Where Did All My Followers Go?

in #steemit5 years ago

Last night my account had 10,154 followers and when I woke up this morning there were only 1,214 followers. I was following about 480 people and now my account says I'm only following 93 people.

Does anyone know what happened to my followers on Steemit?

Lately, there seem to be some strange things happening on the Steemit.com site. Last week the Estimated Account Value was showing account values estimated in the billions of dollars when that clearly wasn't the case. Now the follower count is reduced.

Plus, the list of tags usually found on the left side of the page is not showing any tags.

Anyone know what's going on?


Luzcypher's Announcement For Steem Witness


vote-luzcypher-for-steem-witness.png

luzcypher-emoji-verified-2.png

Sort:  

no idea but I have seen the same thing

fun fact: I am here because I am clearing my feed. So I just click everyone in my stream and unfollow some of them if we have parted ways. Out of all steemers it's luzcypher who made me a guilty conscience. Reading your title was like being caught by the devil … :D

… of course I didn't unfollow. Even though I kind of like the notion that at the end of 2018 people stopped following lucifer. ;)
Hope you get everyone back who truly loves your content. <3

Hahaha! They didn't actually stop following me. It's just a glitch in the Steem matrix. I think they are doing modifications to the website.

Luz = Spanish word for light
Cypher = a secret or disguised way of writing; a code

I know!!! Just the notion of it. ;)

A glitch in the system again?! Though I did wonder what should happen when a Steemit account becomes inactive and that account followed you. At the moment, it still counts as a follower, but it really shouldn't for accuracy purposes. However, if that were the case I would have 2/3 less followers and probably more than half the people I follow are also inactive.

Posted using Partiko Android

True, I wouldn't mind inactive followers dropped from my account. More importantly is inactive witnesses with thousands of witness votes. Right now there are witnesses with 10-15,000 withness votes on the top 100 witnesses who have been inactive since Feb, 2018. Why are people still giving them their votes when they have left the platform? Those people could give their votes to active witnesses instead.

People aren't still giving them their votes to inactive witnesses. The votes don't time out or decay, they last forever! They gave them their vote once because they read a good post from then once upon-a-time-ago with a "vote for me" link at the bottom and haven't thought about it since (in many cases because the voter themselves are now also now inactive).

At the moment Steemit.com site seems normal. I don't normally interface with STEEM their but it still looks the same to me with the tags on the left (I don't look at them normally as they never seem to change and impart no useful "trending" information).

I still have my 301 followers and my 58 or so follows. I'd assume it's just a glitch related to adjusting the API back-end. I had notice the screwy account valuations previously. I figure that had something to do with a "glitch" in the 3rd party API they use to get that info. It is probably unrelated to these, more internal, issues.

People aren't still giving them their votes to inactive witnesses. The votes don't time out or decay, they last forever!

Yes, I understand that. I just think for those who did give them a vote and are still active here, they should reevaluate which witnesses they have upvoted to see if they still are active and contributing and if not, redistribute their votes to active witnesses.

I might be a guilty one when it comes to giving out Witness votes carelessly. But this was back when I first joined in Jan 2018, I saw that I had 30 votes available, so I dished out 20 on the spot and gave most to the top 50. I read one witness blog and since it was long and exhausting I didn't bother with the others lol... Now, I'm too afraid to retract any of the votes in case I get downvoted (I heard its happened before). At least I'm being honest about this. Maybe there are some that are in my position.

Posted using Partiko Android

I hadn't heard of witnesses down-voting people that retract their votes! Man.. those are exactly the kind of witnesses that need to NOT be voted for.

Yea it's a few months back now that I read about the spat between them, but they cleared the air as it was a mix up. Apparently, the retracted vote was meant for someone else after the voter didn't agree with one of the witnesses' post. I have seen a few politics and unnecessary wars on Steemit. I do have 8 spare votes or so to use, but waiting to be persuaded enough to give one of them up 😜

Posted using Partiko Android

I haven't heard of witnesses downvoting anyone for retracting a vote and if they did, I would have to agree with @harvhat they are not the kind of people who should be witnesses anyway.

Witnesses help the blockchain, the community, and Steem in general and do not punish people for changing their votes.

You can see on this chart some of the witnesses who are no longer active but have thousands of votes. Those votes should be redistributed by the people who gave them to them.

https://steemian.info/witnessblocks

Yea I wish I remembered who it was so that I could show the thread. Still I don't think I voted for them.

Would it be a dumb idea to have a yearly reset (elections) in order to vote for the right and dedicated witness that has proven the commitment to the blockchain? And not on those who managed to get loads of votes and then disappear? I know it might seem too official and very democratic, but it is a solution to the problem.

Posted using Partiko Android

Voting is everyone's responsibility and anyone can reset their witness votes any time they want. I do agree that witnesses who have abandoned the platform for more than 6-12 months should be rest. I mean they are missing in action so it makes sense.

But to have a default yearly reset would be a pain in the butt. Each Steemian should manage their votes. For example, I know who I vote for and why and if all of that was reset just because a year went by would not be cool. I'm on Steemit almost every day and monitoring what the witnesses I have voted for are up to.

But yes, inactive witnesses should be dropped because it's obvious they are no longer involved. Especially the ones in the top 100 who show up on the witness page. They're just taking up space that other active witnesses could fill.

I just got unvoted by someone who voted for me two weeks ago and when I looked on the blockchain they are spamming witnesses and asking them to upvote their witness for a witness upvote from them, like when people ask for a follow for a follow. That's something that is frowned upon on Steemit and brings no value at all to Steemit.

When someone doesn't upvote them as a witness they remove their upvote. So lame and they don't have any Steem Power anyway.

Some people just don't get it. It just hurts their reputation.

There are a lot of people new to Steemit that think having a lot of followers is the path to making money here but not if you ask people to follow you to follow them.

Still don't believe me? Then read this

Then a review of Witnesses to see if they have been active or not and to redistribute their votes back to the original owners if they haven't for more than 6 months. The BC is ever changing, so 6 months of inactivity is more than adequate. Sounds like a good plan! Hopefully it could get implemented. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

hahaha, yeah i was just thinking the same thing. im also now following only 17 people. i wonder what those numbers mean. i wonder where they come from? some kind of bug in the code... what does it symbolize?

The numbers are wrong, but the followers are still there.

Looks like the follower count is working again, but the list of tags is still missing.

Spoke too soon, they are gone again.

i have the same problem! i have 2417 followers and they died!

Looks like its steemit front end having a little gremlin if you check busy.org it gives the correct number, steemit really not having the greatest of times right now, cracks are staring to appear

My followers/following hasn't been effected, but earlier this evening, pages weren't loading, votes weren't going through, and follows/resteems weren't, either. That was on and off for maybe an hour, then it worked normally again.

Hi @luzcypher!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.677 which ranks you at #123 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 213 contributions, your post is ranked at #14.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27