I Like Big Votes And I Cannot Lie

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2018-12-03 at 11.56.11 PM.png

Today I had a random thought “Man. I wish my vote was bigger so I could really just reward the people who deserve it.”

But, since my voting power is never at 100%, sometimes my 6ish percent upvote is only worth .13 USD.

And so if I vote someone 30 days per week at .13, it comes out to $3.90 USD.

Per month.

But let’s say I only vote worth .05 per post.

So that I can spread it out.

That’s $1.50 per month only that I can give to people that I support every day per month.

So this is why people “chase whale votes, right?”

Because they think that people with small votes don’t matter.

But that’s wrong.

Your small vote matters.

Think about this.

Multiply that $1.50 per month by 100 steemians.

If you can network with only 20 new steemians a month, in 5 months…

…you could potentially be friends with 100 new steemians.

And then, maybe you can get those "really small" upvotes of those 100 steemians.

So 100 x 1.50 = $150 USD/ month.

Ok, is that as much as you would make with whale votes?

No. But that’s not the point.

There are several points, actually.

You guys can grow together. If you keep supporting each other, soon your votes will each be $1. Then imagine the damage you can do.

If you’re from the US, or Australia or Western Europe…no, $150 isn’t much. I mean, gosh, cell phone bills for two people can be almost $100 even with the lowest amount of data you can buy.

But steemit wasn’t just created for westerners.

There are a TON of users in Asia and from Africa and poor countries in Latin America where $150 USD per month would actually REPLACE their monthly salary.

It may even be MORE than their monthly salary.

I have an Indonesian friend here that works at a restaurant 6 days per week and she makes $150 USD.

Something like steemit could literally change her life.

Next point: Votes aren’t all that matter here. You’ve got to admit, we have one AWESOME, supportive, giving community. Sure, there are some rotten eggs every now and then but that’s life. That’s everywhere. Don’t focus on that.

The majority to me seem good.

Your comments matter a LOT to people. Think about how you feel when someone comments on something that you took a lot of time to create.

It makes you smile, doesn’t it?

Makes you feel appreciated.

You can give your re-steems to someone who needs help getting the word out about an important message.

You can tag people to their post.

So you can give a lot more than just your vote.

And people appreciate it, too.

I know I do.

P.S. The #s might be a little off because that's how I roll with #s. But also because I actually pre-wrote this post sometime in October because I knew I'd be too busy to write on steemit for awhile.

Sort:  

Baby got jack (VP, that is)

I don't know anymore, I just try to post once a day and hope things get better

Good for you!!! Great attitude. And of course they will get better

It's now more than ever that we need a supportive community to help each other grow. It's interesting to see the report from @taskmaster4450 about the shift of power from Whales to the rest of the community that has been taking place over the past year. Those 35 whales or so still have 57% of the power, but its slowly trickling down.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh that is interesting! I need to check out that report!

We totally agree. We have grouped together with our small network & anyone who uses #SteemDrive as a hashtag in their Votes, Resteems, Replies or Bio's gets Resteemed or Upvoted. Give that a try!

Oh that's super awesome! Great initiative

I couldn't agree more with this. $150 as salary in my area is a Rushed Employment.

Steemit has transformed my life and others around me, and I will forever be grateful to you, @kpine and a host others who their list will be more than this post times hundred.

Every support given to someone here matters.

Stay Awesome.

Do I wish I had a whale support? Of course but I’ve found it extremely hard to garner that kind of support. I don’t Whale Hunt. I never have. I probably should but the few times I genuinely had something of merit or importance to add to certain and specific whale’s posts, it’s gone completely ignored. Almost Every single time. That kinda bums me out and keeps me from chasing those votes which I guess is a good thing as I hate begging for the vote. If they see me and like what I’m doing...awesome. But I’m not chasing it down. Which means I’ll probable never get noticed. Lol

So I tend to for the most part run in the smaller circles. Folks with far less influence on the vote, but are genuinely interested in what nonsense I’m discussing. That’s rewarding in itself and we are growing together as you mentioned.

Funny, I was planning on writing something similar today. About how I connect better with smaller accounts it seems as the big ones seem to avoid me like the plague. Lol

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

An interesting way to look at things... one person can buy me a cup a coffee a day 🤣

Posted using Partiko iOS

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23