How to increase A post's payout Organically: Dtube got you covered.

in #steemit6 years ago

newposting.png

Finding ways to see your post's payout increase without contributing to "bid-bots" can be a hard task, but not impossible. This series is to target those who still wish to go the good old organic way and get payouts through other means than bidding on bots. I will research any means possible through these episodes to optimize a posts payout without having to gamble your precious steem on bidding

Why do I embrace the idea of fully organically posts?


It gets harder and harder to differentiate what the community thinks is a good post and what the authors thinks is a good post. Everyone can look at their work and say "Yeah, that should at least be 100 dollars". By promoting other opportunities for people to take different paths it is my hope to move people away from this market and start growing their account and posts in an organic and healthy way for the platform. While I do believe promotions has its uses for special scenarios, it is far from necessary for the average steemian

Without further a due let's proceed to the real part of the article, In each article, I will go into depth about 1 new opportunity to find extra payouts as an organic author!

image.png


This episode: Dtube


Since Dlive decided to leave us with our pants down many people are starting to look into Dtube. While Dtube does come with some disadvantage such as they are taking 10% beneficial from your post(more on that later) there's actually a good chance when you are posting a video that @dtube will come around with a big vote for your video.

Now, lets first clear up the 10% beneficial that dtube "steals" from your post, what is it used for? 10% might feel like a high number but before the hardfork they were actually taking 20% of your posts payout.

Before you go crazy, no, this is not some centralized tax system for using their platform. According to dtube, the 10% goes to reward curators, something that is heavily underrated on the original steemit. What they are trying to do is give curation more value by taking from the posts and give to the curators. It is actually an interesting experiment although I am not sure how well it is working out for them.

Personally, 10% is not that much when you think about it. But it can be quite a lot if your posts get high payouts. So paying for bidbots to vote on your Dtube videos could be a very bad investment for you(luckily we are not using bidbots here, are we?)


So why on earth would I post on Dtube?


Because of the vote they give. While you will not receive a vote every single time you post a video, it is indeed to my own experience relatively frequent. The vote you receive is usually around 20 dollars worth. I believe it is actually close to 40 or 50% of the time that I have received a vote from @dtube on my videos. (just look at my latest one, that one received a vote). Trust me, when you get those vote you forget all about the 10% loss.

I think it is at the point where Dtube has been giving some of my best payouts. Surely it is a bit of a dice roll if you get it, but still, it is a great way to mix up your articles with some videos instead. Allowing you to produce more content, get a bit more creative and possibly get a huge vote your way.

Nonetheless, a great way to boost your posts Organically


Other great ways to increase yours post's payout organically


A tasty tasteem

Posting on busy.org for extra reward!

Steemmonsters MONSTER vote

SBI - for you and your friends

Partiko - Redeem your points for votes

Are you using User Authority?

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing how to increase post payout.

Yes, you’re right @holm, Dtube promotes post payout, but I think that they care more on videos that has the author in the presentation, I’m saying out of experience because I’ve tried so many times, using Dtube without any upvote.

Thanks for sharing.

Yours @maxdevalue

I have little knowledge about what they choose to promote and how, but maybe the answer is hidden somewhere:)

Posted using Partiko Android

You know, I really want to use DTube, but every time I do, I get an unknown error which really annoys me because the upload speed is really slow and I have to upload again once the error occurs. I never know it if is going to work or not so I end up using youtube.

Obviously other people are not having trouble, so I wish I knew what is going on. Have you ever had this issue? It happens to me 9 out of 10 attempts.

I found the solution for me. I had that error for months and finally figured out by asking here on Steemit what is wrong:

You need to log out and manually log in. (DONT USE steemconnect). This completely removed this issue for me and I am sure it is the same case for you. Try it out mate, I am almost certain it will fix your problem!

Ah, I had seen that method before. But I kept logging back in with steemconnect. Ugh. I hate putting my password directly into different sites. Seems so insecure.

Use your posting key. Even if people would misuse it they cannot access your wallet :)

Posted using Partiko Android

So glad to see someone looking into the other options for growing votes. I feel that if we look at trying to help those who are not using bots, we can prove that many small votes on content of value can create a substantial payout as well as fostering interaction between users. The WeKu platform currently doesn't allow bots and there are a number of upset users who have tried to launch bots and been stopped.

bidbots can become a great market for the steem blockchain but currently it feels like the wild west. I hope it can be integrated a bit better in the future without harming too much the manipulation of eg. the trending pages.

Until then I am doing my best to support those I feel worthy and try to prove a point that we don't need bidbots if we really try. :)

If you read the small print in the DTube discord channel faq (not on the website I will point out) older videos are periodically deleted to make room on the server.

My videos from June this year (3 months ago) are now pictures and clicking on them result in an infinite spinning circle but no video. I did get paid well for these, but the content us gone from the public record. This isnt just me, find any popular DTuber and you'll see their work gone.

This brings a second question. How distributed are these if they are served centrally and can be deleted centrally. This sounds like a steem based YouTube to me, still potentially prone to censorship.

Lastly, I'd point out that in prior interviews (in 2017) it was claimed that the fee was going to pay for server space at $0.044 per GByte per month. Where did this money go? How is it they delete videos only 3 months old, and then reduce the fee to 10%? Are they planning to make the video lifetime even shorter? What is their business model? They must have a plan to justify reducing the fee to 10%, I'd love to see it.

Until they fix the issue of centralization and permanence of the videos, I cannot justify putting my work into preparing, recording, and editing videos that have a 2-3 month lifetime. I am investigating migrating to BitChute, or elsewhere, that the content is not centrally stored and managed.

Posted using Partiko Android

A valid point and something I also look down upon. But you also have to remember with the current steem system we are only getting paid out within the first 7 days and since I'm mostly focusing on how to increase the payout of a post dtube is still a solid choice.

But I agree, if you put a lot of work into some videos, you might also put them into YouTube instead at this point where they will remain forever:)

Posted using Partiko Android

I find it questionable that DTube us advertised distributed and persistent, but apparently is not. The discord faq wasn't updated until May, and there is nothing on the website to indicate the limitations.

I actually came to Steemit in April because of DTube -- I was looking for an alternative to YouTube. I didnt start using discord until much later.

I think we also have to ask what value the app adds to Steem. Sure, there is the initial financial transaction, but in the long term DTube is going to leave a stream of posts with no content.

Posted using Partiko Android

I posted quite a few times with DTube and never had any vote from it. From what I noticed is that high rep users almost always get it. I will have to wait more I guess... On mobile it's not even working. At least for me, but for the ones getting upvoted it's definitely a good way to grow your account organically. For me it wasn't...

I'm not sure how the votes are handled out, I merely speak from my own experience that a lot of times I have received their vote.

But it is true that the vote is at 15% so there's no way they can vote everyone.

Maybe check out some of my others ways ai found to grow your account more reliably, as I mentioned in the post, this one can be a bit of a dice roll

Posted using Partiko Android

I think the payout may be related to your SP and how much you have. I wonder how long they will hang around, now they have announced they are ditching STEEM.

Wait what?! ALSO Dtube are leaving?! no way. are you sure you are not talking about dlive?

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah... sorry.. dLive were the guys who didn't take any money of us for the service... they are the leavers.

Hi @holm!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.190 which ranks you at #2815 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 2814).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 237 contributions, your post is ranked at #28.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85