Do you think Steemit will take over Facebook?

in #steemit6 years ago
Question originally asked on Musing.io - Click here to see other answers

As a user on Steemit for a year and chump change, I can say that Facebook is not ultimately what Steemit should aim to take down. Steemit is more like a "Blogspot" or many a Tumblr without the feminism.

I do hope that Steemit or it's equivalent apps will take over Medium. Since Steemit really is what Medium+Patreon tries to be.

this is not to say that the Steem Blockchain does not have the potential to take down Facebook or even surpass it! I honestly think by now the only thing keeping Facebook alive is the Network Effect. People stay there because other people stay there. What if the emergence of new ways to do social and all the scandal that plagues Facebook, people like me no longer see the appeal of Facebook.

I havent been actually going on to Facebook for the purpose of online socializing anymore for the past few months. It only takes a few thousand people like me to start a chain reaction of people leaving facebook exacerbated by the #deletefacebook movement.

One way or another, facebook and business models like it are gonna go down. Its up to Blockchain apps like Steemit to fill the vacumm and potentially expands the space making it better.

I'm @awesomianist's alt-account, you can read more or my stuff at steemit.com/@awesomianist

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75