Dolphin 541,753—Monthly Report: January

in #steemit5 years ago

And... January is gone

Yes, January flew by faster than normal for me, which is already fast enough, and now we're part way into February, which means it's time for me to produce another report post.

For those who might be seeing such a thing for the first time, this is my way of keeping track of how I've done on a monthly basis. I break down some data, do a little bit of analysis and then secure it on the blockchain.

Feel free to wander through it and comment on whatever you find interesting.

On with the show.

Dolphin 541,753.png

Quick Summary

Musing's nearly 1 million SP delegation was abruptly removed last month, but before it was, I managed to earn some more rewards before Musing via their curators stopped upvoting user content. Curie also came calling, which along with the low STEEM price (and thus higher STEEM/SP rewards), helped my 2019 to start with the fourth highest earnings of SP since I started 13 months ago.

Posts (no comments)—7

Same amount of posts for January as December, without all of the distractions. Even though I know I will need to produce more posts again, I've yet to do it. I'm not sure why. Maybe I'll figure it out before the report is over.

I feel like I've yet to find my place here when it comes to my voice. I can write about a lot of things, but not all of it holds my attention very long. I think that's part of why I'm not producing. Another piece of it is feeling like I should have a larger following than I do, but I can't control that, while not producing posts doesn't help any. There's probably more to it, too.

Comments—327

After heading downwards the last few months, the amount of comments I produce rebounded considerably. Some of those were answers to Musing (no more than 20, but probably less). It's good to see the number go back up for a change, even though it really should be higher.

Upvotes given—276/743

As hoped for, my upvotes increased significantly, though still very low compared to what I was doing various months last year. Still, I'm happy to see a jump of over 200% in the number of users upvoted for, and a 277% increase in total number of upvotes. Those numbers should be way higher, and I believe that's already happening for February.

Upvotes received—1309/1745

Again, significant jumps in the number of unique upvoters (from 519 in December) and total number of upvotes (874). This was largely thanks to the @curie curation trail providing 1,008 upvotes on one post. The next highest received 198 upvotes, this time led by @sndbox.

This means that the remaining five posts, plus comments, received the remaining 539 upvotes.

SP increase—188.341

This represents a drop of just under 18 SP from December. Since December was slammed with all kinds of life events and January not so much, I probably should be disappointed, but oddly, I'm not. As alluded to above, the bulk of that SP was earned in the first 12 days of January, prior to Musing halting its upvotes. After that, the curie and sndbox upvotes provided the majority of the second half rewards.

This is the second straight month SP has fallen since November's record. I do not yet have anything resembling Musing's earnings ability to replace it with. Nor do I anticipate it happening soon. I need to go back to producing more posts and comments and see what I can drum up that way, while being on the lookout for some other dApp that curates its content that I can readily participate on.

One thing to celebrate is the year over year difference from January 2018 to January 2019. For the former, I earned 55.470 SP, meaning I start this year up 300% over last year. That's heading in the right direction, I'd say. If I could continue at that clip, I'd generate another 1,000 SP in just over five months.

Total SP earned sits at 1,784.864, and total SP hit 6,301.390.

Highest single payout—4.883 SBD/13.033 SP

This payout came on a post titled Glass Half Empty Or Half Full? where I suggested there was more going on with the glass and its contents to simply derive a negative or positive outlook based on one's interpretation of a single moment in time.

Self-upvotes—0

Accident free yet again.

Contests—2

I ended up in the money twice from @abh12345's Curation and Engagement League's weekly contest, and also received varying amounts in bounties thanks to comments on those individual posts. Total SP earned was roughly 5 SP.

Flags given/received—1

The league of anklebiters (my title for them, not theirs) apparently came back, since I was hit on a comment. The damage to reputation and rewards were both negligible.

Reputation Rating—63

As postulated last month, I did tick up in reputation rating from 62 to 63. I'm believing it's going to be a fairly slow go from here on out, after moving over 4 points in less than three months while on Musing.

Investment—0

Aside from a significant increase in STEEM value that lasted for over a week, prices have been hovering in the $0.25-$0.30 range. I mentioned last month that I wouldn't be investing any more unless STEEM fell below $0.10. I'm holding firm on that. It's a rather big Catch-22 at this point, since no one really wants to see STEEM fall any lower than it has. Hopefully, we only have a few more months of this bear market, and we will see a sharp increase in price somewhere between April and July, if historical trends stay true.

Miscellaneous

I can't think of much more to say, other than I will continue to plug along and see what happens. There seems to be plenty being worked on all of a sudden as far as STEEM related organizations and projects go, and the anticipation of change is in the air. We shall see. In the interim, I'm still here, still looking to contribute and earn rewards.

Until next time...

Onward and upwards.

Sort:  

One of my favourite posts of the month - I do wish more would produce the same, but perhaps I may not be so interested in the update provided.

7 Posts is rather slim still i think and it could be here that a focus needs to be. It really does count for visibility and I think something every other day could be a goal. No pressure though :)

Around 5 SP from the contests/bounties, that's not so bad I guess. Hopefully at least the same again this month. Cheers!

I think you and I must be among the few that actually like reading reports (let alone making them) and I wholeheartedly agree—more people should do them. However, I know from past comments that most people are here to have fun, and if it feels like work, they want know part of it. I'm wired a little bit differently, I guess. I like to measure progress (preferably good, but I'll take the bad, too).

