Are Steemit Inc. still approving new accounts?

in #steemit5 years ago

I know the answer!


A few weeks ago someone was questioning whether or not Steemit Inc. was still creating new accounts.

With the reduction in Steemit employees it made sense to be wondering about this.

Source

Conveniently, I had just been given a new mobile phone. So I decided to create a new Steemit account to see if Steemit Inc. were paying attention to account creation.

After going through the account creation process, I took off on an overseas holiday for a few weeks. I kept tabs on the email address that I used to create the new account while away however. I was genuinely curious about whether I would receive a shiny new account or not. And if I did I was truly curious to see how long it would take to be approved.

After hiking the Inca trail for a few days I still didn't have my account.

But, after arriving back in Australia 3 weeks later, I see in my Inbox an email stating that my account has been approved!

So it seems that Steemit Inc. are still approving new accounts. It's just taking them a little over 3 weeks to do so. So I guess we still have the slow sign up problem to deal with here.

Hopefully, as the market recovers over the coming months (if it does, I suppose), and Steemit Inc. re-hiring a few new humans, we might see an improvement in account sign up.

On the positive side, I now have a shiny new account to play with that comes with a 15 SP delegation from the lovely people at Steemit Inc! Yay me!

Sort:  

Interesting it took so long. If you have friends needing accounts, get them to sign-up via steemhunt. Apparently it only takes moments. ;-)
Glad you made it in back safely.

You can also create accounts via Steem Connect. It normally costs around 5 Steem or so for a new account.

I was after a new account that wasn't connected to any of my other accounts though. And getting the little delegation from Stinc helps with resource credits as well. :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mazzle from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

And some people have been signing up via some dapps like steemmonsters and actifit etc.

Posted using Partiko Android

I thought that was the whole point behind "claiming accounts" on the blockchain.

Not sure what you mean. I have had a few beers though...

Hi @mazzle!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.191 which ranks you at #2962 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 8 places in the last three days (old rank 2954).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 257 contributions, your post is ranked at #138.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07