Changing leaves: Starting a new job tomorrow, a beautiful Monday, and my Steem plan from here.

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

2D0F68F6-C148-4E1A-BB9B-D5C89B5D954C.jpeg


We gotta get this guy’s free school tuition saved up for April, so it’s time for dad to kick it into high gear, and get busy!

My new job in the city starts tomorrow, working as an English language teacher for adults. Kids may be added to the mix after the new year kicks off, but for now, I’m glad to not have to dive right back into that!

The location of the work is great. In a nice little spot of the city that I like, right by the south side of the station. Got a coffee shop and bookstore nearby, and easy transportation by train.

05B8DB1D-BAB3-4CAA-B2DD-B8CEFDD6F9E6.jpeg

Yahiko

Anyway, as a kind of “last day of the full-time Steemian era,” my family and I went down to the beautiful village of Yahiko, and enjoyed the changing leaves and fall festivities that take place here around this time every year.


749D8927-1E49-4DCD-B0B1-96BF3365DDBF.jpeg
Red Japanese Maple leaves in Yahiko, Niigata.



@MSLight2016st tearing into some Delightful MOCHI!


Fall at Yahiko is always nice. We walked around, tried some of the local food, took in the rich and vibrant pallette of the changing leaves—Yahiko mountain’s oranges, reds, yellows, browns, and greens...and everything in between—drinking in the beautiful, blazing autumn colors.


D6EAF7CF-ABB0-41E2-B0BE-AA2E20FBF0CA.jpeg
Our little club.


2B16F7C0-53D0-465A-A490-D01DC1E31E0C.jpeg
Waving from the bridge.


4D2F8FE6-7AAF-426A-8CFA-49AE6A34DE6A.jpeg
Are they hot???


Dinner.

Upon returning we tried out a new restaurant (new for us), close to our house, to celebrate the beginning of this new little era in our lives, and I treated myself to some sukiyaki.

Here’s a vid!


So, what now?


Well, I guess that brings me to my final section here in this post. Saying goodbye to my 7 months as a full-time Steemian, blogger, and content creator.

It’s been real. At the end of the day, it just wasn’t enough, but as usual, I don’t regret it. It’s only time to evolve, get more focused, and set my sights moreso on accomplishing real, local goals for my family, friends, and community.


33F7B41D-1148-4030-B9B6-C415872B58EF.jpeg
Speaking of community, this magnificent tree has been part of the scene here for over 1,000 years! He’s seen a few things!


Thank you all so very much who have supported me, and who continue to support Voluntary Japan. Though I am powering down this account (the KafkA account), @VoluntaryJapan is still wide open for business, and this life change is by no means the death of that. To the contrary, in a way, I feel more focused than ever. I may not be putting out three to four posts a day anymore, but now I think I have a better idea of what I want to do, so that kind of excessive fishing is no longer necessary.

If you wanna keep up with what’s happening out here in VJ land, find me on Facebook, Twitter, Patreon, and YouTube. And of course, here. And I’m sure I’ll still be weighing in as Kafka, too, now and then ;)

So as for Steemit, while I have some big reservations and gripes about the UI here, and even the leadership (you’ve all heard me by now :)), this post isn’t for that.

I just wanna say, to Steemit and to everyone that’s been a gem and that has impacted my life here on the blockchain for better, from the bottom of my heart:

Thank you.

Let’s have a wonderful rest of the autumn season.

And now...onto the new shit! 👍🏽💚🔥🤘🏼✨🌅👽🍁

🦉🦉🦉🦉
🦉🦉
🦉

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as DLive and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Support Voluntary Japan!


Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/voluntaryjapan

Steem/SBD: @voluntaryjapan

BCH: qqvmdr3l0dlmjqdekkzgsdeg8hq2s9zt5ud3h004r7

BTC: 1MfENEp9tkJMHmrrj5rPKzohYNCw9S6qFw

ETH: 0x9199c3844fd8d3642b39175414c8ffcd403c7aaf

DSH: XpqAkZqHnE12pN9oKapd1Vmj91HSeb93K1

QTUM: 0x9199c3844fd8d3642b39175414c8ffcd403c7aaf

Sort:  

Congratulations on the new job! Wonderful for your little one's education coming up.

congrats and GL on the new job!

Thanks! 🤘🏼

Wow - monumental news!

Sorry to see you go, but I know you'll be keeping it real wherever you journey next.

Best of luck in the new job... it sounds OK teaching adults in a nice location!

Personally I'd stay powered up and just drop in 2-3 posts a week (or whatever you can manage) and treat this like a savings account.

That's what I've been doing the past year, more or less, as this isn't my primary income source.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you!

Yes, I would prefer to stay powered up, but it’s just not an option right now.

That’s a great plan, though. I hope to kinda get things goin’ like that ASAIC.

👍🏽

good luck with your job!

good luck with your new job and everything else in your life!

No regrets, no looking back—onto the next chapter! Teaching adults is def the better option. While I love kids, teaching them is not a fun job. Let's hope next year is better for steem and crypto than this one, but in the meantime, we learn and keep moving forward. Best of luck with the job!

Thank you, man. 🍁🍂😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85