The Hobbit Witness

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Come on a journey with me...

I've dipped my toes in the wonderful witness water.
Hobbit Witness.jpg

Did I say wonderful water?

Here's a better description:

I stuck my face into a red ant hill of servers and nodes and they're biting my eyeballs.
29906170001_5480578493001_5480563848001-vs.jpg

But it's been beautiful.
In the same way a savage workout hurts, but you love it.

It's like when you scale a mountain in the scorching sun.
It's all worth it when you summit and sit for a scenic lunch.
2240db0181788ed775c758d2236e003f.jpg

I've met kind souls who've helped me on my journey.
Like Samwise... others like Gollum.
Funny thing is I've barely left the Shire.

Actually, I just got sent back to my hobbit house to look at the map again.
shutterstock_714806110-554x414.jpg

Here's where I am.
I've nearly set up a witness node 1000 times. (Rough estimate)
I would guess I set up more near-witness nodes than anyone in the month of July.
stopped at 70%.JPG

I kept failing. I tried everything. I almost wore out Google with searches.

Finally, I realized I running the wrong server.
I somehow miscommunicated my order at the VERY 1'ST STEP.
AHHHHHH!
186529f3a89208a40c6f0ac3241d7619.jpg

That's basically like Frodo forgetting the ring at home, then running all the way to Rivendell before realizing.

The bright side. I'm home at the Shire.

Ready to roll again. I'm waiting for my new server.
I'm eagerly anticipating taping my eyelids open and jamming my face back in the anthill ASAP.
frodo.jpg

I've found that anything in life that is good is hard.
The people you meet and the things you learn about yourself along the way are the real treasure.

Thank you, witnesses, @brandonfrye, @sapphic, & @timcliff for helping me carry the ring this far.
I really appreciate all your time and support.

@brandonfrye has exchanged hundreds of messages to help along the way.

The best thing I've learned about witnesses is how hard they work behind the scenes to support your blockchain and each other.Council_of_Elrond_-_FOTR.png

They're an impressive group of people, working tirelessly to maintain Steemit.
I'm honored to add my part.
Cheers,
Brandon @happymoneyman

Sort:  

Just approved both @happymoneyman and @brandonfrye for witnesses, keep up the good work.
All rewards from this comment will go to charity

I really like your project @humanheart. you have my witness vote.

PS, my witness is not up yet. Im waiting for my new server right now

When it is up, you will have my vote for sure. I have a few spare votes. and if you don't mind, please take a look at my witness thread. BTW, I am the tech guy behind @humanheart witness server. :)

@justyy has made many tools, you can have a look at them here: https://helloacm.com/tools/steemit/

I noticed your witness isn't up yet but you can count with my vote :D

Lol, I love the analogy... and your determination! And I'm sure you're right; you've setup more witnesses in the last month than anyone else. The good news is that you'll be fluent in command line and going through the setup process so you'll be able to help a ton of people in the future. I bet as soon as you get your new server you'll have it setup in a matter of hours. As always, let me know if you need anything. 👍

Absolutely, I'll be on point helping other people get witnesses set up.

I'm fingers crossed that my when my server is set, I'll just flow through it. I'm excited.
Thanks again for your help along the way. I'll let you know if there are any hiccups

Ouch but at least you have a ton of experience now haha! You'll have my vote once you're set up...

Thanks Scott. I appreciate it. I hope to see you at the meetup in SF. That would be fun

Hey great job and great post, there is a plus side to all this, which is you will have gained a lot of experience, painful experience, but worth it.

Once you get your server sorted. You will be running in no time. 😊

Looking forward to you joining the ranks

Absolutely. Struggle has it's benefits. Thanks for your help

howdy sir happymoneyman! wow, that's brutal. but I laughed all the way through it because of the brilliant analogy! Next try will be a breeze compared to your first one!

haha yea, it was actually a nice vent being able to write in LOTR fashion

howdy back @happymoneyman! well sir, it was such a darn good post, I'm glad we have such skilled and clever people going for Witness!

I tried to add you as a witness vote but steemit won't let me.

Cheers, thanks a lot for you support. My node isn't up yet. Hopefully soon. Once it's up you'll be able to vote

Whoops, guess the ring have been delivered to Mordor quite yet.

Posted using Partiko Android

Not an easy task to accomplish but you did it all the best to you hahah loved this witness post lol the most creative one

thanks @blazing. I had fun writing this one

wow very nice narrated its funny but clever . Glad you find the solution for the misunderstanding ... Keep up the good works .More and more Success to You , and to all steemians

I needed to turn some fun angle on the situation. It helps me stay light

Hello @happymoneyman, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Awesome. Thanks for the honor! I appreciate it

just voted!!!! thanks for all you share!!!! i found you on youtube a long time ago...and have learned so much from you. please keep it coming!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09