Breaking Facebook's bonds (Part 2)

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

My withdrawl from Fakebook started about 8 months ago yet became much more severe on the advent of the #deletefacebook campaign.

It became permanent a couple of months ago after being sent to the corner for my involvement in a thread which was reported.

By "sent to the corner", it is meant that when attempting to log into Fakebook it would display the meme of mine which had been reported. It was accompanied with an explanation, from FakeBook, explaining that the meme had broken the ToS. It then prompted me with an "OK?".

No, it was not ok!

It occurred to me, today, to check if FakeBook was still in a paddlin' mood. It was a pleasant surprise to find that, although they still had the text blurp welcoming me, the meme had been deleted from their cache (no doubt due to the length of time which had passed). So it amounted to 'posting this blank page is against the ToS'; which seemed like something.that could get my agreement. After a click Daddy was home!

What could be the harm of a little taste?

There was a thoughtful message waiting for me from the original creator of the group where the incident took place. Not an apology as it was not likely they who had reported me; yet thoughtful all the same.

FakeBook Life had moved on in my three month absence. There was @omitaylor who had not been seen in the blockchain all summer. Thought she was too busy with the kids but maybe the price of steem was a greater factor. Made me feel less guilty about calling back my delegation last week. Maybe the price will recover someday. 😎

There was @lyndsaybowes, taking me deeper than anyone has ever taken me in an understanding of Isreal's foriegn policy via a Christopher Bollyn video, whose link is included below for your viewing pleasure.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?feature=youtu.be&v=wVkCxsQWaDo

Another post caught my eye from a FB Friend that is not known by me very well. It had a meme of a knight kneeling before thier Liege, a child kneeling in prayer, a parade suited marine kneeling in sorrow before an Arlington gravestone and the kneeling football player guy.

The meme read, "When did kneeling become a sign of disrespect?"

Well it seemed the meme creator did not understand what the kneeling football player was implying. Needless to say the creator was not alone in that misunderstanding, for the comment area was pretty hot. It ranged from a Veteran suggesting everyone owed him for the freedom to post on FakeBook (which struck me as odd having only recently returned from the Cloakroom) to those trying to explain it was not meant as distespect to the anthem but a protest to the violence of agents of the state against its citizens.

It had been 7 month since starting to untie myself from FakeBook and three months since logging on, yet it took me less than 15 minutes to return to exchanging barbs in a heated comment thread!

WTF is up with that place?!?

WTF happens to me when logged in there?

Maybe the trick is to stay with the program. No more tastes.

#fakebooksobriety

#deletefacebook

Previous Episodes

Part 1:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@novacadian/breaking-facebook-s-bonds

Sort:  

Interesting blog all around. Facebook and I divorced 5 months ago. Felt odd at first, missed something about it, but not enough to reconcile. Found a new partner....lol

My intention is to only repost my steem stuff from here on in.

aqui mi visita para saludarlo amigo@novacadian

¡Saludo a mi amigo!

I still have an account. I log in from time to time just to see if I got a DM. Such an event is very rare.

Perhaps its just me. Trying to just repost relavent steem links there then jump right off now days. 😎

Sorry about "stealing" part 1(check your email....lol problem fixed now)

Too funny! Looks like a thanks may be in order. You've made me a published author. 😎

I'm sure they were surprised at my vastly improved writing skill! That's the first they have picked in weeks...lol

Lol. You are much too modest, Maestro! 😎

For all the talk about how we all live in our "bubbles" of agreeable opinions, I always manage to find some racist/sexist/homophobic/transphobic/otherwise hateful asshole on Facebook and wish I had the power to smite people. People still seem to live in that AOL mindset of "you're hiding behind an anonymous handle and can say whatever fool thing you want without repurcussions" except their name, photo, job, etc. is all find-able now and despite all the people who have been publicly shamed or lost their jobs for doing some ignorant hateful thing, they still do it. It's a very quick way to lose faith in humanity, and Facebook is like the town square of assholes screaming their bile at passersby.

...Facebook is like the town square of assholes screaming their bile at passersby.

Too funny. ^^

If FakeBook were a town, then my suspicion would be that someone had drugged the water supply. 😎

For real...

espero esté bien y que pase un feliz fin de semana ,saludos

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30