Gracias ninos for keeping our beach clean in Lobitos, PerusteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit6 years ago

I love where I live, beach, sunset view from my work desk every night and while there might be oil derricks strewn everywhere, the community here continues to surprise me with special days like yesterday when I spied about 40 people (mostly children) running around with garbage bags... cleaning up the beach!

I couldn't help but grab my camera to record this humanitarian effort and get in on the fun. 

What I've noticed on Steemit is that a lot of my hobbies are missing for instance there isn't much of a plant medicine community established and I can't seem to find a humanitarian community either but at this point in the life of steem this is actually a quality problem because it means I can have a hand in building out this community directly and so that's exactly what I'm focused on meow.

I find Lobitos, Peru to be a perfect example of a micro community that has a lot of potential to serve as a role model for larger changes we would like to see in the world.

This brings me back to my favourite project on Steemit at the moment which is paying people in SBD to plant trees! 

over 30 trees planted so far and it's growing in size every week (currently in week 8 under the hashtag #steemforest), people from around the world are posting pictures of themselves planting and we've officially started a discord channel

This is literally the ground floor of something with tremendous potential for world change in all areas but first we need a working model as an example. 

Finally there is a system in place that allows people from around the world to get paid in a common currency (SBD or STEEM) and nobody has to go out of pocket or incur payment fees using the steemit eco-system, It's all funded with your upvotes which then reward tree planters as a contest payout!

Example post

I hope you all keep moving towards the change you want! 

@silverlining1 




Sort:  

what about an effort to whoop the asses of those boat keepers that toss paint containers on the beach :) ?

ok np, what are we thinking here for hashtags? #steembeatings?

hahaha, oh those hashtags. maybe then to make it all XXI century get some drones and start #clonewars?

Yall do know los pescadores are the real gangster mofos in Lobitos right?

yeah. though quite amable. giving away coffee and sandwiches for all that do help them to pull out their fishing boats to the shore.

True enough, just don't fuck around. 😂

How much do you think it would cost to have them build us a boat? I'm serious I would go in on something like that.

I don't know but in Talara there are hundreds and no doubt some are for sale.... Where would you go? Live on it and smell like fish?

I wouldn't go far but I like the idea that you could take it out for a few days and sail around, maybe head a few hours down the coast and swim in some warmer water...

You could just pay eppo like 7 soles to take you.....fuck man, i was really hoping you had some smuggling scheme in mind or something cool. You just want to go gay ass swimming where the water is warmer. Youre Canadian for christs sakes. Bringing Colombian weed or even just Ecuadorian cheese and peanut butter I could get on board with.....

I know a guy in Lobitos who has built wooden ships from scratch and in the village.

This is what i'm talking about, a ballpark figure on what it would cost for somebody to build one from scratch to avoid fishy smells and we can leave the inside open so we can put in whatever we want like a mini living room and sleeping area.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13