Why powering down takes 13 weeks?

in #steemit5 years ago

Ok, so I just joined SteemIt. Bought some steem and powered up to convert these to Steem Power. That was quite smooth.

Enjoying the platform, browsing through hot, new, rising posts... everything looks good.

But there is one question bothering me. Why is the power down process taking 13 weeks of time? To discourage people to power down and leave? Why?

It is my investment right? Why am I not free to withdraw my investment whenever I want?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

It is easier to build long term project this way.

You are free to decide to power up and you can decide how much of your steem you will turn into steempower, right?
You are not forced to do!
The 13 weeks rule makes the currency quite stable now-in my point of view!
That was one reason for me, to act as an private investor here!
Best regards!

Same for me, else people will start trading with SP...

Posted using Partiko Android

So my “freedom of choice” is ended after making the choice to power up? That doesn’t sound right.

Forcing people not to power down at once to keep the token stable doesn’t feel right either. Not very ethical in my opinion.

It is what it is, I am not planning to power down but this rule just doesn’t feel right.

Posted using Partiko iOS

No, its just tight money or better currency for 13 weeks, but you are free to act like this, i do not have any ethical problems with that.
but you are right, it is what it is.
best regards.

It's a common economic protection strategy that countries impose on investors to protect the national economy and infrastructure. That's what I was told by a history buff anyway. Have you read the white paper? I think it's explained there. I listened to a reading of the white paper and I thought it was reasonable after listening to their arguments. Take a look at it and tell me if you change your mind? And if not, I think it's cool to debate it. I like debating things even if the conclusions don't bring to any real change in the way things work.

Posted using Partiko Android

Didn’t know about the economic protection actually... interesting... I didn’t read the white paper. Just thought it was weird not given te freedom. I will read the whitepaper. Let’s see if that clarifies things :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @lion200! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 20 posts. Your next target is to reach 30 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09