Why Doesn't Steemit Have Share Buttons to Encourage Social Media Sharing of Steemit Posts and Help Grow Adoption???

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

social.png


*** EDIT ***

I'm a fucking idiot, as @mathewoz101 pointed out they are at the bottom. They are greyed out so I went totally blind to them and they blurred into the page.

This actually gives me some food for thought myself as I chose grey buttons for my blog because I liked the look, however I'm going to have to change to color icons as if I was this blinded by grey I'm sure others are as well.


Something just occured to me today and I wanted your guys take on it, and if you think this would be a good idea.

So Steemit is a Social Media platform, and while it has it's issues and could use improvement in many areas, in many ways it's superior to other Social Media platforms. Were not tracked and don't have our data harvested and sold. We can earn money from simply documenting our lives and sharing content which is really cool, and because it's decentralized, there is no central authority to make silly rules, censor people, or decide what you can post.

From those perspectives Steemit in many ways is superior and more appealing than some of these other social media sites.

But how are people going to find out about Steemit? Sure word of mouth is great, but what about social sharing buttons right here on Steemit? Pretty much every business, every website, and every blog has social sharing buttons which encourage people to share content they enjoy with friends and family, or even on their own blog and social profiles. It's a great way to share content you enjoy with other people who you think will enjoy it.

Outside of just discovering Steemit through word of mouth, one way I think many people discover content is through Google. Sometimes when I'm Googling a question, such as "how many Ethereum exist" Steemit is the first site to pop up in organic search rankings. I notice it pops up for a lot of crypto related questions.

Well why not make Steemit more discoverable to the masses and other social media users by having share buttons on Steemit articles. We Steemians can share Steemit articles with our Facebook or Twitter audiences, and also people who aren't on Steemit but discover an interesting article on here can also share it with their audiences.

After doing some thinking this is like basic web promotion 101 and it's kind of silly not to have that feature on here.

What do you think? Should Steemit add share buttons for other social media platforms?

Sort:  

Haha, sometimes its good to be embarassed of oneselves!

Excellent suggestions I think very few have put to think that steemit do not have many alternatives, they should be included as well as other networks can share in steemit.

" if I was this blinded by grey I'm sure others are as well."

Grey typically means "disabled". It is just bad UX.

Yea I also want it. Cause some busy post are really awesome. Also many people would have idea about busy and steemit. It also need in busy the share button.

This post has received a 53.92 % upvote from @steemdiffuser thanks to: @rulesforrebels.

Bids above 0.1 SBD may get additional upvotes from our trail members.

Get Upvotes, Join Our Trail, or Delegate Some SP

What do you mean?

I use the Share buttons every time on Steemit from my desktop.

fuck me right lol I'm stupid

I might then suggest making them color icons and that gives me some food for thought. I wound up selecting the grey buttons for my site because I liked the look of them, however they really do blend into the site so I may have to make that switch myself

Lol.

Wasn't sure what kind of post this was.

I think Steemit already does by having the facebook, twitter, LinkedIn and two more, of which I also believe more will be added soon to it.

Busy has the facebook and twitter button. Although, whenever I add a Steemit / Busy post to facebook I don't think anyone ever sees it. I've viewed my profile and never see any of my steemit posts. :-(

This post has received a 4.48% upvote from @lovejuice thanks to @rulesforrebels. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Check @resteembot's introduction post or the other great posts I already resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.40
ETH 3576.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75