Is This What Steemit Has Become?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

Steemit: where the voters are bid bots, the content is plagiarized, and spam dominates the feed.

Is this what we want? Will we wait for Steemit Inc. to hardfork us into more chaos? No. There is another option. Instead of watching this community swirl down the drain into altcoin obscurity, YOU can do something NOW to help reverse the trend!

drain-2454608_640.jpg
Or we continue on this path. Image credit

Do good

Support original content creators with upvotes and constructive commentary. Follow @Curie and other communities that promote quality content. Maintain the standards you want to see in others by offering proper attribution to all non-original content.

Fight evil

Downvote any and all abuse you see. Join @steemflagrewards, @steemcleaners, and other efforts to police the community at a grassroots level. Do not support bidbot schemes, resteem scams, or whale nonsense.

steempope.jpg

Sort:  

As for self-voting, they really need a reinvest function for people who just want ROI.

This means that they exchange 20% of their daily VP into pending rewards without having to post anything. Wouldn't you like to see less shitposts from some of the whales?

There is already a fat ROI for just holding SP, I think it's 8.5%, I mean anything more is ridiculous. I'd rather them try to game the system and get burned.

Posted using Partiko Android

Shhh don't tell them about that 8.5%, they will jerk harder.

I think first we need to understand that none of the other social media platforms are any different. Rather, they are worse. People talk about being shadow-banned but no we are all shadow-aded. People pay to boost their post and get seen on every platform. I have almost 5000 friends on facebook and over 2000 followers on twitter and I am lucky to receive 2 or 3 likes. I ran a test the other day and didn't include any links in a complete drivel post on facebook and then I got 25 likes. Still not getting in a lot of feeds.

Are you on twitter? I like Elon Musk and look forward to him appearing in my feed and twitter knows it and so if someone boosts a post and has any connection to Elon Musk, at all ... they also get in my feed. Do you know how many times they have suggested I follow potus. Like I don't know who he is and just need twitter to tell me so that I can follow him. Then there are the upfront ads. Our feeds are nothing but cleverly designed classfied columns.

You know who doesn't get in my feed very often ... the people I follow. The people I follow on steemit ... always in my feed.

So I says why not just boost a post. I got six bucks. Did so on facebook. It was link to a youtube video. Got 100's of likes and not a single view on my youtube video. Hmmm? Why? That's a thinker. Because the views were all botted and/or inauthentic. I not saying facebook did this directly but rather knowingly took advantage of what are known as click farms. Kim Kardashian and Donald Trump don't have all those followers either. That was in mainstream news.

The bot situation isn't worse on steemit. It is better. I don't use them. I choose to create quality posts and network with like-minded individuals. But if I wanted to, they are there and open to everyone with no smoke and mirrors attached and I can follow the trail back to see who else used them.

Steemit is the best out there and we need to start singing its praises. I don't receive huge payouts. I am a minnow. I do receive lots of engagement and upvotes from larger accounts however. You have to invest both time and money to receive huge payouts on a regular basis. Botting is a short cut to a high rep score but not steem power or engagement. But it might help you build a following of newbies.

The system here is not perfect but it is a far cry better than anywhere else. Let's keep improving the block chain; make it even better. But slamming ourselves all the time is not good for business. No other social media platform is immune to the ails of greed. They are just better at hiding it.

I absolutely agree. Steem has issues, but I believe they will get fixed.

Meanwhile, people who are jumping ship, I have to wonder... Why? And where?

"Steem is broken! Time to go back to equally if not more broken alternatives!"

I don't know, I'll never understand this mentality.

Posted using Partiko Android

There are other blockchains making promises as well. But they have yet to produce much. It should be understood that what we have now took time to build and these new platforms will not be trouble free. Much better to keep building and nurturing steem, if you ask me.

You know who doesn't get in my feed very often ... the people I follow. The people I follow on steemit ... always in my feed.

