Echo of The Past: How The Small Internet Proved To Me That Steemit Is Alive

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

Recently there was a funny event, that made me remember about Steemit (and no, it is not the bitcoin pump).

I came here 3 years ago, a long time ago… It was the Golden age of founders ' presence. There were many whales and big fish in the seas, and their voices couldn't be bought. Hundreds of new authors came here every day. They tried to meet the high demands of the community in order to achieve success.

One of the unwritten rules of the time was the creation of a post about yourself, under the tag #introduceyourself. (One of the most interesting tags, in my opinion). Like many other authors, I’d decided to seriously prepare for the conquest of the platform, and spent quite a lot of time, effort and passion to create my first post. Here it is:

Why is not cool to be a space booster developer. My intro post with life story.

The post went unnoticed, I do not know for what reasons. I remember how much I was upset, because it was quite a personal story with a good plot, that reflected some of the realities of life in my country. Matter of the past.

So why am I writing this post? a week ago, thanks to an article that was written 3 years ago, I realized that not only the World is small, but the Internet too!

eBoy-FooBar.png

My best friend sent me a curious link to an article with a vaguely familiar headline…

https://tjournal.ru/stories/91041-pochemu-net-nichego-krutogo-v-tom-chtoby-byt-razrabotchikom-raketnyh-dvigateley

How loud I laughed! After all, this is my introduyourself translated into Russian. The sincere story of a man about how difficult to work as an engineer in Russia! Quite funny the fact, that I always write big posts first in Russian (I build a structure).

Those. One of the editors, by some miracle, found my article, which I wrote in Russian, then I translated it into English, and he translated it again into Russian with corrections, and published it in the online magazine with 700k subscribers. Life is a strange thing :)

But, most of all I was struck by the fact that my own article "found" me after 3 years. As it turned out, a friend of my best friend recognized him in the photo in the article (here), and sent it to him, and my best friend sent it to me. It took only 3 "handshakes" to get to the original source.

And you may not agree, but for me the appearance of the article after such time in another online publication, with a large number of subscribers, means that Steemit is alive! And if will live not always, then for quite some time, bringing benefit not only to steemians (in the form of rewards), but the entire Internet community.

Undoubtedly, the idea called Steemit was a success. Thanks to the creators. Further fate is in your hands, my readers.

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hi and welcome here! When I started on steemit, my biggest problem was to find interesting people to interact with. So, to help newcomers getting started I created a directory with other interesting and or talented steemians to follow or interact with. Feel free to check it out at https://www.steemiandir.com I am sure it will help you find like-minded people. Enjoy your stay here and do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions!

Welcome to Steem natord! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake-chocolate-cake.png

that is fantastic! I wonder how the two Russian versions compare :). Small world indeed!
Manually curated by @eonwarped.

That is awesome.

Congratulations @natord! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62480.78
ETH 3045.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91