The War of Attrition

in #steemit6 years ago

I find this interesting that the portrayal of all the worlds evil is so stereotypical. When in truth I don't feel about evil that way. I find that the evil of this world is far more pervasive and dilute. It's not concentrated, its spread all over and leaves behind only a very faint smell. It sits their and rusts the good away even as we watch.

Feeling a little overwhelmed by my own thoughts I also wrote this poem as a comment for @tarazkp's post but on his suggestion, made a post out of it. Of course I added a few more lines to it.

There was a war which was fought
With might and blood, but it was lost

So the plannings began anew
This time it was blood, bone and sinew

Then again the battles ended
This time too the attackers were fended

There is something fearsome about evil
It is persistent at each and every level

This time it took another path
It took measures to hide its wrath

It entered our houses like a Trojan horse
This time it was a battle of attrition of course

Then came a sleeping haze
People were awake but their eyes in a glaze

It was like a beautiful dream
Freedom, democracy and all that cream

Yet no happiness was to be found
Crimes happened and yet law remained bound

Laws were made to deliver justice in a mere trickle
Just give them enough so they don’t turn fickle

Then when someone tries to wake
Its all a bad dream just have some cake

cd7b19bd-f4fe-45fd-86a8-126889a6fb2d.png

Sort:  

Does it feel good to write some poetry?

I won't say 'good' as much as 'relief'. Kind of when you have something important you must do and without finishing it you can't concentrate on your next task

Wow. I can relate to this completely. It reminds me of the time I wanted to cry, but I can't. So I decided to write a song to express myself and I can literally feel the weight disappearing into the shadows.

Something like that ............... but sometimes it's a bit more compulsive. Kind of like- had get it out of my head now or it'll keep rattling around there without rest.

PS: Sorry for the late reply man. Took this weekend off.

No, I feel it. I've been slacking on Steemit lately. I've been so busy working that i'm tired all the time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72