That's right, one of Steem's best features is under-emphasized.

Posted using Partiko Android

It is the squeaky-wheel syndrome and human for people to emphasize what they would like to see improved but we need to take a more conscious, balanced, and business-minded approach.

I just don't take any "social media" very seriously. It helps me not get upset.

it's sad but true. like dan said steem is running out of time. or was it steemit. unless something drastic happens soon they're both fucked.

'we' can doing nothing about it.

The guards protecting the hen house are the foxes

I gotta be honest, this attitude is so self-defeating it hurts.

We absolutely can do something. We outweigh the "guards" & "foxes".

Downvoting, proposing hardfork features, calling out abuse, etc.

Trust me, this platform has features built into it to prevent shitty behavior. It's only when people start giving up, that the system fails & the abusers win.

Don't let them win. Continue fighting 💪 :^)

Posted using Partiko Android

...you do not - and cannot - 'outweigh' anyone on a stake based system - when the whales/ a few individuals, own over 75 % of the stake. (through various accounts)
Math.

this platform has features built into it to prevent shitty behavior.

I checked this account for the last 8 months - and seem totally legit.
The foxes are the guards...
https://steemit.com/art/@andrianna/spaminator-unreasonably-remove-rewardson-day-7-so-that-no-one-saw

@lucylin, there is more to the story and I was skeptical at first. Think the way JF went about things may have contributed to that but I think an unbiased look at the evidence holistically (including tx memos, inconsistencies in their story etc) reveals a credible link to the yanik ring.

This ring siphoned off so much value from the reward pool employing false pretenses in the substance of the work (passing off recreated works as original creations without attribution).

I do believe @steemcleaners is justified in the action taken when all information has been considered. It's far too easy to manipulate rewards so we simply cannot let people get off easy when attempts are made to fool the community.

Posted using Partiko Android

75% of the stake, is taking into consideration all whales, right? I personally don't think that all whales are bad apples. So I'd be more interested in seeing the ownership of everyone, including nice whales, against that of the truly shitty accounts.

As for the @andrianna case, I have not yet looked into this. But, if she truly can send proof that she's not a plagiarist & is real, then I wonder if simply tagging @themarkymark & @pjau here could start a dialog to help resolve this? [ sorry, these are the only 2 accounts I know that deal with this stuff, I feel like @steemcleaners probably gets flooded with notifications ]

Join the bandwagon why don't you

ivil whales

#henhousefoxed

Posted using Partiko Android

hahaha

Yea, I suppose there are primarily 2 bandwagons currently traveling around here. Those who think Steem is destined to take over the world, and those who think it's destined to fail miserably.

I'd like to think I'm not in either, as bandwagons are fundamentally toxic to partake in. I do recognize that Steem has issues, I simply believe that they are able to be dealt with & fixed.

Call it logic, faith, or bandwagon-stupidity. I suppose it's all subjective :^)

Posted using Partiko Android

it's all subjective

You just committed the cardinal sin as far as @lucylin is concerned, brace yourself for some psychoanalysis from the man, the legend himself: postmodernism, postmodernism everywhere.

But yeah, that dude is very very sour (and really vague,, vaccous and trite) because he thinks that his posts (which he most likely regards as pillars of philosophy) are worth at least a thousand dollars (his own words) , and if

ivil whales

Weren't so ivil they would have rewarded him accordingly. He's not very social media type, his one and only friend on here is a quack (@frot) like none other who tried to smear shit on Julian Assange not long ago, and as far as I can tell all he is interested in, like his friend, is spreading rumors and fud, and his not very keen on digging deep into anything, I think he still has no idea how steem functions but that doesn't deter him from fud fud fud.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey @steemflagrewards, this pimp over here thinks what you're doing amounts to nothing.

Posted using Partiko Android

Reading is hard. I'd give @lucylin a few months before he figures out why there were heat directed at those accounts. The only thing I can think of right now is the Slowpoke meme.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00