I am Not Better Than A Cow

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Three years ago I decided to change my diet. I wanted to be vegetarian or at least follow the raw food diet. At the beginning It was very frustrating trying to find vegetarian or vegan food when out. I was living in Turkey at that time and everywhere you go, you see nice Kebabs and Fish. I wasnt really a big fan of green salads, so I had to order Smoked Salmon Fish or Sea Food Salads for a while. These were the only meals I could have out. I had also difficulties eating at home, because I cut many things out of my diet. Cakes, biscuits, meat, reduced cheese and eggs. My breakfast options were quite limited and still struggling until this day. It is very easy to have a cup of coffee with pastries or cakes, than a healthy oatmeal bowl.

vegetable-skewer-3317055_960_720.jpg

Why I chose to be vegetarian! A huge deal of shame and guilt that made me ascribe little value to myself. The big topic of the food industry and the animal abuse. Giving up animal products is not the hard part of being vegetarian. In such a short time I learned how to make different sauces, desserts and even spaghetti, using only fresh fruits and vegetables. There are many options if we are creative enough :)

For the longest time I used to think that is it difficult to survive without meat or eggs. But it wasnt that difficult to replace them with other new products. I started spending more time in the grocery stores reading the flipping ingredient labels, which can be sometimes embarrassing. I remember in one of the shops when I wanted to buy sugar-free jam and the shopkeeper had to tell me again and again that all his products are new. Actually he didnt understand what I was looking for. It is very difficult to maintain a proper diet, when 90% of the people in my country are least bothered.

asparagus-3304997_960_720.jpg

I have learned to listen to my body and hear what it needs. So I decided to keep it simple for the now. I don’t want to have to think hard about what I can and can’t eat, but took a decision. No red meat, no chicken, no salt and no sugar. I might become weak once in a while and eat seafood or occasionally eat cake. I dont like eggs that much, so I will have it once in a while. The real struggle is with cheese and yogurt, because I dont find any other replacements at the moment.

Is it good to be a vegetarian! This question seems simple to answer on the surface, but is in fact more complex than you realize. I feel healthier, more energetic and have a better skin than in the last years. I am not trying to convince you to become vegans, but sharing my experience :)

Image Source: www.pixabay.com

DQme43f1gVRkXJUiGKU4EQTBe9TgSPmft6AxuPFpp8aQRug.png

up.PNG

Sort:  

Looks like a real treat @hanen

I think what you are doing is fantastic and yes those poor animals suffer much due to human's needs, I really hope you can convince more people to try your died in Turkey @hanen

It is very difficult to convince people change their diet, even if it is for their own benefit :(

Wow.. great beautiful food.. I appreciate this post..all the best..

Source
Generic comments could be mistaken for spam.

More information:
The Art of Commenting
Comment Classifications

Thank you :)

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is out of the conceptual phase and growing each day. We would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

We are almost ready to Launch the first Decentralized Recipe and Food Blog Website that will utilize the Steem BlockChain and its community to reward contributions by its members.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply “No Vote” if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

It is more healthy to eat raw food. I did some research in the past about this type of diet and hope to start one day. Thank you for sharing your experience 😁

Indeed and keeps you young as well :)

Good going in bettering your diet.

It is a big struggle, but trying my best :)

It looks very good to see the pictures of the food

Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27