What would you do if you had 1,000,000 steem power?

in #steemit6 years ago

All this power and wealth, right at your hand to use them however you please for the sake of the steem blockchain. But with such amount of steem power, the responsibility is huge. People would be looking at your every move, evaluating and judging. A life of a whale seems to be tough.

f3c2375f231547c79fde798d860550ac.jpg


What I would do


You know that feeling when you are not feeling worthy of such responsibility? I think I would feel that. In my dreams, I think having so much steem would be awesome, but in reality maybe I really just would not know what to do with it. I am happy being a small dolphin doing casual dolphin stuff.

All these people that would probably come and ask for delegation for different projects would just be overwhelming. I guess starting to educate myself on all projects that are running on the platform and see what once would bring the most value to steem in the long run. Maybe giving a nice chunk of delegation to projects like @helpie, maybe even start my own curation program? also voting for certain witnesses would be more important than ever. (maybe help some of the real heroes such as @fulltimegeek getting into top 20.)

I believe I would give the most attention to the people trying to promote an easier way of networking and engagement between people, and not so much about auto-voting. Are there any of those out there yet? or is it all just auto-voting programs?

Who knows? maybe the most selfish part would show and I would just use my steem power for my own evil intentions. (I hope not lol). I believe having this much steem power suddenly changes the game a lot, you don't just help a few people, you try to help those who are having bigger plans to bring value to the platform.

In all honesty, think I would be a horrible whale. I don't believe I think big enough to do what some people have been able to do on this platform.


What would you do?


So what would you do? do you have some amazing projects in mind that could possibly help the steem blockchain to grow and prosper? or would you just upvote yourself to more riches?

Lets dream together!

-holm

Sort:  

1,000,000 SP represents over 10X my current net wealth, which is in USD. I am about 20 years from retirement.

It would be unwise for me, or anyone, to invest over 25% of their savings in highly volatile markets.

Therefore, my first act would be to withdraw 750,000 as fiat currency and invest in traditional businesses. Having a physical product is important, especially as I am looking to retirement.

With the remaining I would (1) invest in a wide variety of DApps. The DApps must be truly distributed and preferably aligned with open sourse standards. I may also work to port existing Apps to the Steem blockchain. For example, BitChute is a torrent based video sharing site. Combining their technology with Steem would be a good pairing. (2) I would invest in an advertising campaign to boost the visibility of steem. This would be an off Stermit investment, for example advertising in MSM such as television and news sources.

Posted using Partiko Android

Give me first and see what i will do

Really don't know what to do with to high amount of SP. I'm starting to understand the plataform

First off, I'll go on vacation. Lol. True, I'll rest from all the hard work I've been going through since 38 days ago just to raise to a decent level on authority. Then, I'll start sharing the wealth with newbies encouraging them, I can give a newbie $1000 upvote, I bet that'll change some lives. Lol. Oh! Don't let me stay in this dream. Lol

Posted using Partiko Android

Imagine some random guy getting a vote like that lol. It was almost like that in the beginning. I remember I got a few votes worth over 100 dollars and damn it felt good.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well. I am over the moon this week after I bought 100sp for 1 steem. I think its insane how much more impact I can have with a 100 sp. So with a million sp I would properly delegate half of it to @treeplanter and make weekly contest for minnows to win delegations for 1 week or so. To help more people bring value to steemit :D

Posted using Partiko Android

I would sprinkle my Steem Power all over the little people. Then I would laugh menacingly as I watched them all clamor to gather it up in their poor little hands.

I would write 1 liners about farts, or scribble something in Microsoft paint, then post it. Then I'd upvote myself 100%. I'd also upvote all of my comments 100% no matter how short, pointless or asinine. I'd have contests where I'd make people tell me how amazing that I am. Whoever said the most flattering thing would get a 2% up-vote from me, because I love the flattery.

haha.. but seriously, I probably would be the same, just with bigger votes. If anything I'd feel a greater responsibility to curate good quality since my votes would carry so much more weight. Being a whale puts you in a position to really guide the conversation on the Steem platform.

Honestly, I feel that it is a real shame that there are so many whales on here who do not make good use of their power.

The shame is there's some truth to it. I recently saw this guy taking some stupid photos of some mushrooms or something and someone in the chat was completely flattering him telling how amazing those pictures was.. I was like l, hu? then I checked the SP and things made sense.

lol.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hehe, yeah I see that all the time. I spent a lot of time confused when I first joined Steem.

I'll check my feed and will upvote the posts that I like.

Delegate to someone.

Sell votes.

Posted using Partiko Android

i will give upvotes to everyone without thinking about anything ;)
giphy (2).gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09