Song interpretation

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Have you ever heard a song and thought to yourself, "That sounds like it could be about my recent experiences"...even though you know it's talking about something totally different? That's what happened to me when I heard this song today.

In my case, this song made me think about some recent Steemit experiences I've had. It's uncanny how the metaphors seem to fit with some of the aspects of the site. I'll point out some of those metaphors in the lines below. I won't go through all of the lyrics, but will try to capture the context. So without further adu, as the song goes, LET'S GET DOWN TO BUSINESS!

You 'bout to witness hip hop in its most purest
Most rawest form, flow almost flawless
Most hardest, most honest known artist
Chip off the old block but old doc is
Back!

I mean if that isn't a reference to the blockchain, what is?

Looks like Batman brought his own Robin
Oh God, Saddam's got his own Laden

LOL, a pair villians? I can think of a couple of accounts wreaking havoc around these parts (even if they are both controlled by the same individual)

Away from you, dear fear none
Hip hop is in a state of nine-one-one, so

OK, so maybe not hip hop and maybe not quite in a state of 911, but still...

Must be a circus in town, let's shut that shit down
On these clowns, can I getta witness?

I see this as the circus created by our villains. And the support, or lack thereof, of witness on the blockchain.

Nobody says it, but still everyone knows the shit

To me, I saw this as speaking about the way the community is mostly silent concerning recent flag war even though almost all who know about it feel pretty strongly one way or the other.

The show must go on, so I'd like to welcome y'all
To Marshall and André's carnival, c'mon!

This is just me making light of the situation and turning it into a carnival of entertainment. To be honest, I have been pretty entertained from the beginning.

You already know who's fully capable, the two caped heroes

In my version, the two heroes could be a number of individuals and groups involved in the conflict.

People stepping over people just to rush to the set
Just to get to see an MC who breathes so freely

For this line, a specific individual pops into my mind. There's something incredibly entertaining about someone who speaks freely whether you believe in what they say or not.

Can't leave rap alone the game needs me

I once wrote a post on Why the whale wars are good for Steemit. That's what this line made me think about.

Till we grow beards, get weird and disappear
Into the mountains, nothing but clowns down here
But we ain't fucking around round here

This speaks to my commitment and that of others to see this thing through.

Can I get a hell yeah?

So there you have it folks. This is my first song interpretation on Steemit. I'm thinking about posting ten of these a day from here on out. I hear if you do that some whale will magically appear and upvote everything you do and according to your every wish (almost as if he were inside of your own head).

Until next time...same Steem time (not really), same Steem channel!

=============================
moeknows_red.png
=============================
thealliance2.png
=============================
BCPLogoMoeknows4 - small.PNG
Join the new Discord channel dedicated specifically to poetry
Block Chain Poets
Where poets support other poets.

Sort:  

Very creative idea Moe, and it fits so well!

Thank you. I've actually been thinking about it for a while. I have strange interpretations of songs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87