw in some $ to help out if required too mate. 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey, @galenkp.

It sounds like you and I look at the reputation score similarly—no, it's not an instant measure about what people in general have done here, but for those of us who have been trying to produce something others find of value, it does hold a significant amount of value to us. We can take some satisfaction from it because we've been putting in the work and the time.

And maybe that's all it really needs to be. With all else that goes on here that affects the reputation score, maybe personal satisfaction in a job well done is all there is. I do believe, however, that there will be others who will look at the score and know from whence it came. That, too, is a source of satisfaction, I believe.

So, I'll say congratulations on your reputation rank. I do believe you've been earning it every step of the way, and I'll look forward to seeing you reach the rarefied air of the 70s. :)

Onward and upward. And thank you for the mention.

Thanks mate, it's been a journey of ups and down that's for sure. The good thing is I've got to engage with a few pretty decent people along the way and as long as I keep enjoying it I'll stick around. I like to think I put something of value on the blockchain in general but the motivation is simple enjoyment which I still find. 🙂

You're welcome for the mention. Anytime.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 23 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 2 SBD worth and should receive 110 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Congrats on the milestone! I know I celebrate every reputation level I achieve as it feels like a mot of hard work to get to each one! Crazy to hear often how insignificant it has becone for some but at least I recognize its importance for me and those that are consistent to actively engage and share with the community.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks mate...It's been a tough slog. It's a good way to measure consistency I think.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.411 which ranks you at #2220 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 221 contributions, your post is ranked at #54.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

....And here some of us still are... trekking through this sludgy Steem waters.

I remember those commenters.. everyone is trying I guess and like you said the value was lost to most.

My human friends for example. I got my lady obvi but others like @summerstime and @docroulston havent posted in ages. Life does its thing tho and perhaps they will return to the blog. I see them in person more often HA

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76