This Week's MinnowFund Delegatee... Plus an Exciting Update!

in #steemit6 years ago

We Have a Winner!

This week we received two applications from the @minnowfund community, and only one of those met our requirements. Therefore, it made our work super easy for picking the winner for our delegation. Congratulations to @torrey.blog who will be receiving 100 SP delegation from MinnowFund for a period of 45 days, plus receive our upvote curation trail for the next week! Torrey, after reading through you blog we can see that you've put in the effort to build long-term here on Steemit. We commend your hard work and look forward to watching your future success on the platform!

hr.png

Torrey's MinnowFund Application:

What Brought You to Steemit?

I had been writing online for more than 3 years, but never made a cent. I was very curious about alternatives to Advertising, because I never felt good about putting ads on my websites, and never made a dime with ads or affiliate programs anyway. David Kadavy introduced me to Steemit through his eBook "Make Money Writing on the Steem Blockchain". I took a chance, thinking Steemit might be a platform where I can support a community, help people, and be rewarded for hours of time invested.

What long-term goals do you have for your Steemit account?

  1. Help Steemian writers write more and write better.
  2. Be a cheerleader for Steemians moving towards their goals.
  3. Promote a mindset of abundance on Steemit.
  4. Teach Steemians about personal growth.
  5. Foster learning and mastery of skills on Steemit.

I've explained these in more details in this post: https://steemit.com/steemit/@torrey.blog/torrey-blog-s-steemit-goals-and-principles

Please provide a link to one of your best blog posts

This is my favorite and most useful post so far: https://steemit.com/writing/@torrey.blog/how-to-write-better-english-daily-blog-9-thursday-july-5th-2018

What is the primary niche (or category) for your Steemit content?

My primary niche is writing, teaching how to write more and write better. A sub-niche is personal growth/development.

Why should we pick you as a delegatee for the Minnow Fund initiative? What sets you apart from others?

At the moment I am constrained by limited resources STEEM, SBD, SP. I have made the plunge and transferred a chunk of crypto funds to SP and Powered Up, but right now a 50 SP delegation will cripple my bandwidth.

100SP delegation will give me a huge jump start so I can start contributing more to projects like Minnowfund and others. The 100SP Minnow Fund delegation will give me enough of a boost to delegate 50 SP back to Minnowfund, without crippling my ability to post and vote.

Thank you for considering my application for Minnowfund delegation. I am looking forward to continue supporting Minnowfund and Brandonfrye, whether or not I am selected by the community.

hr.png

New Format for Finding & Choosing Candidates

Over the last few weeks it's become clear that we need to rethink the way we find candidates for our delegation. We've seen a decline in applicants, especially since the entire crypto market has taken a nose dive. I'm sure that once the market recovers people will become more active on Steem, and be more interested in receiving the precious delegation that we're offering.

There are thousands (if not tens of thousands) of people who would benefit from our service. So we have to think of new ways to find them. And what better way than a little help from the community!

Last week we tried something a little different; instead of receiving applications, we asked the community to recommend their favorite content creators on the Steem blockchain. It actually worked out really well and we ended up rewarding our delegation to an incredible author who we feel will make a lasting impact here on Steemit.

Process Moving Forward

So here will be the process moving forward with MinnowFund. This should bring forward a wider variety of content creators. It will also give us more options because we've found that some people are simply too proud to submit an application, or they don't even know about MinnowFund's services.

Wednesday Morning

On Wednesday mornings we'll create a post asking for suggestions from the MinnowFund Community for candidates to receive our delegation. We will ask that you submit their username as well as a short explanation as to why you feel they deserve it. These may be people you follow but feel could use a little boost. We will also list what we're wanting to see in the "perfect candidate" to give you a rough guideline to go by. There will only be one rule and that's that you cannot request delegation for yourself. If you'd like to receive delegation from MinnowFund then rally the community behind you and have them recommend you!

Sunday Night 12pm EST

Sunday nights at midnight EST will be the cutoff time for candidate nominations. This gives the community 5 full days to get the word out about our delegation and plenty of time to put in the recommendation for your favorite Steemian.

Monday Morning

On Monday mornings we'll go through all of the candidates who have been recommended by the community and make the hard decision of who we feel best meets our requirements. We will go through their blog to see that they have a long-term commitment to producing great content on the blockchain. We also lookout for spam, plagiarism, fraud, etc. to ensure we're not rewarding "bad actors" here on Steemit.

Candidate Nominations Begin this Wednesday!

Be on the lookout for our next post and go ahead and start thinking about who you feel would benefit from our Steem Power delegation. We're excited to meet lots of new content creators on the blockchain. And we're really looking forward to empowering those who have shown an exceptional ability for creating content, and who have an unwavering determination for becoming successful on Steemit.


Sort:  

Woot! I am so excited! Thank you everyone. I won’t let you down!

Congrats @torrey.blog. You just got a much-deserved boost!

Thank you, @faraicelebr8, you are too kind.

Congratulations Torrey!!!!!!

I......LOVE....the idea of the new format!!!!!!! bring it ON!!!!! pondering potential candidates now! thank you brandon

Thanks for the feedback, @rawutah. I really think it will help us to expand our reach by a lot! :)

That's a pretty slick way to find new candidates. Looking forward to where this goes and congratulations to the winner this week. Awesome stuff.

Thanks, we should see a wider variety of content creators with the community out there searching for them. This is also a way to sort of "pre screen" users as well to make sure they're a good fit.

@minnowfund
i also need your help to grow as i am new here.
please give me some SP.
need your support to grow.

You do good work here Brandon. I seem to run into your posts daily and they all seem to be about initiatives or improvements here or helping people. I'm all about helping people, so I really like to see that. You motivated me to also look into voting for witnesses more. I only had you and maybe 3 others cast as votes. I went through all sorts of profiles to select some people (and retained my vote for you as well). This whole minnow initiative is great too. I might've gotten myself too big too quick to be eligible, but I am watching and helping others where I can. I also make sure to have every one of my posts upvoted by the minnowfund.

Thanks so much for the support and help. If you know of anyone that would be a good fit for our delegation, we hope to receive their nominations from you. We'll be keeping our eye out as well. :)

Thank you @audreybits! I am honored!

Huge congrats @torrey.blog!!

Thank you, @eoj! 🙏 I am humbled by all the support from the community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71288.26
ETH 3580.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77