Steemit, Steem, and SMTs are catching some major press!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Over the last few days, Steemit.com the social site, Steem and SMTs have been in the news quite a bit.

How much have they been in the news you might ask?

Just off the top of my head I think I have seen about 10 different sites picking up the SMT announcement that was made last week by CEO Ned Scott.

In fact, I took the liberty of compiling said links here:

That is at least 7 different news outlets/websites picking up the SMT announcement. Including econotimes, and the observer.

Feel free to read through them as they each seem to offer their own flair and their own take on the recent developments regarding Steem.

There were even a couple web sites/news outlets that mentioned Steemit just in passing, but it was mentioned in pretty positive terms never the less:

*Pay special attention to that last link, you know the one written by the huffingtonpost. The one about gaming and blockchain coming together... 

The gaming industry is projected to be a $109 Billion dollar industry in 2017 (that's Billion with a "B"), according to Newzoo's Global Games Market Report. I don't want to throw any projections or numbers out there, but imagine would that could mean for Steemit.com and Steem if it were to eventually capture just 5% of that market, or say 10%?

I am not sure if you have noticed, but some very big "gamers" are starting to show up on Steemit.com, and they are starting to bring their followers...

But shhhh... don't tell anyone. I'd like to get some more cheap steem first. ;)

In all, Steem and Steemit were mentioned in at least 10 different news articles or websites within the last week or so.

Is this much different than before?

Yes, by a wide margin.

For comparison sake, Steem and Steemit were mentioned about 3 times in the last 2 months prior to this SMT announcement.

In short, this means Steemit.com is getting a lot of press right now and most likely a lot of new eyeballs.

All this, and the Steemit.inc team hasn't even really begun to launch an advertising campaign yet.

For anyone that might be nervous about Steem's future, all I would like to say to you are two words (well one word and then one statement).

The First is:

SMTs - "Move over Ethereum, Steem is about to monetize the whole internet."

Then:

Image what will happen when Steemit/Steem actually launches an advertising campaign, you know one that is well funded and well targeted...

Basically when you combine the above developments, I think there is a very good chance that we are about to see some major fireworks in terms of price over the next 6-12 months.

I am getting my popcorn ready, are you?

Stay informed my friends.

Image Sources:

http://activerain.com/blogsview/4291481/extra--extra---read-all-about-it---let-s-dish-activerain--tabloid-

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/4-ways-blockchain-is-rapidly-revolutionizing-the-gaming_us_59d3e353e4b0da85e7f5ec5c

Follow me: @jrcornel

Sort:  

The good and impartial press can do a lot of great publicity without even realizing. But at the same time bad press can distract all potencial new Steemians. I think that in our country in general people are so skeptical about it. Everybody is so scared, that all this is a pyramid sistem and it's all fake. Too bad so little of them take time to dig a little deeper than the shalow news of general opinion and discover for themself where the Steem world is headed. I tryed to convince a few of my coworkers, who were excited and loved to listen to all my positive experience here. But at the same time they didn't jet took more time to discover for themself the wonderful world of Steem. I'm still hoping they will change their mind, because I know they can quite contribute to the whole comunity. Keep up the good work!

I had similar experience, some people I talked with about Steemit thought Steemit is 'scam, bullshit' or a 'ponzi scheme'. I explained to them and only one of about six persons actually took a deeper look on Steemit.

I know right. I managed to explain three of them all the little I know. I tried to find some plain and simple explanations here for them to read. One was to busy, one to skeptic about money etc. and the last one didn't found the will to look a little deeper. So for now I will leave them with all my advice for a while. If they discover all the greatness of this community I will gladly help them to rise slowly up like I did. But if not, I won't mind and I will try to make the most for me.

The same was said about BITCOIN!

To the victor go the spoils.

To me steemit seems a little more complicated than the usual social media and the idea that you can get something that seems like nothing to most people they find bewildering and I find interesting ☺👍

I think for the persons, who are used to earn money slowly and with hard work, it's very difficult to understand, that it's an "easier" way. I'm not saying that earning money here on Steemit is easy- quite the contrary. You also need to put in a lot of effort, time and quality posts/comments. But spending time in front of computer for them isn't hard work. So when I will persuade someone with that kind of thinking to join Steemit I can be really proud of myself.

Great post thanks for sharing. I think SMTs are a great chance for steemit to get really big!!!

Great info JC, thank you!

Upped & Reed

It's not only great press, but having links to Steemit from high-ranking sites will do a lot for our search engine ranking! Twice now, my girlfriend has done a Google search where a Steemit post showed up as the #1 overall result.

That is great! I was actually doing some research the other day for a post and I googled "big brother cryptocurrency" and a post I had written about 3 months ago (on the topic) showed up as the number 4 link on google search... I thought that was pretty cool. :)

@shenanigator, I can't agree with you more. Recently, some whales have taken some initiatives keeping in view the Google search rankings. This is going to drive massive traffic to Steemit in next couple of months. All this is good for our platform.

Another great post @jrcornel.

Keep writing, sharing, caring and rocking man!

Steem On!

All of this and we really haven't even advertised the site much...

please give me a one vote & comment

@jrcornel When is steemit planning to launch ad campaign?

I wish I knew. I would imagine once the sign-up process and site is ready to go and ready to handle millions of users, not sure when that might be though. I am hopeful it is within the next 6 months or so.

Thanks for anwsering my question.

I know only one way to stay informed, I follow @jcornel.

Haha now that deserves an upvote ;)

sir,
please one vote & comment

You are smart))

You look like Dan Larimer...?

That's amazing! I must admit I didn't notice the articles, but maybe that's because I read too much on Steemit. It can only be a good evolution. Who knows 1 Steem is 100 USD next year because of this...

Over 400,000 members on Steemit now, I hope they all see your great post also.

Absolutely true..I'm finding the platform and business model to be very intriguing. This seems like a very interesting move into the future.

If you want eyeballs and ads, vote for @jerrybanfield witness :-)

Before ads, I'd like to have eyeballs and interaction on my site. Because I can control what ads can be seen and based on a valid history of interaction, I would basically be able make my own cpm calls to advertisers.

Already did ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88