Leaving Social Media That Censors Me And Doesn’t Pay For My Content

in #steemit6 years ago

6BF96436-0A30-42AD-A0AE-F2EC5056C805.jpeg

My decision to leave social media was based on my repeated block from Facebook and censorship on their platform. Since joining steemit over a year ago I have been paid for my content and as a content creator it has been a major blessing in my life. Steemit has yet to censor or shame me as other platforms have and I am looking forward to severing my ties to other platforms come the end of the month.

Read my post from Facebook announcing my decision to leave and why:

FEA31C90-3B3A-4C29-8023-4A2F4C663F43.jpeg

During the last 30 days while I was in Facebook jail, I had time to examine my relationship with social media platforms and I have decided to leave Facebook at the end of the month.

Facebook has body shamed me time after time by removing tasteful photographs of me, while creating double standers with men’s rights on social media. Not to mention Facebook’s algorithm and lack of post reach.

I have decided to dedicate my time to platforms like SteemIt.com, which pay me for my content and don’t censor or shame me. Feel free to find me elsewhere. #LeaveLoudly

647B813A-F37C-4499-A850-538AE63C609B.jpeg

40B35FF9-986D-4FBB-B9C4-D856D29D33CA.jpeg

Sort:  

Remember, Facebook and the like don't actually delete everything when you tell it to. You must:

  • Explicitly revoke consent to the use of your data. It's as simple as putting "I hereby revoke consent to the use of my data" in the body of the ticket or email.
  • Explicitly invoke Article 17 of the GDPR (Right to Erasure). Again, it's as simple as plainly stating you are invoking it.
  • State that you are severing yourself from the Terms of Service AND releasing them for any obligation they held as a result; regardless of any damages, perceived or otherwise.

Just a warning, if you are not a EU citizen, you can still invoke the GDPR, however, if they refuse to comply, you have no recourse.
Additionally, there is a strong likelihood they will want proof of your identity. This isn't so as much for malicious purposes as it is them wanting to confirm it is actually you doing this.

Good for you! :)

Steemit is a revolutionary idea that will bring freedom and independence to many. What we have seen is just the start. When there are millions here a whole new economy will open up. Its been fun so far and I'm excited to see what happens next.

Good decision. Never trusted on Facebook.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70