Solopreneurs vs. Entrepreneurs | Does Solopreneurship Have a Negative Connotation?

in #steemit6 years ago



So yesterday evening I went by my folks house for dinner, and on my drive home I was listening to two seperate Youtube videos. One by a channel called Entrepreneurs in Cars and another by Gary Vee, I'll link to both of them below if you want to watch them and get the full context....

Gary Vee on Solopreneurs

Entrepreneurs in Cars on Solopreneurs

Now in the first video I watched by Entrepreneurs in Cars he talked about being an employee vs a solopreneur vs an Entrepreneur. He seemed to liken solopreneurs to wantrepreneurs and seemed to say one should only remain a solopreneur for 2-3 years max at which point they should scale their business up to something much larger, or just get out and go back to being an employee.

He talked about solopreneurship as being an acceptable way to start a business, but beyond starting didn't really feel like there was a place for it as an ongoing business.

This kind of had me thinking about myself. Am I stuck in the role of being a solopreneur? And if so is that a bad thing? Should I be hiring employees and growing into something bigger?

Then I watched a video by Gary Vee on this same topic and Gary Vee had a different take on this issue. Gary Vee seemed to say yes being a solopreneur is how most Entrepreneurs start out, but Gary didn't really seem to see it as a negative thing, even if you remained there forever.

Gary went on to talk about how when you scale up, hire employees, begin running a larger office, you now have to manage people and manage an office as well. For people who are introverts, or aren't great managers, or don't enjoy managing people this will probably make your business less enjoyable for you to run.

Gary went on to say sure someone with a solopreneur business making say 70k per year may be able to hire people and scale it up to 130k per year. But at what cost?

If someone is very passionate about their business and likes going it alone, or if someone doesn't enjoy managing people


Business Inquiries, Sponsor a Video, or Just Wanna Say What's Up...

[email protected]


Social

Blog RulesForRebels.Com
Steemit @RulesForRebels
Twitter @RulesForRebels
Instagram @RulesForRebels


Support the Channel with Crypto

Bitcoin
1AbsM6eUvruyRZZ9iB3cFgTRtBwCmNcgRa

Litecoin
M9xpcu43xaoksM1zKQVeHos8yxuJevC8zk

Ethereum
0x4CE3AA68e31F8Fd9B8c73AE76C40B42eB90Be5b8

NavCoin
NeyMn17BXV9SoYJGUPLyG47xRfWxRYWsz9

Steemit
@RulesForRebels
STM6hprxM2ciQa48H2fBdq9ksn8rmFGdFoTrQCz516pHS7NqVHBBq

Dash
XbRAqzqwLLk2Fkq6bUtN417UFrjNcaLyDj

ZCash
t1VgnxB76TesdUuzYs6Qpbr5kPS86cEreVy

Sort:  

DUDE! So much this -

"... when you scale up, hire employees, begin running a larger office, you now have to manage people and manage an office as well. For people who are introverts, or aren't great managers, or don't enjoy managing people this will probably make your business less enjoyable for you to run."

I have learned this the hard way being both an entrepreneur and a solopreneur (not very fond of that term).

Not every business has to scale for more, more, more...

I am tired of feeling pressure to SCALE my business, but that the same time I don't want to get stagnant either!

Shits bananas.

I think the same just do as you please. It's not like everyone is chasing the same thing. A lot of us just do it for the freedom and control of your own life. It's not like everyone is trying to get rich

Yeah I'm with you brother. If I had a choice to make 100K per year and enjoy what I'm doing, have a pretty chill lifestyle and work say 30 hours per week versus making a million per year but not liking what I'm doing, living a stressful life, and working 80 hours per week, I'd take the 100k and the nice life in a heartbeat.

I'll take the $70K yr. as a one man show over the $130K yr. with employees any damn day.

Thanks for sharing @rulesforrebels :)

I'm the same way, I'm not super organized, don't really enjoy managing people, kind of like doing things my way and am an introvert so I'd gladly pass up a bit of extra money to set my life up exactly how I want it

Very special video indeed
Businessmen must be patient and have a lot of confidence in themselves
Very special information
Well done publishing

Excellent critics, in agreement with you, there is always a better way of doing things so that they evolve.@rulesforrebels.

Solopreneurs is the word is very latest.Most of us have not idea about. Thanks for fattening my knowledge.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99