Yeah, I need to get back in the groove post-wise. I think, in addition to the things I identified in the post, I get hit with the, "what's the point" bug way too often now. It's been something I've battled throughout, but after I saw what I could do on musing, realizing that I never really got a full month put together (November was the closest), it just felt good. Now, it feels almost like back to the drawing board, though I do have quite a bit more now to work with upvote-wise than I ever did to start.

So, yes, I just need to get on myself to not only come up with content, but then follow through with it.

I like reports! I am really here for your fff post and I will comment there in a minute or ten. I got distracted by this title and came to look, so I am not lying! I am really @fitinfun and this is my new food blog so I am smarter than I look. Ahem!

My suggestion for posting daily is freewrite by @mariannewest. You use her prompt and write for 5 minutes and your post is done. It gets the creative juices flowing for me. I only write non-fiction but it still works to get a post out.

My goal is 2-3 posts a day on 2 blogs, so I have no time to waste :)

You have amazing stats. I take money out to live on; so I can never hope to do what you are doing, but my sp has been growing lately, so I cannot complain.

You're right, @fitinfunfood / @fitinfun, you don't have time to waste. :)

I kept that kind of a pace for a while, but just couldn't keep up. I've done the freewrites, too, and probably should get back into them, but anyway, the idea is to get motivated again and this time stay motivated.

At some point, the idea is to live off what's here, and sooner than later. The more immediate thing would be to at least power down enough to get the investment back, then go from there. STEEM values are around a $1 off from that happening, so in the meantime, I need to make a better attempt at things.

I'm glad someone likes reports. I'll keep that in mind. Good luck with your new food blog. :)

The new freewrite prompt just came out. 11 pm for me. so this is how I usually end my steemit day. Come to the third world like me. You could live off it now :)

Thank for the good wishes. The second blog is taking a lot out of me, but I'm glad I tried it. I did not have enough room on fitinfun and I should really talk about food. That is what people want to know since I successfully lost weight and it is the last thing I like to talk about so this forces me.

Yes, please keep reporting!

I like reading them more than producing them, but you know, the STEEM is there for the former and not the latter so much :)

The focus for me, and yes it's easier to say when the posts are supported, is that I work with the idea that STEEM will be worth much more in the future.

As it stand you'll take 2/3 STEEM for this post, 13 months ago, this was $12/18 worth. This subdues the 'whats the point' for me, a long term game with some slicing opportunities along the way.

I see you've posted again since this one - :D

That long term idea is about what keeps me in it as far as upvotes go. It doesn't help with a lack of engagement, though, nor with the sense that I'm not really accomplishing anything. I feel like I've been around long enough now that maybe I can express my opinions about things more, and maybe have it count for something, even if the whole world disagrees. So, the upvote element is definitely an issue (but as you say, STEEM goes up, problem in fiat solved), but there's the idea that folks are actually reading and taking in what I've written that's still hanging out there.

So, anyway. Nothing knew here. Just me having the same doubts/feelings/ whatever that gets so many of us here. I've been trying to fight through it, and for the most part, I'm succeeding. I plan to continue to fight through it, because I'm not really thrilled with the prospects of other alternative methods of generating earnings/income at this point.

Ah Glenal I always like your monthly summary’s and for some reason I always stumble upon them rather than look you up. I recommended musings to you back in the day and you said it wasn’t for you but you would look into it. It ended up being a cash cow for all of us for a few months . Once again I may have a solution to your post situation and a replacement for musing lost earnings. Dpoll is gathering pace and I actually prefer it already.it acts as a post also so two birds with one stone plus you get a new type of follower. . Have a look and see what you think. 😀😀. From @blanchy aka Santa Claus 🎅.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hey, @blanchy.

I very much appreciate the recommendation. There were one or two other people suggesting it, too, so you all got me headed in the right direction.

I'm still going to musing a few times a week to look for questions to answer, but those have slowed way down and the selection isn't as diverse. Still, I really enjoyed being able to provide an opinion and information there, along with the upvotes. It felt like I was accomplishing something, something I'm not sure I've felt blogging or just commenting.

I'll need to give dPoll another look, I guess. I don't tend to be initially impressed with these new dApps, but like musing, I'm willing to keep trying.

Hello @glenalbrethsen, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

I think it's a decent month.

Butttttttttttt...... Have you considered working out your earnings per word. Hehe just kidding.... or am I???? 😂

Uhhhhhh....no, I've never considered working out my earnings per word, @pjau. It's not like they're earth shattering to begin with, so I don't need to see that breakdown.

Actually, strike that. There's a caveat. STEEM at $0.29 USD isn't all that much of an incentive to break it down by the word, but $100 USD STEEM might. :) I'd feel much more motivated to find out then, I know!

Bring it on then.. lol

Great to see you continue to monitoring of progress. As our second year continues we bow have good metrics to compare to and strive to improve. The positive directionbis what matters!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Well, thanks, and I agree, @newageinv. I'm glad to see that I'm already ahead of last year in the first month, and while there's still plenty to go to see how it all measures up, there's more in place now to keep it going then there was starting out last year. So, it's a matter of keeping the momentum and seeing where it leads.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 8 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 6 SBD worth and should receive 155 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

@glenalbrethsen You have received a 100% upvote from @botreporter because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88