Response to Why Steemit is Perfectly Fair

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I've been watching this blog thing for awhile now. I had a Steemit account for over a year where I just watched and read without I think, ever having made a post. Is that right? Did I even make one? I don't remember.

But then I jumped in with a totally new Steemit account, this one. Which has been going for a couple of years already? Maybe not quite two years. I was Dorothy51, which I chose for a name because I was 51 years old when I created the account and I am about to turn 53.

I think that way too many people miss the entire point, by just coming here to make money. Not that I think its wrong to make money on a platform like this. I just ... totally don't get the math of how you make something out of nothing here. The article (whatsup) implies that people are free to vote their resources as they see fit. So does that mean that people invest? As in, buy Steemit? I myself have not. This whole thing just makes no sense to me. Pardon but I think that is true for most people here. What's the difference between Steem and Bitcoin? These questions just confound me.

I am totally okay with that, people buying Steem dollars to upvote articles and see people get paid. Only I don't understand what is in it for them? I mean, how does buying turn into inflation and earnings from that? What fuels articles that get like, over a thousand dollars for one article. I can't even imagine it at this point.

So look. My frustration aside. I am still here and I can't say I've made enough money at this for it to be the reason I have stayed around and continued to maintain a writing blog. I think someone donated some money to me once. I could not for the life of me GET to the point of accessing those funds. Laugh if you want to. But in my empathic/Indigo reality, when there is that much resistance (coming from where? and why?) to something I'm trying to do, it very well may just not happen.

I need a blog. I wrote for years on another forum where I could 'chronicle.' I don't have that anymore. I've had websites of my own but at the moment those are out of reach also. With the possibility of being changed with a little bit of technical and other support on a moment's notice.

Just a few observations, things that could make this place better?

It seems that early in this process, you could resteem articles at will, no matter how old they were. I thought that was the idea, to be able to dig up old stuff when you were reading other people's blogs, to bring forward again. Also to be able to resteem on your own blog for your own interest. Am I mistaken? If so, pardon me. But it seems that it would be an improvement to open things up and keep articles from 'expiring' from their resteem capacity. The idea is a database, correct?

The real bummer to me is, I would really prefer to have conversations with people. I use my blog often to send my writing to other people I am communicating with or post them on Facebook. But I almost never see real conversations going on here. I mean, if you are like me. And your financial rewards for writing have been small, only a few cents at a time and you are still here, hanging around. So often I think, the idea of getting paid for your comment tends to put the kabosh on real comments and connections. It seems to me that this idea of getting paid for your writing has backfired. No worries. Er, yes? Or no. I still hope for changes in the trends here, for people to catch on to what it could be. I write astrology articles and tarot articles watching for people in this community to talk to or receive feedback from. Many times my own comments to people go without a response.

Another improvement that could be made. Have it somehow so your articles/submissions pick up the date, automatically. If you haven't noticed there are no dates on any posts unless you put them there.

I think the idea of a blockchain is a database of value, based on its contributions. I mean, one thing I thought about ... the tag lines and how they wind up on the side list of Steemit guide pages for reference. Its another way for it all to work dynamically. Vs. just having your posts sit on the main feeds for about a week and then going away. How often do people use them? I did at first but then I think, the flow of traffic on the main feeds winds up being a distraction from other possibilities. Its just that it seems it is all so close to being able to work right. Only there isn't enough follow through from the administrators to seem like there is a real comittment to the idea of Blockchain. Vs. just generating funds and having only a select few benefitting from it financially. And SO over the top! For the first few months after Dorothy51 when I was here, I watched. The biggest rewards at the time seemed to be around the 2 to 3 hundred dollar amount. Something happened to totally derail that! Suddenly I started seeing paychecks for articles of the high hundreds and now, regularly they are over a thousand dollars for certain posters.

Just thoughts about this place that have been on my mind of late.
In truth I would prefer to see improvement with these issues, that's the point of my rant.
Not to just 'be negative' about it.
I think it has potential, still. To be something really cool for everybody.

Namaste.
LR 6/7/18

Why Steemit is Perfectly Fair
https://steemit.com/steem/@whatsup/why-steem-is-perfectly-fair
I saw it yesterday.

Sort:  

Hi @mymoontao,

We have some things in common. I am also 51 and it took me some time to understand and "Get" what I think the point is here.

Yes, some people invest both by buying steempower and investing in their account or by investing in SBD and investing in a post.

I don't know what impact crypto is going to have on the world, but I do think it will influence and change how we see money.

The industry is young, the products are immature. It is mostly about speculation at this time.

There is no question that the interface needs to be updated and there are changes coming.

The entire point of my article was maybe a bit subtle, but that each person here controls their own share of the MarketCap and the Reward Pool. Nothing less and nothing more.

:)

Yep... I got that. Thanks.

Your balance is below $0.028. @dustsweeper is now disabled for your account until you transfer new funds.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73