Steemit growth hacks: Voting, flags and commenting rules!

in #steemit6 years ago

I have been on steemit for 318 days. In the beginning I had many problems finding answers to questions, to find how I can grow my account. there are not so many people trying to teach and educate others!

let's do this, I have a part of this duty!

Meet-Steemit-–-The-Social-network-for-content-creation.jpg

Voting

before HF20 (the latest hardfork) things were a bit different. the current rules are:

  • when you vote a post before it's 15 min old, part of your curation reward will be burnt for the good of system. well, if you are looking forward to maximize your rewards, don't vote before the post is 15 minutes old
  • don't vote posts which you are skeptic or sure, that they use copied content or plagiarism; cause after your vote, the post may get down votes by the cleaners. so your vote will be a waste.
  • don't vote to obtain followers or votes back! please do not expect other to vote, because you voted them! I personally don't do that... neither do many others!

Flags

I have received three flags in my entire steem life. I share them here with you:

  • I got a flag from some famous ID ;) because I commented on some other famous ID which I didn't know none of them in that early times :D funny; I know! well, here is not much to learn from. just stay aside of flag wars and try to understand the culture of community. it's like a high school and there are some cruel boys who don't treat you well and behave irrational!
  • I got a flag from a whale, because I asked him to see my last post. he said the post I have promoted to him, was irrelevant to his post, which I commented below. well, he was right, but still cruel! he was an expert in that field anyway and I wanted his feedback... I stopped any form of promoting my posts in comments after that flag!
  • I got a 100% flag because I removed my 1 UScent vote on a post by a whale!

Comments

Commenting can help your account grow, more than even posting. because you may comment below posts, which will be visible more than your account. so the comment will bring more attention than your own posts.
But comments are a bit dangerous to be used in such way! I try to tell you some facts:

  • NEVER ever spam in your comments! NOBODY likes spam! nobody I know, at least!
  • write meaningful comments. prevent great post, good job, ... write something which shows you have read the post and contribute with the author. steemit is about engagement. I don't like to engage with bots! I need real people!
  • some users (not definitely me) don't like people who comment without UPVOTING them! spot these users and don't read or comment their posts! yes! don't even read them! any meaningful comment should be welcome. I don't need people who only vote me; I need people who contribute, so I can learn from them.
  • don't upvote your own comments, excessively! I don't say don't do that ever. I personally try to keep my self voting rate below 15% this is something completely personal. but I can tell you an account with 50% self-votes, is a bit disgusting to me!

enjoy your STEEMIT journey and feel free to ask or comment your advice so I can learn from you.

Sort:  

Easy to understand, and great advice. I don't get upvoting, but I'm new. I just would feel uneasy about upvoting myself. Just sounds wrong.

in an emergency you put on your oxygen mask first before helping others with theirs. might not have any relevance to your post but thought id post it anyway :)

Great metaphor. Reminds me of a scene in the film Black Widow (1987)

Thank you for your sharing about commenting and flag. It is value advice for newbie like me.

thanks for reading and dropping a line 🙇‍♂️

This is a really good. especially for new users on steemit. May I ask how can my followers grow on steemit then if I don't ask people to follow back

hi, thanks for your comment.
organically your followers grow if you post good comments, write good posts and deposit (invest) more in your wallet.
this works, I promise you 😉

Being new this really helps and thank you for that! I wonder if there are any other pitfalls others know of? I literally joined 4 days ago and love this platform. Just not quite sure how to best benefit the community yet.

great to hear that, thank you for letting me know.
yes there are more! we should share what we know. but not many do. anyway, I checked your blog, seems you are active, but I like to recommend you go to subjects deeper.

for example your "do you trust banks" topic, needs more in depth info and data to share, to make it interesting. the subject is VERY interesting for me, since it's the reason most of us opt in crypto!

This post has received a 3.87 % upvote from @boomerang.

Thanks for the advice. It is very helpful for the newbies. But I can't believe that old high school guys are there. Yes some people never grows up. Steemit is difficult to understand , especially how to promote the post , especially when you don't have no of followers.

Posted using Partiko Android

thanks for your comment. yes it is more difficult comparing to facebook or Instagram. but it will ease once your account got more fame. 🤞

These are good advice. Thanks for sharing! ;D

thank you my friend 🙇‍♂️

Thanks for sharing! Still trying to figure out how all of this works. But i learn more every day :)

that's exactly the way, learning everyday 👍👏👏👏

Great insight for new users! I hope that those entering now can use this advice to have better expectations on how the platform works! Thanks for being a leader in the community.

thanks for your comment. never think of myself as a leader in steemit, I'm still a beginner here, but if I can teach others anything, won't hesitate to do so 🍀🙇‍♂️

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11