Accepting Steem/SBD as a Form of Payment - Revival of WooCommerce Steem Wordpress Plugin

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I recently announced our upcoming seed catalog and our decision to accept steem/sbd as donation for our services curating, collecting, cleaning and sharing seeds.

We will be using Wordpress + WooCommerce as our platform of choice. In terms of integrating directly with the Steem/SBD currencies - there are not a lot of options.

I happened to find the WooCommerce Steem wordpress plugin by @recrypto. Amazingly it converts Fiat currency into STEEM or SBD and then accepts those payments at the time of checking out your online order.

Unfortunately the plugin has not been updated in a year and since then it has stopped working. I reached out to Recrypto and had no answer. I was not alone, a few others were asking if it would be brought back to life.

Finally I decided to dig into the code and was able to get it working again. My fix is not as elegant as @recrypto's original implementation but it works and that is the important thing for me right now.

I am sharing this post for a few reasons:

Since cryptocurrencies and especially Steem are at the forefront of budding technology there are not a lot of tools out there yet for using them in commerce. This time is critical for us to put the cryptocurrencies to use the way they are meant to be used. Many people are earning Steem with only a few places to spend their money. That will change in the future, with more technologies being developed - but now is now and here we are.

If others are interested in using this plugin I would be motivated to make this updated WooCommerce Steem plugin online and open source, with full credit to @recrypto of course for the beautiful work they did and invite any one else to contribute and make it better and stronger.

Do you want to accept Steem/SBD on your website?

In addition I would like to make an announcement to offer my services to help others create or update their wordpress website to accept steem as a form of payment. I have many years of experience in web design and am willing to work for steem or cryptocurrency in order to help others earn steem.

I feel this is part of my role in participating in the Steem economy. Looking forward to your input.

steem.png

Sort:  

This is great - I suggest that you put this in @promo-steem discord group. Also, have a look at @utopian-io as you could be up for some good rewards for updating an open source system, especially one that is so integrated with STEEM.

Thank you so much for the suggestions @eftnow! I will look into both that you mention. I think I will put this up on github soon so others can benefit, possibly also wordpress plugins.

Great job @sagescrub. The idea is perfect for Ecommerce Entrepreneurs. I am sure we have many of them on the platform. Cheers!

Yes that is what I am thinking too! It's too good not to share. I am getting closer to finishing my improvements and testing... soon I will share it for others to benefit.

I will be watching out for it. Just had an awesome idea on what to do and how to use it in internet marketing.

Good, news.

I'am working in Pokupo startup and we already made plugins for different cms to accept cryptocurrencies including STEEM and SBD, but for now, we working only in Russia (temporary don't have eng locale).

I'am also got my own intrnet shop wich accept STEEM. It's cool what more and more people support STEEM in "real" life

That is amazing and exciting! If you do make it available outside of Russia, I would be interested to try it out! I am glad the wave is moving forward ... more work needs to be done, but soon we will have all the tools we need to thrive :)

You can accept p2p payments with Pokupo in STEEM right now. Available worldwide. Today I'll try to write full instruction how to do it.

The question off topic, with what you associate the name - Pokupo?

I am interested to learn more about using your tool for steem payments. I do not know what Pokupo is.. is that a platform or the name of your software? I googled it and came up with Russian websites.

that is really great thing for you, I wish you all the best my friend

Thank you for doing STEEM - better. Good luck to you and Love.

Спасибо, что делаете STEEM – лучше. Удачи Вам и Любви.

Nice job @sagescrub! Upvoted and re steemed
We're totally agree with @eftnow
Our best wishes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17