Ranting with the Old Guy

in #steemit6 years ago
It's a beautiful day in the neighborhood!

20180607_131418.jpg

Hey Everybody

How About Some

#

Ranting with the Old Guy

So if you have followed the Old Guy from over on YouTube, you know I was often called the Mild Ranter. I mean there are so many problems in life, one could always go around being a Negative Nelly. That just simply ain't the Old Guy's style. I would rather be laid back and post some sunsets and flowers. However with an ecosystem that is alive and changing like Steemit is, things have to be called out and fixed, while the opportunity exists.

Neighbor's peony from today. The S8 is great! Straight from the cam.

20180607_102822.jpg

However, instead of me raising all the questions, I want you folks to check out this piece written by a great Steemer @ats-david. He wrote it on his witness blog @ats-witness. Now @ats-david is a guy I have seen take a stand over the past year as we went through the different hard forks. I voted for @ats-witness because he never was shy about calling out the problems here. He is not one to sugar coat things and I respect that. However, he is also one to offer ideas on how to fix the problems and whether you agree or disagree, you at least know where he stands. The main point is we need to be thinking and talking about these issues.

20180607_173622.jpg

As he writes:

Why do we see so many people leasing out their SP for quick liquid payouts or not powering up their STEEM? Because there’s not enough incentive to care about voting on content for curation rewards.

This is the crux of a lot of the problems here. We need to have folks power up their Steem. This will take Steem out of supply and increase the price which will in turn bring in more people etc, etc and create a positive feed back loop instead of the death spiral we have going on now!

20180607_173509.jpg

I have been here just over a year and I have seen virtually nothing change that will make folks want to stay and invest in the platform. Yes I love Steemit, but with Steem Inc's promises of SMT's and communities for a year, it is starting to feel like waiting for the Great Pumpkin. I sure don't have all the answers, but perhaps @ats-witness has some. Check out the piece here https://steemit.com/steem/@ats-witness/block-change-you-can-believe-in


Thanks for stopping by!

All words and images are mine and can be also found on my various social media sites.
Twitter
YouTube
Twenty20

footer.png


Be Safe!! Don't get hacked! - Post with your posting key!

If you don't know, Watch the video!!!

Sort:  

sometimes just bitching about things make one feel better.
then some music and a walk

Can we put the music on while we rant, @ace108? Then the walk.

I don't know. maybe old-guy-photos can get a suitable rant music in the background his video but I've a song for your walk. :-)

A little cheese also is helpful with some whine. :)

Hahahaha! Perfect!!! :)

bahaha....I lasted 60 seconds listening to this song.....rant? I'd say drive me crazy and make me take a long walk into the ocean. !!! lol

It's a good walking song

Excellent post Thanks for the sharing post

One thing I can't quite grasp is:
Whether these keys shown under "permissions" are private or public keys.
After all beside the first two there's a box which says "Show private key".
So is it the private or the public keys you use for logging in, and if it's the private keys what do you use the public keys for?
Thanks.

The keys are private to other steemians. You can see them and you can view them when you are logged in. Log out and try to see your permissions. Check out my account or old-guys to see if you can see mine or his keys. You can't.

Plus the keys you can see under permissions are encrypted until you open them - as you say it will have a box that is labelled "Show Private Key". This is entirely different from the Owner key - where it too is called a private key. I'm not sure why they labelled them the same. It's confusing.

So what you need to use is the posting key to login and post. This is the password (key) you will use the most on here. When transferring funds you will be asked for the active key - and you'll have to login again using your posting key to get it unless you've copied/pasted it somewhere on your phone or laptop - in which case you can copy it from where you've stored it and paste it into the box.

Copy / paste these keys somewhere safe.

There are no public keys. None. Never give your password (keys) to anyone. Except when logging in or transferring funds. If in doubt, ask someone but never give your owner key to anyone.

Thanks for the info

You will need to show the keys and copy. Lots of copies... On paper. I suggest copy paste and print out so there is no mistakes. Use the private posting key for your day to day business. Only use private active key to move funds.

Thanks for your reply
So it's the private keys we use. So if you don't mind me asking:
Why are we shown the public keys? Do we need them for some reason?

so cute i like this....thanks

I agree with you. I've been here a year now and things really haven't changed much for the better. It's like we're stuck. It's sad because some of the people I saw when I began have left. Waiting for things like SMT's and communities is getting harder because the wait has been so long. I figured they'd be here by now but nope. Now the rumors say by the end of the year.

Well by that time maybe Dan will have the social network built and running on Eos. Then we will have a choice ;). I am happy you are still here Marx.

Sometimes, it just needs to be said.

Beautiful flower - geez....that's one good thing going right? Nice camera!

Steemit is like the Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown. I don't understand much about it to be honest. I get bumble bees in my brain when I read about crypto currency and anything steem related.

I don't know where it's going or where it comes from. It's all a mystery to me. I just post and chat and upvote and chat some more :)

Yep and that is perfectly fine. You should always enjoy your time here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43