My First Experience With Ads On SteemitsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

Boring-Biz-Content.jpg src

I just opened my first ad on Steemit it because ad revenue only flows into Steemit if their referral is actually used (and because I am a curious primate who likes to click on new buttons).

What did I expect? I guess I had higher expectations for Steemit that for Google, Facebook, or other ad companies. When you start with ads in 2019 you have the opportunity to be more conscious about its effect.

Well, my first ad looks to me like a boring money scam (it is in German and you can safely ignore it anyways). Clearly the ad algol has not been briefed about the crypto-aware readership on Steemit.

Sort:  

I personally don't bother about ad's even on other social media sites like facebook, so I wasn't really interested in the ad's on steemit too.

I think some ad's even on other social media sites are shady too.

I guess the ads are for obviously steem's expense at best, the thing is that I just began to see it obviously however I think when steem increases in price then I think the ad policy will change

I'm with you - The ads are shit, and they need to use some of the funds the made earlier in the piece. At the least give us the contributors/miners/content shares a chance to choose the ads we burden our followers with.

I also hope this is just a stop gap, to a better overall plan that results in at least a win/win.

So this gives a possibility to support steemit.inc; by clicking on the ads. not bad somehow?
There are also great UIs like @steempeak that work fine without ads.

If you don't want adds anymore try Brave browser. It's great because it's privacy oriented, it doesn't track you and you are free from adds. I use it on my laptop and smartphone and am very pleased with it.

Yes, I know. On the technological side I like Brave and tried it back when it was still working with Bitcoin. On the social side, however, is it not just a silly tech war where producers pollute content with ads only for the readers to clean it with Brave leaving only the fools as substrate for the ad companies? What does this mean for society? I realize that this situation is still profitable for the ad business. But I am much more interested to find out about what is coming afterwards. This is not win:win. IMHO the ad industry is going to shrink to the extent that people are waking up to how it works.

Brave's long-term vision aims to end the arms race between advertisers and blockers. They're not there yet, but they're (allegedly) going to start injecting their own "friendly", non-tracking ads into the pages that you visit, replacing the ones that are already there. So, if publishers sign up for Brave's network, they can still fund their site with advertising revenue. Then, users will have the option to accept ads and get paid for it (in BAT) or to reject ads. We'll see how it works in practice, but they do have an actual plan for what comes afterwards.

I tried paying Steemit with BAT tokens every month from my brave browser last year, but they have not enabled their web site to accept them. At this point, I have switched my Steem browsing almost entirely to steempeak, and they have enabled their site to accept BAT, so it's easy to support them that way (along with beneficiary rewards).

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.74% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hey @mariusfebruary, I think Steemit just included the Google Ad display :) So I think based on your browser history they send you ads. My first AD on the new Steemit experience was Tableau. I went there on a summit 4 weeks ago and they retarget me to sell me their software :D

I am curious how much more ads will be displayed in half a year/ one year and so on...

Time to get commercial i guess O.o

In my online life come through of ads.But I had bad luck then.My first online job was admob.I could not success this platform.
When I had joined admob then sometimes before my adsense had disabled but I don't know why it was disabled.
Then I have find steemit platform.At first I have done many hard working in this platfrom and continue it.

I’m not terribly surprised. You know better than most how burdened the crypto ecosystem is with scammers. Regardless, I’m glad to see Steemit taking -any- initiative towards getting their books straight, as this will benefit Steem (and more importantly to the music community, DSound) tremendously.

Also.... just checked out your Andrew York cover....dude had no idea you were such an accomplished player. Hah. All the pieces falling into place now. Hats off sir.

Thank you for your kind words.

Very welcome sir! Thanks for helping to keep the @dsound community alive! I thought you were just a benevolent appreciator, didn’t realize you also are a badass contributor haha.

Thanks for the forewarning!! I’ve not been onto my desktop for a few days so have the privilege of scrolling my feed add free!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33