1 Year on Steemit, time to reflect and offer some advice to new users.

in #steemit6 years ago

It's been one year now on steemit, well actually it was a few days ago and I never got a chance to post this little reflection.

I think the year has been a great success, I really believe in the long term potential of this platform and blockchain, so I've been powering-up pretty much any rewards that I earned and did buy a small amount of steem when I first started just to get that elusive slider.

If you look at success is other ways and more profound ways than just monetary gains, it has been an even greater success. First I have made many new friends from around the world, Secondly I have been able to learn a great deal and has led to some personal growth and motivation.

When I first came to steemit, I had no idea what a blockchain and cryptocurrency was and these were quite far from my radar. I've been so happy to be introduced to this technology and all it's promise for the future and that power it has to potential change some of the archaic and flawed monetary systems.

I wish I could shout out all my friends here on steemit, and all the great communities I have found and been a part of, but at the risk of missing one, or having to order them I'm going to skip this all together, I'm sure you all know who you are.


Source

The one thing I wanted to do with this post was offer a bit of advice for any new or newer users checking in here. I've wrote a few posts on the subject that have been pretty popular, so I will link to them and share some of that advice here.

So it's your first day on Steemit! Where to Start?

My Suggestions and Advice for new Users on Steemit.

The art of making of good comment! Advice for new steemit users.

If you don't want to read it all I'll give you a brief synopsis

I can break it down into two main pieces of advice.

1. Community

This is a broad piece of advice, but I would suggest just focusing on authors and topics you like and look for communities around those topics. Look to learn about these topics and make friends with other people that share these passions. Chat with them on whatever Discord community is available and don't worry about their reputation or SP, just look at creating genuine friendships and connections.


Source

2. Comment

This is my second big piece of advice, when you are just starting here, you don't have a following and not many people will be reading you blogs. You need to build that following by engaging with others and commenting, and when you do have people reading your blogs be sure to reply to any comments left, start a discussion and make some friends.

If you are looking for more advice I would suggest the links I posted above.


Footer by @bearone

Sort:  

You have been defended with a 65.27% upvote!
I was summoned by @phelimint.

Hey you're in the moon club now!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Happy Steemit Bday! 🎂🍰🎂🍰

No question making relationships here on Steemit is important. One great thing about being here on Steemit is that the opportunities to network with people is pretty well unlimited.

Hey I enjoyed reading your post and want to congratulate you on a full year with the platform! I am going to giv e you a follow and check out some more of your content. I am just starting and learning how to use the platform so please feel free to check out my stuff :) would love to be apart of your community ;D

Awww Happy Anniversary mate!! Been a hell of a year! Here's to the next one! 🍷🍷

Congrads to 2 years!

Felicidades por tu primer año! Leeré tus consejos sé que me serán de gran utilidad.

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 15.98% upvote!
I was summoned by @phelimint. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85